Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > Sports Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 2nd of May 2012 (Wed)   #1
TooManyShots
Cream of the Crop

Default Shooting with 2 bodies....

This is more related to cycling race photography. In another words, your "shot window" is only "open" for 7 to 8 sec before the entire field passes you by. My 1dIII has been my main camera. Recently, I have acquired a 5dII. Curious about full frame and etc. I am still very new in shooting with 2 bodies. I don't even know how to use the second body. Even with one body, I always have enough time to switch my lens. In a typical race, you would get multiple fields racing at the same time with 2 minutes or more intervals in between. So, I always have enough time to switch my lens. I have tired to shoot both bodies at my "shot window." The 5dII with a 70-200L shooting the front of the field. And quickly, I would grab my 1dIII + 24-70L for that close quarter shots. I found myself losing concentrations in the process.
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 2nd of May 2012 (Wed)   #2
C.david

Default Re: Shooting with 2 bodies....

Too, I am not going to tell you anything you don't already know...practice and patience.
Of course it is easier if one is on a monopod. If one is tether to you somehow you'll find yourself reaching for it more readily as you know exactly where it is. Yeah, initially it does take concentration. You'll be fine
C.david is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of May 2012 (Wed)   #3
FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"

The "reach around" is a technique I see a lot of sports shooters use...

They simply let the big rig on the monopod fall back and rest on one shoulder while they reach around the 'pod with both hands to use their close in camera.
Old 2nd of May 2012 (Wed)   #4
TooManyShots
Cream of the Crop