JoYork
16th of March 2009 (Mon), 04:45
I saw a 5d listed on ebay with grip and remote unit. The seller asked bidders to contact him before they bid and also to check the Buy It Now price, etc.
He had a 100% feedback rating so I emailed him... here's his response:
Thank you for your interest in purchasing my item .
in this moment you can buy it only for 900USD and in this great price is included the shipping , handling and insurance .
My item is sealed in original box and one year warranty . The shipping will be made from Romania where i am currently located in order to take care of my latest IT store that i just opened in here. One of the reason you can get this beautiful instrument at such a great price is that we have promotional prices this week ( to earn some customers ).
You can have this at your door in 24-36 hours after you confirm the payment because the shipment will be made via Ups 1Day Air .If you have any question don't hesitate to contact me .If you agree with my terms let please let me know and we will close this deal ONLY under eBay,with their protectionArrggh! Smells very much like a scam. So, I played along with him to see what the next level of the scam looks like. How is he going to convince me that it will be done with "ebay's protection".
I told him I was interested in the camera and I had a paypal account so where did we go from here. He replied thus:
Very well, i like doing business with decided buyers! Unfortunately i cannot use my PayPal account while being in Romania because i am unable to receive the money here. Like I already told you all this deal will be done safe and legal through eBay.Please provide me your full name and address.I will send this infos to eBay and they will contact you with an invoice.you will see there in the invoice step by step how to complete this purchase.. Please let me know your ebay user id too.
I am not so good to explanations but I will try to tell you in few words how the process works.
1) First you have to send me your shipping informations:
First and Last Name:
Address:
City:
State:
Zip:
Country:
The model that you want to buy:
2) They will contact you with all transaction details and invoice.
3) You will make the payment to one of their agents like is stated in the invoice.
4) You send the payment details to eBay representaive and they secure your funds.
5) After that they will contact me to start the shipping.
6) I will send you the product and give you the tracking number.
7) After you will receive and inspect the product you give them your approval to release the money to me.
Let me know if you understand how it works and if you are agree to proceed please let me know asap.
Again, lots of things aren't adding up, but at least he gave me some text to work with. This looked to me as if he'd written some of it and copied and pasted the rest. A quick Google later and I found this:
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2007/03/21/ebay_fraud_anatomy/
Which is pretty much word-for-word in places.
So, he's now emailing me to asking if I'm still interested, etc. I notice the auction has been removed from ebay already, so I've emailed him back asking if he can send me the ebay link so I "can have one last look at the photos before I buy". I'd be interested to know what his excuse is.
These people have no shame and no morals whatsoever.
He had a 100% feedback rating so I emailed him... here's his response:
Thank you for your interest in purchasing my item .
in this moment you can buy it only for 900USD and in this great price is included the shipping , handling and insurance .
My item is sealed in original box and one year warranty . The shipping will be made from Romania where i am currently located in order to take care of my latest IT store that i just opened in here. One of the reason you can get this beautiful instrument at such a great price is that we have promotional prices this week ( to earn some customers ).
You can have this at your door in 24-36 hours after you confirm the payment because the shipment will be made via Ups 1Day Air .If you have any question don't hesitate to contact me .If you agree with my terms let please let me know and we will close this deal ONLY under eBay,with their protectionArrggh! Smells very much like a scam. So, I played along with him to see what the next level of the scam looks like. How is he going to convince me that it will be done with "ebay's protection".
I told him I was interested in the camera and I had a paypal account so where did we go from here. He replied thus:
Very well, i like doing business with decided buyers! Unfortunately i cannot use my PayPal account while being in Romania because i am unable to receive the money here. Like I already told you all this deal will be done safe and legal through eBay.Please provide me your full name and address.I will send this infos to eBay and they will contact you with an invoice.you will see there in the invoice step by step how to complete this purchase.. Please let me know your ebay user id too.
I am not so good to explanations but I will try to tell you in few words how the process works.
1) First you have to send me your shipping informations:
First and Last Name:
Address:
City:
State:
Zip:
Country:
The model that you want to buy:
2) They will contact you with all transaction details and invoice.
3) You will make the payment to one of their agents like is stated in the invoice.
4) You send the payment details to eBay representaive and they secure your funds.
5) After that they will contact me to start the shipping.
6) I will send you the product and give you the tracking number.
7) After you will receive and inspect the product you give them your approval to release the money to me.
Let me know if you understand how it works and if you are agree to proceed please let me know asap.
Again, lots of things aren't adding up, but at least he gave me some text to work with. This looked to me as if he'd written some of it and copied and pasted the rest. A quick Google later and I found this:
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2007/03/21/ebay_fraud_anatomy/
Which is pretty much word-for-word in places.
So, he's now emailing me to asking if I'm still interested, etc. I notice the auction has been removed from ebay already, so I've emailed him back asking if he can send me the ebay link so I "can have one last look at the photos before I buy". I'd be interested to know what his excuse is.
These people have no shame and no morals whatsoever.