HELP ME!!! I am about to throw my flash under a truck.

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 09 Mar 2008 (Sunday) 18:10   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

Thomas ­ Lunt
Joined Sep 2005
154 posts
South Jersey
[MORE/SHARE]

Guys and Gals. I am thoroughly disgusted. I am not an expert by any stretch in fact I have relied on auto settings (both flash and camera) for most of my weddings but I cannot get my system to stop underexposing my shots particularly reception shots. I am also not a newbie, I have shot wedding for 17 years. I have had a constant problem with by flash exposure since switching to digital 5 years ago. It happened with my 20D, 1d MKII, and now the 1DS MKIII. I have gone through 420, 580ex, and now 580EXII. I shoot the 1dsMKIII in P and set the 580II on ETTL with the Lightsphere clear and a newton bracket. these shots were FEC +2/3 using the Quantum Turbo battery. WHAT AM I DOING WRONG!?!?!? This is ridiculous. These shots are terrible.

IMAGE: http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa160/Thomaslunt/141R6162.jpg

ISO 1000 F2.8 42mm. I was only 10 feet away.

IMAGE: http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa160/Thomaslunt/141R6081.jpg

iso 1000 f 4.5 42mm 10 feet away.

Post #1, Mar 09, 2008 18:10:53

www.luntphotography.co​mexternal link

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Zonieart
Joined Dec 2006
591 posts
Tucson Arizona
[MORE/SHARE]

Just so we have all the facts, can you post the EXIF data.

Post #2, Mar 09, 2008 18:13:04

Lots of cameras, lights and lenses.

www.jhinklephoto.zenfo​lio.comexternal link
www.modelmayhem.com/74​0591external link

Thomas ­ Lunt
THREAD ­ STARTER
Joined Sep 2005
154 posts
South Jersey
[MORE/SHARE]

both were at 1/125th of a second and split metering

Post #3, Mar 09, 2008 18:16:48 as a reply to Zonieart's post 3 minutes earlier.

drPheta
Goldmember
Joined Dec 2007
1,046 posts
Massachusetts, USA
[MORE/SHARE]