What's reasonable for a model release?

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos The Business of Photography
Thread started 01 Jun 2011 (Wednesday) 00:33   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

avimagery
Joined Sep 2010
312 posts
San Diego, CA
[MORE/SHARE]

Background: I recently attended my first groupshoot put on by a few guys on Model Mayhem, and it was a lot of fun. I got to work with some stunning models, and learned a thing or two about working with them. I'm still new to the whole process though, having only shot landscapes, aircraft and family events for most of my life. After the shoot, I processed a few of the pictures and was quite pleased with a number of them, which I added to my portfolio. None of my work is intended to be sold, only used as self promotion and marketing. One of the pictures I would like to use on the back of my business card, and after contacting the model she requested I get a model release. I agree, It think it makes it legit and covers my butt, should anything come up surrounding the image. I've never had to deal with this yet, and am now wiser to the process for future shoots.

Here's my question: The model in question is not published, nor is it her full time job; like me, she does these shoots for fun. She has asked for an $80 fee for the release (keep in mind I did pay her $40 for the time we shot 1-on-1's at the group shoot, and we had an agreement that I would send her at least 6 of the final shots; I gave her 12.) Is $80 a reasonable sum? She claims that other photographers told her she should go higher, but if I recall, most of the release's usually ran about $10-20.

What's your verdict?

Post #1, Jun 01, 2011 00:33:52

Andrew-Vincent Imagery
www.andrew-vincent.netexternal link
Canon 60D & 40D, EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM, Tamron AF70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD (IF), AlienBee B1600, Misc other gear

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Mike22487
Joined Mar 2009
170 posts
Palm Beach, FL