Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 04 Jun 2006 (Sunday) 04:17
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Help with my new 1Ds MkII

 
adampacey
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Jun 04, 2006 04:17 |  #1

Hi,

I have just got my 1Ds MkII and it's awesome ... but ... when I use my 17-40mm lens at anything less than about 35mm zoom the corners of the picture are cropped out (black) basically giving me a round picture. I know this must have something to do with the full frame sensor but am not sure how to fix it ... can't I use anything wider than 35mm with this camera??

Thanks in advance

Adam




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Woolburr
Mr. PMS Himself
Woolburr's Avatar
Joined Sep 2005
The Tupperware capitol of eastern Oregon...Leicester, NC!
Jun 04, 2006 04:23 |  #2

Which lens hood are you using? On a FF camera, you need to use the factory original (EW-83E) version to limit vignetting. Lots of people switch to the EW-83D for use on a crop camera like the 20D which will cause the problem on full frame.


People that know me call me Dan
You'll never be a legitimate photographer until you have an award winning duck in your portfolio!
Crayons,Coloring Book,external link Refrigerator Artexternal link and What I Really Think Aboutexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
weemannie
Goldmember
2,530 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Scottish Highlands
Jun 04, 2006 04:27 as a reply to Woolburr's post |  #3

Welcome to the forums :D

Are you using any filters?


Regards, Trevor
5D MkIII, 60D, Zuiko 24mm, Zeiss ZE 21mm and 50mm 1.4, 70-300L, 10-22
http://www.scotlandima​gery.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
adampacey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Jun 04, 2006 04:27 |  #4

Hi,

I wasn't using any hood! The lens is the Canon Zoom EF 17-40mm L USM with a Hoya Cir Pol and UV filter fitted. When i tried to use it at 17mm the corners were blacked out.

Thanks for helping,

Adam




LOG IN TO REPLY
weemannie
Goldmember
2,530 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Scottish Highlands
Jun 04, 2006 04:29 as a reply to adampacey's post |  #5

Have you tried without the filters?
At wideangles there will be some vignetting, especially with 2 filters fitted.


Regards, Trevor
5D MkIII, 60D, Zuiko 24mm, Zeiss ZE 21mm and 50mm 1.4, 70-300L, 10-22
http://www.scotlandima​gery.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
adampacey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Jun 04, 2006 04:30 |  #6

will try now ... give me a minute!




LOG IN TO REPLY
Woolburr
Mr. PMS Himself
Woolburr's Avatar
Joined Sep 2005
The Tupperware capitol of eastern Oregon...Leicester, NC!
Jun 04, 2006 04:31 |  #7

ahhhhhhhhh.....the stacked filters are the culprit. Remove the filters and you should be golden. If you need a CPL on a FF camera, you probably need to look at the thin mount versions and never stack filters.


People that know me call me Dan
You'll never be a legitimate photographer until you have an award winning duck in your portfolio!
Crayons,Coloring Book,external link Refrigerator Artexternal link and What I Really Think Aboutexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
adampacey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Jun 04, 2006 04:35 |  #8

problem solved - thankyou!! Looks like I'll have to switch to Cokin filters. One other quick question ... the 'on' button on the battery grip seems a little loose ... i get a click switchin it on but have to turn it a bit more to get it to work ... does that sound odd ... with such build quality i expected a firm click on and off?




LOG IN TO REPLY
weemannie
Goldmember
2,530 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Scottish Highlands
Jun 04, 2006 04:39 as a reply to adampacey's post |  #9

You'll need one of the really big filter systems :D Cokin XPro or ZPro. Although with that camera (envy, envy) I think Hitech or Lee filters would be better. Also look for wide angle adaptors rather thatn


Regards, Trevor
5D MkIII, 60D, Zuiko 24mm, Zeiss ZE 21mm and 50mm 1.4, 70-300L, 10-22
http://www.scotlandima​gery.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
weemannie
Goldmember
2,530 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Scottish Highlands
Jun 04, 2006 04:40 as a reply to adampacey's post |  #10

You'll need one of the really big filter systems :D Cokin XPro or ZPro. Although with that camera (envy, envy) I think Hitech or Lee filters would be better. Also look for wide angle adaptors rather than standard.
As far as the switch is concerned, it doesn't sound right to me. My 1D has no problem like that.
If you want to send it to me, I'll try it out for you :lol: :lol:


Regards, Trevor
5D MkIII, 60D, Zuiko 24mm, Zeiss ZE 21mm and 50mm 1.4, 70-300L, 10-22
http://www.scotlandima​gery.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Woolburr
Mr. PMS Himself
Woolburr's Avatar
Joined Sep 2005
The Tupperware capitol of eastern Oregon...Leicester, NC!
Jun 04, 2006 04:42 |  #11

I don't know the answer to your switch problem. Mine seems pretty positive.


People that know me call me Dan
You'll never be a legitimate photographer until you have an award winning duck in your portfolio!
Crayons,Coloring Book,external link Refrigerator Artexternal link and What I Really Think Aboutexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
adampacey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Jun 04, 2006 04:42 |  #12

Am using cokin P series on my 20D so will try that but if not will invest in a bigger system ... anything for my 1Ds MkII! They are expensive but it is just awesome although I need a new 500 Gig hard drive to keep the files on ... they're huge!

Thanks again ... any thoughts on that battery grip on/off switch ... just doesn't feel right?




LOG IN TO REPLY
adampacey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Jun 04, 2006 04:44 |  #13

Hmmm ok the camera is in the post errr not!

My take it into a canon centre just to put my mind at rest.

Thanks again




LOG IN TO REPLY
prep
Member
245 posts
Joined May 2006
Perth WA
Jun 04, 2006 04:56 |  #14

Get a CPL filter that fits the largest fron lens, an 82mm I think, and step rings to fit it to your smaller lenses. It will cost you an arm and both legs, but you only need to do it once!


~pr

LOG IN TO REPLY
adampacey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Jun 04, 2006 04:59 |  #15

hi ... thanks ... whats CPL!?




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,655 views & 0 likes for this thread
Help with my new 1Ds MkII
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.0014 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Oriusz
565 guests, 565 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5577, that happened on Mar 02, 2016