PDA

View Full Version : wow...NWS ads on Photobucket???


LowriderS10
17th of February 2009 (Tue), 23:59
So I'm at work and it's a slow night, so I'm bumming around, organizing my pics on photobucket...and all of the sudden in a bright pink and black flashing border there's an attractive, but buck-naked girl.

Now, normally I have no problems with such a picture, but I wonder wtf happened with Photobucket. Good thing it's the night shift and there aren't too many ppl wandering around the newsroom...did anyone else see this?

TechTrix
18th of February 2009 (Wed), 17:05
I think we're going to need to see the ad in question. Screenshot next time please ;)

HappySnapper90
18th of February 2009 (Wed), 18:13
So I'm at work and it's a slow night, so I'm bumming around, organizing my pics on photobucket...and all of the sudden in a bright pink and black flashing border there's an attractive, but buck-naked girl.

More than likely you have spyware, malware, virus, etc. that is putting those ads in your browser. I suggest downloading, then updating, both spybot and adaware free versions. If you don't have antivirus software get AVG free edition that can be found at grisoft.com and do a search there for "free" and a link will show up for it. Good luck.

LowriderS10
18th of February 2009 (Wed), 19:25
Thanks for the suggestion, HappySnapper, but there's absolutely no way my computer would have any sort of malware ;) I'm on a work computer and this shizz is locked down like the Pentagon :)

I tried to do a screenshot, but since we're on Macs I had to research how to do that (I'm a PC guy). By the time I figured out how to do it, it went back to normal ads. I'm guessing it's just one that slipped through and they caught it.

SkipD
18th of February 2009 (Wed), 19:33
What did you mean by NWS in the thread title???

Candor
18th of February 2009 (Wed), 20:05
What did you mean by NWS in the thread title???

I'm assuming it's Not Work Safe.

Let me open my Photobucket and see if I can get to the bottom of this. :D

LowriderS10
18th of February 2009 (Wed), 20:15
yeah, not work safe :)

Mike: I doubt it...they pulled it within a minute or two (I was on PBucket all night and it was only up for a few minutes...)

HappySnapper90
18th of February 2009 (Wed), 21:14
Thanks for the suggestion, HappySnapper, but there's absolutely no way my computer would have any sort of malware ;) I'm on a work computer and this shizz is locked down like the Pentagon :)


No system will catch everything. Seriously, I wouldn't worry about it.

LowriderS10
18th of February 2009 (Wed), 21:16
Haha yeah, I know, just goofing around...and yeah it was more of a "well that was interesting" than a truly worried reaction :D

René Damkot
19th of February 2009 (Thu), 05:24
I tried to do a screenshot, but since we're on Macs I had to research how to do that

Well, you found out by now, but for others: Shift+Cmd+3 = screenshot. Shift+Cmd+4 = part of the screen (draw with a crosshair).

ibdb
19th of February 2009 (Thu), 15:46
Photobucket has had some issues lately with bad guys slipping things through their advertising processes, including links to malware. This could be another case of that.