PDA

View Full Version : CS2 for $69? - Legal?


Wendy Lilygreen
21st of June 2005 (Tue), 07:17
I've just seen CS2 for $69 to download only. The company - firstpickstore - say it's legal but it seems too good to be true, anyone got any thoughts on this?

Wendy
xx

Bruce Hamilton
21st of June 2005 (Tue), 08:00
This is a quote taken from their terms and conditions...
You understand that in order for FirstpickStore to make you a copy of any software, you acknowledge that you are the legal owner of this same software, and are looking to just make a new copy for archival (backup) purposes only.
In other words... If you don't already own it, it's not legal.

Wendy Lilygreen
21st of June 2005 (Tue), 08:14
Hmmm, OK. - How come Adobe haven't prosecuted them or something?

PhotosGuy
21st of June 2005 (Tue), 08:21
Be careful. Some of that software has been known to be loaded with virus! Stick with what you have. I'm still using PS7 & it does everything I need when coupled with RSE. Elements would, too for most post processing. Or you could try GIMP.org for an excellent free program. How come Adobe haven't prosecuted them or something? In China or wherever? How do you know just where you're downloading from? ;-)

Wendy Lilygreen
21st of June 2005 (Tue), 10:14
OK - Cheers guys, I'll give it a miss.