Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > Astronomy and Celestial Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19th of April 2012 (Thu)   #1
romverj
Junior Member
 
romverj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 17
Question Time-Lapse Editing

Hello everyone!
So about a year ago, I made my very first attempt at a star time-lapse video. You can see it HERE if you want to. While I know how to capture the pictures and edit them in mass quantities, I don't necessarily know the proper way of putting them into a movie. If you watch my video, you might notice all of the compression issues and noise that appears in the movie (but not the individual pictures). I was using iMovie to edit at the time, and I think that may have something to do with it. What program would you recommend using for such a project (I'm planning on trying again this summer)? And what's the best way of grouping the photographs into individual clips?

__________________
Equipment: Canon 60D
Canon 17-40mm L, Canon 24mm F/1.4 II L, Canon 50mm F/1.8, Canon MP-E 65mm 1-5x, Vivitar 13mm F/2.8

Flickr
romverj is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 19th of April 2012 (Thu)   #2
Mark1
Cream of the Crop
 
Mark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,679
Default Re: Time-Lapse Editing

Seam McCormic has a preset for lightroom that is just for this. And it is free. It is worth looking into if you already have Lightroom. Just edit one image, then sync the rest, and export.

http://lrbplugins.com/shop/presets/l...setstemplates/
__________________
Keep in mind "Its not the camera, its the photographer" works just as well for bad pictures as it does for good ones.

www.the6by6frame.wordpress.com
Mark1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of April 2012 (Fri)   #3
romverj
Junior Member
 
romverj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 17
Default Re: Time-Lapse Editing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark1 View Post
Seam McCormic has a preset for lightroom that is just for this. And it is free. It is worth looking into if you already have Lightroom. Just edit one image, then sync the rest, and export.

http://lrbplugins.com/shop/presets/l...setstemplates/
Thanks!
__________________
Equipment: Canon 60D
Canon 17-40mm L, Canon 24mm F/1.4 II L, Canon 50mm F/1.8, Canon MP-E 65mm 1-5x, Vivitar 13mm F/2.8

Flickr
romverj is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Lapse misshotnspicy Nature & Landscapes 8 21st of September 2010 (Tue) 10:27
My first time lapse with the G9! :) LowriderS10 Canon G-series Digital Cameras 37 21st of June 2010 (Mon) 20:24
time lapse in HD? chris21908 General Photography Talk 4 15th of May 2010 (Sat) 02:09
Caught in a Time Lapse Time Warp (HELP) bill2468 Small Compact Digitals by Canon 2 21st of October 2008 (Tue) 11:46
Time Lapse purelithium General Photography Talk 6 30th of March 2007 (Fri) 22:10


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.