View Full Version : Is the site listed here legit?
Lioness
25th of February 2005 (Fri), 10:49
I recently submitted to a site called circleofphotographers.com and they said my picture was selected.
Does anyone know anything about this site? I would really appreciate some feedback on this.
LisaMarie
25th of February 2005 (Fri), 11:12
Hi Lioness- I checked circleofphotgraphers in the whois data bast. It appears they are from Globat, LLC. both hosted and owned by.
Did they say what your photo was selected for ?
The only problem I have with their "disclaimer" although they are upfront about it - even though you retain the photo credit they can use your photo at anytime with no compensation or approval from you. Once you submit it it appears they can do pretty much anything they want with it ( in terms of showing - they do state no manipulation after the fact ) . I also understand some people see this as a way to at least have a work " out there" I'm not knocking it . Everyone sees things differently.
Good luck !
Lisa Marie
kb244
25th of February 2005 (Fri), 11:21
Hrm this sounds just like the scams in the past, everyone uploads their pictures for this contest, then most of them win, and are told 'your picture was selected' what it was selected for was to be published in a photo book, and that you could get your own book for like 40$ as a result all these folks who won, pays them 40$ for the book as well as hitting shelves, with no royalty fees paid to you, and the contest holders make big money, hence a scam.
LisaMarie
25th of February 2005 (Fri), 12:04
Kb- I remember what you are referring to ! Also I seem to recall the poor souls who payed the cash to get a copy received something compared to a brouchure with a few pages of tiny pictures !
I second that beware !
Lioness
25th of February 2005 (Fri), 13:05
Thanks for the comments. I can't seem to find any good information on it anywhere.
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.