PDA

View Full Version : hello, new and need some critques

Kpablo
20th of December 2009 (Sun), 18:06
Couldn't find the new member section, so I'll introduce myself here, and post pictures for crtique.

Hello, I’m Katie from the DFW area in Texas. I have always enjoyed the art of photography, whether from others or pictures that I have taken. With that being said, I’m a complete amateur with a Rebel T1i.

In college I took a photography class, bought a film SLR, don’t ask what brand or model I have know idea. I bought it in 2006 for 500 dollars. I took the class and in the middle of the semester dropped it. Let’s just say young and dumb. Now, I want to get back into it.

I recently joined my local photography club, so plan on learning a lot with their trips and monthly meetings.

What am I planning on doing?

I train my Doberman in the sport of Agility. I go to competitions with lightening fast dogs that compete indoors with very awful low lighting. I also go to conformation shows that is a little slower paced but equally craptastic lighting.

My dog and I are really getting into the hiking hobby. We are always outside and I take pictures of nature with my point and shoot.

These were done yesterday at an agility fun match. No flash was used on any of these because of natural lighting. I didn't do much editing, straightening the walk and some contrast change. If anyone could tell me what I can do differently that would be great. With the cocker spaniel (black and white dog with the long ears) I wish the leash wasn't in the way, I think it's pretty distracting. And of the teacup poodle (last picture) it may be a little over-sharpened.

I have a Rebel T1i and I used a 55-250mm lens.

No. 1 - F/5.6 1/1600 sec.
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2749/4198153707_568095b6c8.jpg

No 2. F/5.6 1/400 sec.
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2655/4197889045_2ddb798254.jpg

No. 3. F/5 1/800 sec.
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2493/4197886197_f45ed7ac9d.jpg

No. 4. F/5.6 1/1600 sec.