View Full Version : Is this for real?
tstowe
13th of January 2009 (Tue), 20:14
There's a 1D Mark II N on ebay for $890! It's coming out of Romania.
Stolen?
Empty shell?
Idiot that doesn't know what it's worth?
http://cgi.ebay.com/CANON-EOS-1-D-MARK-II-N_W0QQitemZ250356763850QQcmdZViewItemQQptZDigital_ Cameras?hash=item250356763850&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1234%7C66%3A4%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C 240%3A1318%7C301%3A1%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A200
Rachel B
13th of January 2009 (Tue), 20:53
if its too goodd to be true-then it is
FZ1
13th of January 2009 (Tue), 20:59
if its too goodd to be true-then it is
Especially from foreign countries where your odds of recovering $ from a fraudulent transactions are slim.
tstowe
13th of January 2009 (Tue), 21:03
Especially from foreign countries where your odds of recovering $ from a fraudulent transactions are slim.
Well...this auction offers buyer protection through paypal. A catch that caught my eye is that you have 45 days after you make payment to start a dispute. It's not that unusual to take a few weeks to get a shipment from another country. If the person is trying to cheat me, I don't think it would be that hard to string it along, saying it's just not there yet, until it's too late.
tstowe
14th of January 2009 (Wed), 09:42
The camera was bought. It get's even more strange. Beside the buyer's name, it says Not a registered user. Anyone ever seen this before?
Psychobiker
14th of January 2009 (Wed), 20:56
Bizarre. But eBay have been known to hide their names for privacy.
I wouldn't touch anything out of Romania if you paid me. I'd rather it Remainthere (!), and if their beggars Romania (in Ireland) any longer...
brecklundin
16th of January 2009 (Fri), 16:49
The camera was bought. It get's even more strange. Beside the buyer's name, it says Not a registered user. Anyone ever seen this before?
Yeah, the short hand is NARU...it means the buyer was likely either just a kid looking to screw with the seller and/or a non-paying bidder (NPB).
It actually makes the listing look more legit since eBay did NARU the ID.
Something I did notice is that camera looks as if it was dropped...in fact it might not work since the sellers does not show the thing turned on. To me it looks like a plan to "work" the "Buyer Protection" program by selling a non-functioning camera in order to get the cash from the sale then the buyer gets the refund...if the two are working together they would get $1700 for a broken camera.
Maybe I need to hunt down my tinfoil hat but honestly I have seen stuff like this before.
tstowe
16th of January 2009 (Fri), 18:29
To me it looks like a plan to "work" the "Buyer Protection" program by selling a non-functioning camera in order to get the cash from the sale then the buyer gets the refund...if the two are working together they would get $1700 for a broken camera.
That never occurred to me...but it makes sense! The guy had three cameras listed at one time. Two had buy me now prices of $880 and one for $990. I emailed him and he said he got them cheap from a bankruptcy sell out. Now if you got something cheap for say $500 and it was worth $2,000 would you sell it for $1,000 or $2,000? Even if you did get it cheap?
patrick835
19th of January 2009 (Mon), 14:59
this scammer will still be trying year after years :D
tstowe
19th of January 2009 (Mon), 22:11
this scammer will still be trying year after years :D
do you know him or are you guessing?
canonnoob
19th of January 2009 (Mon), 22:14
this has been all over the forum lately.. im sure if you look youll find it,.
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.