Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th of June 2006 (Sun)   #1
adampacey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Unhappy Help with my new 1Ds MkII

Hi,

I have just got my 1Ds MkII and it's awesome ... but ... when I use my 17-40mm lens at anything less than about 35mm zoom the corners of the picture are cropped out (black) basically giving me a round picture. I know this must have something to do with the full frame sensor but am not sure how to fix it ... can't I use anything wider than 35mm with this camera??

Thanks in advance

Adam
adampacey is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 4th of June 2006 (Sun)   #2
Woolburr
Mr. PMS Himself
 
Woolburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Tupperware capitol of eastern Oregon...Leicester, NC!
Posts: 66,195
Default Re: Help with my new 1Ds MkII

Which lens hood are you using? On a FF camera, you need to use the factory original (EW-83E) version to limit vignetting. Lots of people switch to the EW-83D for use on a crop camera like the 20D which will cause the problem on full frame.
__________________
People that know me call me Dan
You'll never be a legitimate photographer until you have an award winning duck in your portfolio!
Crayons, Coloring Book, Refrigerator Art and What I Really Think About
Woolburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2006 (Sun)   #3
weemannie
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scottish Highlands
Posts: 2,530
Default Re: Help with my new 1Ds MkII

Welcome to the forums

Are you using any filters?
__________________
Regards, Trevor
5D MkIII, 60D, Zuiko 24mm, Zeiss ZE 21mm and 50mm 1.4, 70-300L, 10-22
http://www.scotlandimagery.com
weemannie is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 4th of June 2006 (Sun)   #4
adampacey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Help with my new 1Ds MkII

Hi,

I wasn't using any hood! The lens is the Canon Zoom EF 17-40mm L USM with a Hoya Cir Pol and UV filter fitted. When i tried to use it at 17mm the corners were blacked out.

Thanks for helping,

Adam
adampacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2006 (Sun)   #5
weemannie
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scottish Highlands
Posts: 2,530
Default Re: Help with my new 1Ds MkII

Have you tried without the filters?
At wideangles there will be some vignetting, especially with 2 filters fitted.
__________________
Regards, Trevor
5D MkIII, 60D, Zuiko 24mm, Zeiss ZE 21mm and 50mm 1.4, 70-300L, 10-22
http://www.scotlandimagery.com
weemannie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2006 (Sun)   #6
adampacey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Help with my new 1Ds MkII

will try now ... give me a minute!
adampacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2006 (Sun)   #7
Woolburr
Mr. PMS Himself
 
Woolburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Tupperware capitol of eastern Oregon...Leicester, NC!
Posts: 66,195
Default Re: Help with my new 1Ds MkII

ahhhhhhhhh.....the stacked filters are the culprit. Remove the filters and you should be golden. If you need a CPL on a FF camera, you probably need to look at the thin mount versions and never stack filters.
__________________
People that know me call me Dan
You'll never be a legitimate photographer until you have an award winning duck in your portfolio!
Crayons, Coloring Book, Refrigerator Art and What I Really Think About
Woolburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2006 (Sun)   #8
adampacey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Help with my new 1Ds MkII

problem solved - thankyou!! Looks like I'll have to switch to Cokin filters. One other quick question ... the 'on' button on the battery grip seems a little loose ... i get a click switchin it on but have to turn it a bit more to get it to work ... does that sound odd ... with such build quality i expected a firm click on and off?
adampacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2006 (Sun)   #9
weemannie
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scottish Highlands
Posts: 2,530
Default Re: Help with my new 1Ds MkII

You'll need one of the really big filter systems Cokin XPro or ZPro. Although with that camera (envy, envy) I think Hitech or Lee filters would be better. Also look for wide angle adaptors rather thatn
__________________
Regards, Trevor
5D MkIII, 60D, Zuiko 24mm, Zeiss ZE 21mm and 50mm 1.4, 70-300L, 10-22
http://www.scotlandimagery.com
weemannie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2006 (Sun)   #10
weemannie
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scottish Highlands
Posts: 2,530
Default Re: Help with my new 1Ds MkII

You'll need one of the really big filter systems Cokin XPro or ZPro. Although with that camera (envy, envy) I think Hitech or Lee filters would be better. Also look for wide angle adaptors rather than standard.
As far as the switch is concerned, it doesn't sound right to me. My 1D has no problem like that.
If you want to send it to me, I'll try it out for you
__________________
Regards, Trevor
5D MkIII, 60D, Zuiko 24mm, Zeiss ZE 21mm and 50mm 1.4, 70-300L, 10-22
http://www.scotlandimagery.com
weemannie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2006 (Sun)   #11
Woolburr
Mr. PMS Himself
 
Woolburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Tupperware capitol of eastern Oregon...Leicester, NC!
Posts: 66,195
Default Re: Help with my new 1Ds MkII

I don't know the answer to your switch problem. Mine seems pretty positive.
__________________
People that know me call me Dan
You'll never be a legitimate photographer until you have an award winning duck in your portfolio!
Crayons, Coloring Book, Refrigerator Art and What I Really Think About
Woolburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2006 (Sun)   #12
adampacey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Help with my new 1Ds MkII

Am using cokin P series on my 20D so will try that but if not will invest in a bigger system ... anything for my 1Ds MkII! They are expensive but it is just awesome although I need a new 500 Gig hard drive to keep the files on ... they're huge!

Thanks again ... any thoughts on that battery grip on/off switch ... just doesn't feel right?
adampacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2006 (Sun)   #13
adampacey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Help with my new 1Ds MkII

Hmmm ok the camera is in the post errr not!

My take it into a canon centre just to put my mind at rest.

Thanks again
adampacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2006 (Sun)   #14
prep
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Perth WA
Posts: 245
Default Re: Help with my new 1Ds MkII

Get a CPL filter that fits the largest fron lens, an 82mm I think, and step rings to fit it to your smaller lenses. It will cost you an arm and both legs, but you only need to do it once!
__________________
~pr
prep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2006 (Sun)   #15
adampacey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Help with my new 1Ds MkII

hi ... thanks ... whats CPL!?
adampacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sell 1Ds MkII and get 1D MkII n? OviV Canon EOS Digital Cameras 10 4th of January 2007 (Thu) 16:50
Is this the new 1Ds MKII N? Permagrin Camera Rumors and Predictions 12 17th of August 2006 (Thu) 13:18
1D MKII/MKII/1Ds vs D70 Dans_D60 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 12th of July 2005 (Tue) 22:42
1DS MKII or 1D MKII HKFEVER Canon EOS Digital Cameras 22 17th of December 2004 (Fri) 09:47


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.