PDA

View Full Version : getting started questions.

Eric_
13th of January 2003 (Mon), 01:33
I have some questions before I commit myself to photography as a hobby. The level I'm talking is S45, I have about $600 to spend on a camera and extra battery, I have a 128 CF card. I am new to digital photography, but computers and electronics are never a problem to learn. I can be considered a gadget junky and I love to tweek and play with features.

1. Can I take an S45 mountain biking? regularly? It would be in a backpack, in some sort of cushioned hard case. I don't ride anything too crazy, but it does get a little bumpy. Of course dirt, mud, rain, etc... will not touch the camera.

2. How often do you need services from a camera shop? Is it worth it to spend the extra $100 at my local camera shop and assume there is a possibility that I may need some service later on? Or if I do need service, is it simply a matter of troubleshooting on my own and/or sending it to Canon (both I am confident I could perform). Anybody stay loyal to a local shop and have it pay off in the long run like a "free 1 year service" with camera purchase?

3. If I do buy from my local shop, they offer a no fault warranty (they are a national chain). If it breaks, it gets fixed, or replaced, NO QUESTIONS ASKED (accidental steamrolling included). This is not an extended mfg's warranty, I am clear on that. I trust this shop, they seem straight up, anwsered ALL my questions and were very patient even though I was not there to buy from them, yet. The warranty is $52 a year. I am usually not interested in extra warranty, but the size and complexity of this camera makes me wonder how durable it is? I don't plan on abusing it, only using it. Any mountain bikers out there break cameras often? What about accidental drops? Am I being paranoid and I will eventually find out that this camera is tough enough to stand a little rough terrain when tucked away in a hard case and properly taken care of.