View Full Version : WorldInPhoto ??????? who is this
stoneylonesome
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 06:48
Does anyone know of this or has any one else gotten a PM from them like I did?
They seem to have joined but are banned from posting.
WorldInPhoto
User is banned from forums
posted this 3 Hours Ago
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 0
Here is a copy of the PM to me
Stoneylonesome.
I would like to ask you, to use some of your photos and upload them into http://www.worldinphoto.com.
If you give me your permission, i will create account with your Username and i will upload the photos instead of you.
You will be able to log into http://www.worldinphoto.com and upload or delete any of your photos.
I'm looking forward to your reply.
Thank you worldinphoto Admin.
admin@worldinphoto.com
What gives?
HJMinard
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 06:54
I got it too. Spam via private messages ... that's a new one for me. The part about uploading my images for me made me a little nervous.
stoneylonesome
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 06:58
I got it too. Spam via private messages ... that's a new one for me. The part about uploading my images for me made me a little nervous.
Exactly. I just don't trust stuff like this. I wonder if Pekka should post a warning ?
Conk
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 07:18
I just got the same e-mail.
iwatkins
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 07:20
Same here, told them to bog off.
gramps
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 07:30
I got one also......
Cadwell
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 07:38
'tis simply spam. Once he found out about it Pekka banned the user to prevent him from doing it again.
CoolToolGuy
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 07:43
I got one, too. I just let it die. I didn't want to respond, not knowing whether that opened any doors for them.
Have Fun,
Jesper
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 08:03
I got exactly the same message, but by e-mail, not by private message.
thomascanty
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 08:05
I got it via email instead of PM also.
cmM
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 08:14
I got an e-mail.
Funny, the website doesn't even work :)
Bruce Hamilton
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 09:04
It did about 45 minutes ago... I checked it out and was thinking about creating an account, but I guess it won't happen now. Guess we should change our email addys to read at instead of @ to keep spammers from harvesting it.
Pekka
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 09:23
The user was banned as soon as I heard about it, now all the PM messages he has sent or received are deleted. He also sent about 200 emails using email form of the forum (form does not reveal any email addresses) - do not reply to those emails.
stoneylonesome
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 09:50
Pekka; Thank you for the quick response on this. :) :)
neil_r
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 11:31
I was bottom of the list, but got one too. Belmondo, please ignore my PM
Cheers
N
Longwatcher
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 16:43
I was going to reply, but was curious what the purpose of the site was, so was checking back here since it had a link back to POTN. When I saw this thread.
The link I was sent by email works and there are some nice pictures of flowers on the site along with a lot of images of Australia and some other things and people, but only about 60 total so far from what I could see. Looked like a legitimate, but starting out site.
Now I am not sure if I want to send or not. Anybody have specific reason (other then he violated the forum by bulk emailing from it).
Other then possibility I would confirm my email address for him, I don't see how it can cause any harm if all they want to do is copy/paste the images themselves. On the other hand if the ask for any FTP access to my site they will be cut off immeadiately. I get so much SPAM anyway that a few more (he says hoping it doesn't double from its current 350+ SPAM per day) shouldn't hurt. and using an old version of Netscape tends to avoid security problems I have noticed.
Bruce Hamilton
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 17:45
Now I am not sure if I want to send or not. Anybody have specific reason (other then he violated the forum by bulk emailing from it).
The fact that he has them on his server without compensation is my major reason... I'd be more than happy to provide him with full resolution digital images, if he wants to sign a contract designating what he can and can not do with them, and for how long he can do it. I'll be first to admit my photos are not resaleable quality, but I still won't let you have them without compensation.
Longwatcher
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 18:13
I was only going to let him have the ones I already have on the net (since anybody can download any way) and was going to include a note about they can not be used for commercial purposes and must acknowledge me as photographer. Given that the ones on my web site are to promote me, the more people see them the better. If he wanted to spend his own time to copy the images to his site, great. Free advertising and labor.
Moppie
18th of April 2005 (Mon), 21:22
This a new, and very frustrating type of spam.
Peka and mods, watch for members with unusual names who sign up, but never post.
Instead they will just PM and email as many members as they can.
We've caught several because they got stupid and PM'd a mod by mistake, the rest have eventualy PM'd a member who has complained to a mod or admin.
This is something that hopefuly won't affect POTN to much, and if it does the members will fight it.
I think the lowest form of spammer are the type that take advantage of forums like this, one's which are run out of the goodness of someones heart.
HJMinard
19th of April 2005 (Tue), 06:26
The sad thing is, their ploy works ... as evidenced by a few members here who have mentioned that they responded to the ad (that's what it is) and even signed up at the site.
As long as it works, they'll keep doing it.
I will never knowingly do any sort of business with an organization that spams, regardless of the quality of their product.
Andy_T
19th of April 2005 (Tue), 07:14
I didn't get an eMail... guess that means my photos *really* suck :twisted:
Best regards,
Andy
PhotosGuy
19th of April 2005 (Tue), 08:45
I didn't get an eMail... guess that means my photos *really* suck Well...
cactusclay
22nd of April 2005 (Fri), 10:33
Anyone get an email from Worldinphoto.com asking if they could up load your images to their websit for free? I was curious, because it seemed like they were affiliated with photo on the net.
Belmondo
22nd of April 2005 (Fri), 10:53
Several people received emails and/or personal messages through the forum. This is a violation of forum rules and Worldinphoto.com was banned.
aam1234
22nd of April 2005 (Fri), 10:56
Hope you didn't open it cactusclay.
cactusclay
22nd of April 2005 (Fri), 11:01
Hope you didn't open it cactusclay.
Now you got me scared, was there a virus attached? :(
aam1234
22nd of April 2005 (Fri), 11:05
I don't think so because many people here opened it. If there was a virus I'm sure people would report it. However I was worried that if you open it you will be confirming your email address to them.
cactusclay
22nd of April 2005 (Fri), 11:07
I don't think so because many people here opened it. If there was a virus I'm sure people would report it. However I was worried that if you open it you will be confirming your email address to them.
Oh, I guess thats no big deal, it just went to my junk mail folder. I'll just ignore them now, along with all the viagra ads.
am_pitbull_terrier
22nd of April 2005 (Fri), 12:07
I'll just ignore them now, along with all the viagra ads.
And the increase your penis size email ads.... I'm starting to get a complex from getting so many of those:lol:
Skip Souza
22nd of April 2005 (Fri), 13:56
And the increase your penis size email ads.... I'm starting to get a complex from getting so many of those:lol:
They need to be hit with a "Truth in advertising" violation.
Most say to increase the size click Here.
No matter how many times I click it , nothing happens!! :confused:
Michaelmjc
22nd of April 2005 (Fri), 14:09
I got one from that guy, he actually sent me quite a few.
am_pitbull_terrier
22nd of April 2005 (Fri), 14:14
They need to be hit with a "Truth in advertising" violation.
Most say to increase the size click Here.
No matter how many times I click it , nothing happens!! :confused:
:lol: :lol: :lol: LMAO
marie
22nd of April 2005 (Fri), 18:45
Does anyone know of this or has any one else gotten a PM from them like I did?
They seem to have joined but are banned from posting.
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 0
Here is a copy of the PM to me
Stoneylonesome.
I would like to ask you, to use some of your photos and upload them into http://www.worldinphoto.com (http://www.worldinphoto.com/).
If you give me your permission, i will create account with your Username and i will upload the photos instead of you.
You will be able to log into http://www.worldinphoto.com (http://www.worldinphoto.com/) and upload or delete any of your photos.
I'm looking forward to your reply.
Thank you worldinphoto Admin.
admin@worldinphoto.com
What gives?
I got it as a (forum) email days ago and ignored it Sandy
I get them all the time
http://www.photography-on-the.net/forum/images/smilies/icon_lol.gif http://www.photography-on-the.net/forum/images/smilies/icon_lol.gif http://www.photography-on-the.net/forum/images/smilies/icon_lol.gif
thanks for saying about it everyone.
it really helps
now I won't feel guilty that I never answer any, as sometimes it's a trick to get our email addresses
(if we reply)
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.