PDA

View Full Version : Surface ideas

russkny
18th of December 2009 (Fri), 15:14
I'm very new to photography so there are a lot of things I don't know - that's why I come here :D

I just got a decent indoor lens (50 1.4) and want to take pictures of various objects in my house. The issue is, it gets pretty boring when everything is photographed on the same exact surface - my kitchen table. I was hoping someone here can recommend what to use for a variety of interesting surfaces.

Thanks!

sapearl
20th of December 2009 (Sun), 15:03
Hi Russ - how about this approach.

Instead of just the kitchen table, consider the "lighter" aspect of photographing these objects. How would the same item in the same place look at a different time of day with different ambient lighting? Morning light? Afternoon light? Bounced strobe light? Incandescent light?

You can create many different aspects of the same thing by varying the lighting. Remember, it's all about the light ! :D - Stu

russkny
20th of December 2009 (Sun), 16:21
Thanks Stu, I will definitely explore that idea as an option :)

I'd love to hear some more suggestions from all of you ;)

-R

canonloader
27th of December 2009 (Sun), 17:18
A wood floor, rug, various pieces of cloth, bring in a bag of leaves. all sorts of colors and textures in the world. Get yourself a couple of those aluminum reflector light holders from Menards for various lighting. With Digital cameras, you can use any light in them and correct the color later. Shoot in RAW so you have better control. I just ordered a light tent, so am getting some ideas flowing too. You might take a stroll through the sewing section of a Walmart of Ben Franklin, they have tons of different types, colors, textures and patterns of cloth and they are fairly cheap.

russkny
28th of December 2009 (Mon), 15:38