PDA

View Full Version : workflow?

jeljohns
6th of February 2010 (Sat), 16:10
I'm a beginning photographer, but I am getting to the point where I am shooting a lot more. I am getting overwhelmed with the number of files and folders, so I was curious to hear how you all handle your workflows. Do you name folders by date, location, or subject? I have Photoshop Elements and Picassa right now. I have a 30 day trial of Lightroom and will most likely purchase that as well.

tzalman
6th of February 2010 (Sat), 17:01
My folder structure is:
Photos
>>>Year
>>>>>>Month
>>>>>>>>>Date + caption descriptive of subject.
In Lightroom I have a lot of "collections" set up, like Landscapes, Urbanscapes, Nature, Community Web Site, Portfolio Prints.

ssim
6th of February 2010 (Sat), 20:23
Mine is similar, I have a folder for the year and then each month. I don't bother to separate it beyond that. I renamed all photos before I start to work on them and it is basically a sequential number followed by my descriptive text which is normally just the month and year and followed by the original file name assigned by the camera. A typical file number would be 102155_Dec09_D3S5397.cr2. I take the time when the file is uploaded to my computer to make sure that I assign keywords. That way I can find anything that I might need in just a few keystrokes.

davidcrebelxt
6th of February 2010 (Sat), 23:20
Mine is very similar to ssim above:

Folder for Year, sub-folder for Month.
Using LR, I have it keep the original number from the file name, but prepend with the date like: 20090629_0406

(Note... I think I had to modify a LR file to get it to import into a Year>>Month structure without a date folder. I think I heard LR3 adds that as an import preset, but I haven't tested that myself. Speaking of LR3... the beta is available now... though not production worthy; but it could signal that the actual release isn't that far off... something to consider before purchasing LR2.)

René Damkot