PDA

View Full Version : Looking to contact a company to see if they want a few photos.

aepoc
18th of August 2010 (Wed), 08:38
So basically, I've taken some shots of my guitar that I think are pretty good, and I'm looking to sell them to Fender. A little background on myself is that I've been shooting for 5 years or so, I've completed an 6-month photography internship at Madison Magazine (circ. 20,000+), had numerous photos published through them, and other magazines and periodicals, I've shot for two hockey teams as well; one college, one pro (AAHL).

Basically, I'm wondering if I should write up a query letter and send them to Fender and see what happens... and if so, what I should ask for compensation-wise. Or, if you all think they're absolute rubbish, that works too... just looking for some honesty. Thanks a lot.

Here are some small versions of the photos:
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2783/4379730254_a5c26c8747.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4060/4378975287_e4494efb1e.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3278/2571216541_5051eae385.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3495/3282976431_26fb0986f7.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4034/4467469661_73ca8f88a9.jpg

Mike Hoyer
18th of August 2010 (Wed), 08:57
To be brutally honest... I'm sure Fender already have photographers who do all this stuff for them already. They may not taking too kindly to you suggesting they pay you for pictures of their products!

Then again, it may be worth a try. It looks like there are some finger prints or something on the second one though!

tjames
18th of August 2010 (Wed), 09:43
Fender has staff photographers, when I owned my music store a few years back we got to tour their headquarters, they have a full blown studio that they use for their product photography and photo shoots. You never know though, anything is possible I guess.. You may have better luck trying to submit those photos to a publication like GuitarWorld or GuitarPlayer magazine, or possibly some stock sites..