PDA

View Full Version : Best Canon for low High-ISO noise?

alan_potter
25th of March 2009 (Wed), 03:49
This feels like a FAQ, but I couldn't quickly find a relevant thread. If anyone knows of one, please let me know.

Anyway, I have been shooting local stage shows for a couple of years now - I've posted some pictures in here and there are more at http://www.stagepics.co.uk

I'm beginning to feel a desire to move on; modern dSLRs are offering much higher ISO numbers, and I am led to believe that cameras newer than my 350D offer better and more reliably accurate focusing.

So where should I be looking? is the 50D, for example, be significantly better than the 450D? Where is the sweet spot between fast processing, 14 bit RAW and low noise?

Thanks for any advice you can offer,

regards,
/alan

blackshadow
25th of March 2009 (Wed), 05:35
From the Canon stable I think you will find the 5D Mark II will offer the best high iso/low noise performance.

alan_potter
25th of March 2009 (Wed), 05:53
That would indeed be nice, but is somewhat out of my price range... I was wondering more about the xxxD range as compared to the xxD...

regards,
/alan

dan0103
25th of March 2009 (Wed), 08:17
The new rebel supposedly has the same sensor and ISO range of the 50D.

stathunter
25th of March 2009 (Wed), 08:20
This is my personal opinion from a low light-- high ISO wedding shooter. The best is the Nikon D3 or Nikon D700 -- the Canon 5D Mk2 and origional 5D come in almost tied for second.
So if you are looking for "lower" budget body-- I would go with the 5D --- original. But no matter what you get the glass better be fantastic.

narlus
25th of March 2009 (Wed), 09:41
the 5D2 handles noise better than the 5D, in my experience.

gjl711
25th of March 2009 (Wed), 09:47
That would indeed be nice, but is somewhat out of my price range... I was wondering more about the xxxD range as compared to the xxD...

regards,
/alan
Looks like thats going to be the new 500D

alan_potter