PDA

View Full Version : Focusing the G1

dbookbinder
5th of August 2001 (Sun), 22:36
Any tips on using either manual or autofocus effectively on the G1?

I'm new to the camera and, coming from a long history of using rangefinder and SLR cameras, find both the autofocus and manual focus frustrating. The image on the LCD is too small for my 50-year-old eyes to accurately judge focus manually, there is no built-in distance marking as there would be on an SLR lens, and autofocus seems to get confused when it can't clearly isolate the foreground subject from the background.

I've read the botzilla.com description of the problem at http://www.botzilla.com/photo/G1focus.html, but it offers no real workarounds. Yet people do create nicely focused shots. What tricks have you folks found? The focus uncertainty is my main disapointment in working with this camera so far.

-David

oops
8th of August 2001 (Wed), 07:59
Considering some of the raging posts recently at http://www.dpreview.com/forums/forum.asp?forum=1010 about this very subject, don't be surprised if there is not a lot of feedback concerning this subject. It has been explained so many ways with no apparent slowing of complaints that most folks are just tired. That's the bad news.

The good news is you can find many, many helpful tips on the Canon forum regarding focus with the G1. If they could all be pasted in this message it would be quite large, indeed. LOL.

dbookbinder
9th of August 2001 (Thu), 23:16
I'll try such a summary. I was not, here, trying to complain, but instead to find guidelines and workarounds.

I perused the focus thread a dpreview. It's amazing to me how much time some people have spent trying to sort this out. My sense from reading the thread (and some experimentation) is that:

- The focusing zone is center-weighted

- The focusing zone narrows to roughly the size of the spot metering box if you select spot metering