View Full Version : where buy a camera?
serkyl
26th of April 2010 (Mon), 01:07
Hi everyone) I'd like to buy 5d Mark2 and check out prices on alibaba.com. The prices are too weird there.... There are many trading companies offer cameras...but the prices are incredibly low....$800-$1000 for 5dMark2 body...Some companies have a sign 'golden supplier'..Operators say that they have wholesale prices...and all cameras produced in Japan and have a 1 year international warranty...
Has anyone bought something through www.alibaba.com?
I just worry that send money and get nothing)))
regars, Sergey
P.S. Actually, Does anyone know where possible to buy new 5d (not Mark 2)?
stax
26th of April 2010 (Mon), 01:10
ali baba? more like forty thieves.
serkyl
26th of April 2010 (Mon), 01:21
)) man, its really popular trade website....but I've never bought anything there...
Bob_A
26th of April 2010 (Mon), 01:51
If you don't have a local brick an mortar store that will give you a decent price I'd stick to B&H Photo or Adorama. All the reputable on-line stores sell the goods for close to the same price.
If you see a new 5D MKII for $800 to $1000 it's definitely a scam. Check out any store you are thinking of using with www.resellerratings.com . If the store scores lower than 8.5 or has less than a thousand reviews I won't do business with it.
nickelmedia
5th of May 2010 (Wed), 15:53
Ali Baba is bulk pricing last I checked. I ONLY buy B&H or Adorama (if not local). There are TONS of scammers in photography.
pipegarcia
6th of May 2010 (Thu), 14:35
I try to buy today a Canon 24-70 mm 2.8L for $614. Seems that all camera seller are from mainland China?! Its not give me a lot of confidence to give $614 to somebody in China(means no offense to chinese people) but its to weird.
Bob_A
6th of May 2010 (Thu), 20:57
I try to buy today a Canon 24-70 mm 2.8L for $614. Seems that all camera seller are from mainland China?! Its not give me a lot of confidence to give $614 to somebody in China(means no offense to chinese people) but its to weird.
A 24-70 f/2.8L is $1330 plus or minus a couple of percent. Even from China for $614 the lens is either:
- Used and really beat up
- Stolen
- A scam
Sorry folks but there are no half price deals on lenses or camera bodies.
MT Stringer
6th of May 2010 (Thu), 21:10
I have bought from B&H, Beach Camera, Adorama, Amazon and Photo4Less (Sigma guys). There is no use trying to deal with the cheep advertisements and having to deal with grief when the deal turns sour.
“The bitter taste of poor quality (service) remains much longer than the sweet taste of a low price.”
:-)
flexiblebullet
7th of May 2010 (Fri), 14:35
In my opinion, either go to a trade show specifically for cameras/photography or buy it from samys camera
thats what i do =D
Bigmojo
14th of May 2010 (Fri), 09:24
In England we have lots of what we call Grey importers. Cameras basically meant for non UK markets and there is a potential warranty issue on some of it. Tempting because of very small savings but personally Im terrified.
I only ever buy from a reputable Pro Canon dealer like park cameras (http://www.parkcameras.com) a good reputable store like Mifsuds (http://www.mifsuds.co.uk/) or occasionally second hand from good ebay (http://photography.shop.ebay.co.uk/Photography-/625/i.html?_nkw=photography&_catref=1&_fln=1&_trksid=p3286.c0.m282)ers. they are out there. Besides that Canon here have an excellent refurbished cameras store based in Nottingham (http://myworld.ebay.co.uk/canon_uk1/)
12Rock
1st of June 2010 (Tue), 14:00
Try J and R music world at Park Row in NYC- I work next to it it is about a whole city block. They have one building just for Photography . Good Price and stand behind product. Same for B and H photo in nyc
calibro101
9th of June 2010 (Wed), 01:06
I either buy from Amazon or J&R. got my 40d from amazon and my 17-40 from jr.
StanleyK14
10th of June 2010 (Thu), 09:35
Sounds sketchy
I only do business with Adorama and B&H, or eBay from reputable sellers
MCAsan
16th of June 2010 (Wed), 14:15
Our suppliers: B&H, Adorama, or Amazon.
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.