View Full Version : XSi Starter Kit question
KandJinIN
15th of December 2008 (Mon), 13:53
I am currently looking to replace a stolen Canon XT with an XSi or XTi. I have found a pretty stinking good deal on an XSi body, and also an 18-55mm IS kit lens, together they are at $389.00 however.. here is my question.
The other stuff that comes in the starter kit, is it useful for getting used to the camera.. is the cords, manuals, cd's, etc.. really worth the extra cost? The lowest I could find the kit for is 530.00. That is a pretty big cost difference, so again my question.. is it really worth the extra money to get the kit (I realize that the 389 is without the canon charger and battery). Any help would be much appreciated.
imahawki
15th of December 2008 (Mon), 13:57
If you're getting the body and lens for less than $400 it sounds like a scam place. There are MANY horror stories here of people ordering from these places and basically unless you add back in all the stuff they leave out they won't sell to you and if you do add it all back in you end up hundreds of dollars over the average street price.
If you found a used body or something else that explains the price then ignore all that.
kiwichris
15th of December 2008 (Mon), 21:30
I think you are looking at a 'bait' site, the official Cannon package includes all the gear you need to use the camera, ie battery, charger, software etc. Most likely when you order, you will find the final cost to you will be double or more of what they are quoting on the website. Post the website's name, and other folk here will be able to tell you if they are genuine or not.
Tee Why
16th of December 2008 (Tue), 01:31
Yup, agree, it's a scam price. You check resellerratings.com first to see how the stores rate. Of the two I'd get an SXi or better yet an XS if money is a factor.
eb314
16th of December 2008 (Tue), 04:00
Whenever you find a price lower than what you see on Amazon.com, you need to check out that site because it's usually a scam site. Basically what happens is you buy the camera, they call you on the phone and harass you into buying overpriced accessories until your savings are nulled, then send you a gray market used camera, or they just keep your money.
KandJinIN
18th of December 2008 (Thu), 20:51
Thanks Guys... shortly after this I found resellerratings.com on another thread, and lo and behold broadwayphoto was a shortcut from the google page looking up resellerratings... I took that as a bad omen, got the run around - (it was an imported model, and I could upgrade to the US model for cheaper lol) Glad you pointed it out.. cancelled the order and found one on Ebay for just a bit more thanks to a coupon they gave me
Now if it would just get here quicker I could be playing with it right now
ssracer
18th of December 2008 (Thu), 21:59
A good rule of thumb when shopping on the net is if it seems too good to be true, it probably is. I found this out when I was shopping for a camera. I ended up going with bhphotovideo.com. Stick with the known sites and if all else fails, a quick google search on the site you are looking at will almost always turn up any horror stories and tell you if a site can be trusted.
ELT_Photo
19th of December 2008 (Fri), 16:31
Just a heads up - ALL new Canon EOS dslrs come with battery, charger, cables, neckstrap, and software cds - avoid any seller that lists these as
"extra" or tries to charge for them
- they are always included with the camera.
Regards,
Eric
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.