View Full Version : grey market
johnny0
13th of December 2008 (Sat), 19:57
Hello everone, I have been looking around to upgrade my 30D Looking online I found the the the 50D body only for $ 679. can that be real. I will not name the site, but it is easy to find on ebay. Can that be real?
If i read it right, it says lithem battert,charger &memory card. It just sounds to good to be true. Peace, johnny0
jcp2000
13th of December 2008 (Sat), 20:02
it is to good to be true i found the same deal the company is poor and scammers i found 40ds new for 499 but turns out it was a sham. do not order that is obvious any way, the price should have been a red flag since it is half of normal retail
Lori Putman
13th of December 2008 (Sat), 20:37
If it was an online store, always check resellerratings.com, there's lots of bait & switch games going on.
johnny0
13th of December 2008 (Sat), 20:58
Thanks, I will check it out. Johnny0 rebel XT ,30 D,A # 0f lens an a 430 flash
JamesMayLee
14th of December 2008 (Sun), 05:15
If it was an online store, always check resellerratings.com, there's lots of bait & switch games going on.
Hey, what's a bait and switch game???
Lori Putman
14th of December 2008 (Sun), 07:45
That's when they advertise at a price that's too good to be true and have you call to confirm your order and try to upsell you other items. Then, if you don't buy anything more, they'll send you an email saying it will be a few weeks for your order and the buyer usually cancels the order. From what I've read they are very rude when they talk to you.
twiggles
14th of December 2008 (Sun), 09:02
I will not name the site, but it is easy to find on ebay. Can that be real?
Just wondering why you wouldnt name the site? Seems like you would get better/quicker feedback from this forum if you named the site...
lowrider
14th of December 2008 (Sun), 11:05
Just wondering why you wouldnt name the site? Seems like you would get better/quicker feedback from this forum if you named the site...
Was wondering the same thing myself:confused:
Lou
whiplash willy
15th of December 2008 (Mon), 18:44
It is too good to be true, they will call you to confirm your order, and tell you that the battery only lasts 20 min, and that its $100 to upgrade. Then they will say the camera is for the Japanese market, and all of the menus are in Japanese, and if you want the one in English, it will cost as much it would from a reputable dealer....Save yourself alot of time and agony, and buy it from a reputable dealer. Check out newegg.com, they have very good prices, and one of my favorite online retailers.
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.