LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Help with my new 1Ds MkII

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 04 Jun 2006 (Sunday) 04:17   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
adampacey
Hatchling
Joined Jun 2006
8 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Hi,

I have just got my 1Ds MkII and it's awesome ... but ... when I use my 17-40mm lens at anything less than about 35mm zoom the corners of the picture are cropped out (black) basically giving me a round picture. I know this must have something to do with the full frame sensor but am not sure how to fix it ... can't I use anything wider than 35mm with this camera??

Thanks in advance

Adam

Post #1, Jun 04, 2006 04:17:10




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Woolburr
Mr. PMS Himself
Woolburr's Avatar
Joined Sep 2005
66,287 posts
The Tupperware capitol of eastern Oregon...Leicester, NC!
[MORE/SHARE]

Which lens hood are you using? On a FF camera, you need to use the factory original (EW-83E) version to limit vignetting. Lots of people switch to the EW-83D for use on a crop camera like the 20D which will cause the problem on full frame.

Post #2, Jun 04, 2006 04:23:39


People that know me call me Dan
You'll never be a legitimate photographer until you have an award winning duck in your portfolio!
Crayons,Coloring Book,external link Refrigerator Artexternal link and What I Really Think Aboutexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
weemannie
Goldmember
Joined Apr 2005
2,530 posts
Scottish Highlands
[MORE/SHARE]

Welcome to the forums :D

Are you using any filters?

Post #3, Jun 04, 2006 04:27:31 as a reply to Woolburr's post 3 minutes earlier.


Regards, Trevor
5D MkIII, 60D, Zuiko 24mm, Zeiss ZE 21mm and 50mm 1.4, 70-300L, 10-22
http://www.scotlandima​gery.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
adampacey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Joined Jun 2006
8 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Hi,

I wasn't using any hood! The lens is the Canon Zoom EF 17-40mm L USM with a Hoya Cir Pol and UV filter fitted. When i tried to use it at 17mm the corners were blacked out.

Thanks for helping,

Adam

Post #4, Jun 04, 2006 04:27:44




LOG IN TO REPLY
weemannie
Goldmember
Joined Apr 2005
2,530 posts
Scottish Highlands
[MORE/SHARE]

Have you tried without the filters?
At wideangles there will be some vignetting, especially with 2 filters fitted.

Post #5, Jun 04, 2006 04:29:19 as a reply to adampacey's post 1 minute earlier.


Regards, Trevor
5D MkIII, 60D, Zuiko 24mm, Zeiss ZE 21mm and 50mm 1.4, 70-300L, 10-22
http://www.scotlandima​gery.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
adampacey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Joined Jun 2006
8 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

will try now ... give me a minute!

Post #6, Jun 04, 2006 04:30:07




LOG IN TO REPLY
Woolburr
Mr. PMS Himself
Woolburr's Avatar
Joined Sep 2005
66,287 posts
The Tupperware capitol of eastern Oregon...Leicester, NC!
[MORE/SHARE]

ahhhhhhhhh.....the stacked filters are the culprit. Remove the filters and you should be golden. If you need a CPL on a FF camera, you probably need to look at the thin mount versions and never stack filters.

Post #7, Jun 04, 2006 04:31:03


People that know me call me Dan
You'll never be a legitimate photographer until you have an award winning duck in your portfolio!
Crayons,Coloring Book,external link Refrigerator Artexternal link and What I Really Think Aboutexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
adampacey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Joined Jun 2006
8 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

problem solved - thankyou!! Looks like I'll have to switch to Cokin filters. One other quick question ... the 'on' button on the battery grip seems a little loose ... i get a click switchin it on but have to turn it a bit more to get it to work ... does that sound odd ... with such build quality i expected a firm click on and off?

Post #8, Jun 04, 2006 04:35:47




LOG IN TO REPLY
weemannie
Goldmember
Joined Apr 2005
2,530 posts
Scottish Highlands
[MORE/SHARE]

You'll need one of the really big filter systems :D Cokin XPro or ZPro. Although with that camera (envy, envy) I think Hitech or Lee filters would be better. Also look for wide angle adaptors rather thatn

Post #9, Jun 04, 2006 04:39:38 as a reply to adampacey's post 3 minutes earlier.


Regards, Trevor
5D MkIII, 60D, Zuiko 24mm, Zeiss ZE 21mm and 50mm 1.4, 70-300L, 10-22
http://www.scotlandima​gery.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
weemannie
Goldmember
Joined Apr 2005
2,530 posts
Scottish Highlands
[MORE/SHARE]

You'll need one of the really big filter systems :D Cokin XPro or ZPro. Although with that camera (envy, envy) I think Hitech or Lee filters would be better. Also look for wide angle adaptors rather than standard.
As far as the switch is concerned, it doesn't sound right to me. My 1D has no problem like that.
If you want to send it to me, I'll try it out for you :lol: :lol:

Post #10, Jun 04, 2006 04:40:54 as a reply to adampacey's post 5 minutes earlier.


Regards, Trevor
5D MkIII, 60D, Zuiko 24mm, Zeiss ZE 21mm and 50mm 1.4, 70-300L, 10-22
http://www.scotlandima​gery.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Woolburr
Mr. PMS Himself
Woolburr's Avatar
Joined Sep 2005
66,287 posts
The Tupperware capitol of eastern Oregon...Leicester, NC!
[MORE/SHARE]

I don't know the answer to your switch problem. Mine seems pretty positive.

Post #11, Jun 04, 2006 04:42:54


People that know me call me Dan
You'll never be a legitimate photographer until you have an award winning duck in your portfolio!
Crayons,Coloring Book,external link Refrigerator Artexternal link and What I Really Think Aboutexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
adampacey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Joined Jun 2006
8 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Am using cokin P series on my 20D so will try that but if not will invest in a bigger system ... anything for my 1Ds MkII! They are expensive but it is just awesome although I need a new 500 Gig hard drive to keep the files on ... they're huge!

Thanks again ... any thoughts on that battery grip on/off switch ... just doesn't feel right?

Post #12, Jun 04, 2006 04:42:54




LOG IN TO REPLY
adampacey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Joined Jun 2006
8 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Hmmm ok the camera is in the post errr not!

My take it into a canon centre just to put my mind at rest.

Thanks again

Post #13, Jun 04, 2006 04:44:06




LOG IN TO REPLY
prep
Senior Member
Joined May 2006
245 posts
Perth WA
[MORE/SHARE]

Get a CPL filter that fits the largest fron lens, an 82mm I think, and step rings to fit it to your smaller lenses. It will cost you an arm and both legs, but you only need to do it once!

Post #14, Jun 04, 2006 04:56:06


~pr

LOG IN TO REPLY
adampacey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Joined Jun 2006
8 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

hi ... thanks ... whats CPL!?

Post #15, Jun 04, 2006 04:59:58




LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
1,350 views & 0 likes for this thread
Help with my new 1Ds MkII
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00129 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
1090 guests, 811 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is louvig

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.