PDA

View Full Version : Pro Photographers >>> Mac or PC?

Pages : [1] 2

amoergosum
16th of October 2008 (Thu), 16:53
This is a poll for everyone here who's a pro photographer.
What do you use and why...Mac or PC?

Jimmer411
16th of October 2008 (Thu), 18:18
Im not a pro, far from it.

PC all the way. There is just too much that the mac can not do that my pc can, and I get more for my money when it comes to hardware available.

Renι Damkot
16th of October 2008 (Thu), 18:22
Mac here. Both at home and at 4 photographers I assist.
Makes not much difference really. Biggest difference is the keyboard shortcuts in Photoshop ;)

Deckham
16th of October 2008 (Thu), 18:23
For the love of pete - Macs and non-Macs will do your job. Just consider specs and budget to suit, and weigh it up. This poll is as useless as all the other fanboi stuff that goes on...

MaxxuM
16th of October 2008 (Thu), 19:00
For the love of pete - Macs and non-Macs will do your job. Just consider specs and budget to suit, and weigh it up. This poll is as useless as all the other fanboi stuff that goes on...

I think it's a viable question... Any truck can haul cargo, but there are preferences for different jobs around the country. Most of the news paper and event photographers I know all use Mac's. However, of the two papers I work for I only see PCs in the accounting offices. I think there is a reason for that that doesn't have anything to do with elitism or fanboyism. I talk to a lot of photographers, including several nationally known wildlife photog's and none of them are techies - they just want something that is simple, has the tools they need, isn't flimsy and has an OS that isn't fickle. I have met several photographers that have tried PCs due to them being inexpensive and all of them got rid of them within 6 months due to all the hastles. And none of them know what a fanboy is. I also know a couple of film guys that don't use PCs or Macs and do extremely nice work.

Deckham