View Full Version : EOS 300D Black, Good Price????
lman
2nd of April 2005 (Sat), 12:56
Hey guys,
Is $329 a good price for a NEW EOS 300D black (body only). There are only a couple of places where I saw a price this low. Looks like it only comes wih Strap Cables and software. No Mem or Battery/Charger. Is this worth buying?
Thanks
rfreschner
2nd of April 2005 (Sat), 13:10
Hey guys,
Is $329 a good price for a NEW EOS 300D black (body only). There are only a couple of places where I saw a price this low. Looks like it only comes wih Strap Cables and software. No Mem or Battery/Charger. Is this worth buying? Thanks
No memory I understand, as I don't think any Canon DSLR comes with any, but I'd be a bit leery about someone selling it without the battery and charger. I wonder how much they're going to try and stiff you for those.
rfreschner
2nd of April 2005 (Sat), 13:12
You might want to check out the seller on http://www.resellerratings.com (http://www.resellerratings.com/).
Vega$50
3rd of April 2005 (Sun), 13:05
Yes...sounds like a classic scam joint. Pretty much all of these places listed here...
http://www.donwiss.com/pictures/BrooklynStores/
have very bad ratings from www.resellerratings.com (http://www.resellerratings.com)
So be careful who you buy from. There are several places that are reputable that are listed in these forums.
thomasrhee
3rd of April 2005 (Sun), 14:57
I think the old adage, "if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is", is applicable here. The typical price for a black body 300d from a reputable dealer is $699. There's a few places selling it for slightly cheaper ($600-650) but I would rather pay the couple extra dollars and not go thru the aggravation and wasted time buying from a place that's questionable.
$329 for a new item has SCAM written all over it. Hell, even used ones are selling for higher prices. You say it comes with strap, cables and software. Most likely it is is gray market, no manuals, no battery, no charger, maybe no box, hell maybe not even a body cap... who knows? They'll probably try to "upsell" you on all those "accessories" and in the end it'll be somewhere around the $699 price. If you don't agree, they'll most likely say the item is backordered indefinitely and to add insult to injury, they'll probably go ahead and charge your credit card while it's backordered. No thanks!
tyr
lman
3rd of April 2005 (Sun), 21:26
Thanks for the Heads up. The place I was talking about is on the list . Infact bot h are. I will be wary of deals like that. I will buy from a well known business.
thanks again.
lman
mkh
4th of April 2005 (Mon), 07:01
Don't just blindly trust that list. Some of those sites are scammers and some aren't. I would go more by what reseller ratings has to say about them.
For example IBuyDigital is on that list and they have a higher reseller rating than B&H last time I checcked. I bought my 300D from them as they had the best price I could find. No problems, no upsale and fast delivery. Ordered Sunday eveining, recieved email on Monday wanting me to call to confirm. I called and got no sales pitch at all. Camera shipped on Tuesday and FedEx tried to deliver noon Thursday.
That list shows the store fronts for the different sellers but remember - you don't need a fancy store front for an internet business. Keep the overhead low and you can sell cheaper.
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.