PDA

View Full Version : It's All Happening So Fast! :S

MattyB
20th of September 2005 (Tue), 10:29
i'm a bit scared, but more.. excited, and i'm guessing i'll get a few replys warning me not to do it - but my theory is to always jump in with both feet.

a friend of mine got me talking to a guy who's wanting to start up a website for cars, kind of like Street Commodores and Street Machine - but online (if there are any aussies reading).

he wants me to be his photographer, for cars and models.
full photoshoots, in studio and out studio.

at first i told him no, because i don't have the equipment. and i'm not that experienced yet. i told him how i'd need reflectors, soft boxes, externals flashes, etc etc etc, i just started ranting on and on

then he tells me to email him with everything i need, and he'll buy it... obviously not for me, it would be his companys equipment. but he seemed egar for me to let him know. i said "ok, give me a day tol chase up what i need, where and how much"
he told me not to worry about prices..

AND he can get a studio suitable for cars.

so, i'm asking all you pro's reading, what do i tell him?

what do i need?

lighting, studio, lens, etc etc..

i have a 300D with 18-55 lens kit, nothing more. lol

please, only serious replys, no "get the $90,000,000,000 studio setup from RipOff.com" or whatever,

nothing TOO expensive, i don't want to scare him off.

just the starters of the professional series equipment, or what ever you think would make photos good enough.

a quick reply would be appreciated. thanks guys

zacker
20th of September 2005 (Tue), 11:09
no advice ...just good luck, hope it works out for ya.. I would tell him you do need the 1DS MKII and some nice "L" glass and then you can borrow it on weekends and stuff!
just a thought!
-zacker-

MattyB
20th of September 2005 (Tue), 11:25
i'm hoping to stick with my 300D, no use using a 1Ds on the job if i can't learn to use it all hours of the day and night.