PDA

View Full Version : Old analog light meter

Tom Camilleri
9th of March 2005 (Wed), 07:11
A few tears back and as a complete newbie I bought a relatively cheap Gossen Pilot 2 analog light meter, with honeycomb cell and dial, to experiment with using a light meter. Never used it much but now I have a need. Are these things useable? The analog dial arrangement means I'm going to have to interpolate exposure times, which will be a pain, but I won't be making too many readings per session. I will be using it as an incident light meter with a built-in diffuser. Accurate enough to get me in the ball park? I hate to spring for a couple hundred bucks for something I don't absolutely need at any given time, although I'm tempted.

etaf
9th of March 2005 (Wed), 07:20
what/why the need now, may help answer Are these things useable?

PacAce
9th of March 2005 (Wed), 07:33
The problem with a light meter using selenium is that they deteriorate with use because light breaks them down. I'm just guessing but it may be due to the photo-chemical reaction occurring within it that generates their own energy to work the light meter (i.e. no batteries needed).

However, if the meter is still working fine (and you can verify this by shooting a couple of test shots and checking the exposure) then you should be good to go.

As for it's usage, all you should have to do is set the ISO, put the diffuser on and then take a reading, matching the yellow pointer to the needle. Your shutter speed and aperture is read from the dial. You'll just have to decide which shutter/aperture combo you want to use. No interpolation should be required unless the ISO you're using isn't on the meter or the EV is beyond the capability of the meter.

Good luck with the meter and have fun :D

HKFEVER
9th of March 2005 (Wed), 08:04
I have 2 old light meter, one is a very very old Sekonic, that look like this one http://homepage.newschool.edu/~schlemoj/film_courses/sekonic_controls.html . But still older than this.