PDA

View Full Version : Keeping the Bigma- 50-500 OS.


westernminnguy
11th of May 2010 (Tue), 15:19
I've had Sigma's new 50-500 OS for a week now. I had myself convinced to send it back since I had the 100-400 and the Canon 400 f/5.6.

However, the 50-500 just won me over. So I did my registration of the 50-500 today :)

Yes, it's big and bulky but I love the versatility of the lens and the 500mm reach.

Is this lens a 100-400 Canon(dust pump) killer? This is the question I was asked by a friend.

The short answer is no. The 100-400 is quick, reliable, much lighter and a real solid performer.

However, in still shooting, IMHO, the 50-500 definitely keeps up with the 100-400 in all ranges....it's just a bit of a trick learning how to use it...like any other lens.

I haven't had the opportunity to try the 50-500 with any action type of shooting.

I'll take my time with this new 50-500 before I do anything with the 100-400.

By the way, I posted shots(nothing special..just fun shooting) with the 50-500 OS in combo with both my 7D and 5DMKII on this thread:

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=841795&page=10

Hope everyone is doing well.

:)

jmurph
11th of May 2010 (Tue), 15:22
Nice! There are some pretty sharp shots there!

ahendarman
11th of May 2010 (Tue), 16:31
Does the Sigma AF on a non 1D bodies since its max aperture at 500mm is f/6.3?

westernminnguy
11th of May 2010 (Tue), 16:35
Does the Sigma AF on a non 1D bodies since its max aperture at 500mm is f/6.3?

Yes.

This is one nice advantage over my 400 f/5.6 with 1.4 T.C.

:)

Riverlander
11th of May 2010 (Tue), 19:57
I think I will buy one, but I would like to know whether you can get autofocus on the 7D with this lens and a 1.4x teleconverter.
I have read that some Sigma lenses "lie" to the camera and report that they have a maximum F stop of f/4 and not f/4.5 -- thus you get autofocus with the 1.4 TC at a theoretical f/5.6

Can you test it?

westernminnguy
11th of May 2010 (Tue), 23:06
I think I will buy one, but I would like to know whether you can get autofocus on the 7D with this lens and a 1.4x teleconverter.
I have read that some Sigma lenses "lie" to the camera and report that they have a maximum F stop of f/4 and not f/4.5 -- thus you get autofocus with the 1.4 TC at a theoretical f/5.6

Can you test it?

River,

Unfortunately, I don't as of yet have a Sigma 1.4 T.C....only a Canon 1.4 T.C. My understanding is that this lens will not work with a Canon 1.4 T.C.

Sorry.

:)

Riverlander
11th of May 2010 (Tue), 23:17
mmmmmm........ I thought the Canon TC would fit - maybe not

I have been using a Kenko 1.4x on my Sigma 120-300 f/2.8 but got the Sigma 1.4x yesterday - already had the Sigma 2x.

westernminnguy
11th of May 2010 (Tue), 23:49
mmmmmm........ I thought the Canon TC would fit - maybe not

I have been using a Kenko 1.4x on my Sigma 120-300 f/2.8 but got the Sigma 1.4x yesterday - already had the Sigma 2x.

I emailed Sigma service to ask them if my Canon 1.4 T.C. would work with the 50-500.

krb
11th of May 2010 (Tue), 23:53
I think I will buy one, but I would like to know whether you can get autofocus on the 7D with this lens and a 1.4x teleconverter.
I have read that some Sigma lenses "lie" to the camera and report that they have a maximum F stop of f/4 and not f/4.5 -- thus you get autofocus with the 1.4 TC at a theoretical f/5.6

Can you test it?
This lens has a min aperture of 6.3 at 500mm and is lying to the camera to get AF to work then. Adding a 1.4x TC is going to put you at f/9 and you can forget about AF at that point.

DreDaze
12th of May 2010 (Wed), 00:59
This lens has a min aperture of 6.3 at 500mm and is lying to the camera to get AF to work then. Adding a 1.4x TC is going to put you at f/9 and you can forget about AF at that point.

doing the tape trick on my bigmos and kenko 1.4 allows for AF...haven't tested it too much...but if something was static enough, it'd AF on it just fine...not sure if i'd really trust it for BIF though...

artyman
12th of May 2010 (Wed), 04:13
Using a Sigma 1.4 on my 150-500 it doesn't autofocus, and using the tape trick it hunted endlessly, it may be possible in bright sunlight with a high contrast subject but I wouldn't bet on it.

phreeky
12th of May 2010 (Wed), 05:02
Don't be afraid to MF, you can still get some great shots. It takes practice, but that's the beauty of digital...

Chris_R
12th of May 2010 (Wed), 05:37
My brother just got this new Sigma 50-500 OS, i will give a try :D

westernminnguy
12th of May 2010 (Wed), 18:02
Just got word from a rep at Sigma that the Sigma 50-500 OS won't AF with a T.C and my 7D or 5DII....no surprises there.

The big deal for me is that I wanted(besides the flexibility) AF at 500mm without a 1D.

However, the story is the same with my other two longer Canon lenses....that is without a 1D they don't AF with a T.C.

Now, I'm not into all this taping the T.C. etc...seems pointless to me. Buy what works together.

That said......

My experience with my 1DIIn + 400 f/5.6 + 1.4 T.C.(AF works with this combo) is the same as.....

My experience with my 50-500 OS at 500mm with my 5DMKII and 7D...AF works at 500mm.

Both combo's are sharp. :D

I can't imagagine what it would have been like to have these cameras/lenses(doesn't matter the brand)back in the 70's...

O.K. having a bit of fun here.

:)

DreDaze
12th of May 2010 (Wed), 19:11
Now, I'm not into all this taping the T.C. etc...seems pointless to me. Buy what works together.


i think the point is...if you need to, you can get AF to work...

phreeky
12th of May 2010 (Wed), 19:51
1.4x on the 400 prime with pins taped works well in AI Servo on the 20D based on my short amount of time I've had the 1.4x. Anything but pointless. One shot AF is quite bad, spends too much time oscillating around the focal point for my liking.

Riverlander
12th of May 2010 (Wed), 22:22
Now, I'm not into all this taping the T.C. etc...seems pointless to me. Buy what works together.

Yep - I agree with that -- although I did tape the pins (with success) on my Canon 100-400 when used with a 1.4x TC a couple of uyears ago.

At the moment I have 600 with autofocus on my 7D, courtesy of Sigma 120-300 f/2.8 and Sigma 2x TC. It is sharp too (after micro-adjustment) at the most often used exposure f/11 - which is "really" f/5.6.

What I lack if IS, (OS), for handheld. I guess I can live without it a little longer, and drop to f/8 to get a faster shutter speed.
The combo is relatively heavy too.

westernminnguy
13th of May 2010 (Thu), 00:24
i think the point is...if you need to, you can get AF to work...

Yes, I do get that point.

:)