Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 9th of March 2008 (Sun)   #1
Thomas Lunt

Default HELP ME!!! I am about to throw my flash under a truck.

Guys and Gals. I am thoroughly disgusted. I am not an expert by any stretch in fact I have relied on auto settings (both flash and camera) for most of my weddings but I cannot get my system to stop underexposing my shots particularly reception shots. I am also not a newbie, I have shot wedding for 17 years. I have had a constant problem with by flash exposure since switching to digital 5 years ago. It happened with my 20D, 1d MKII, and now the 1DS MKIII. I have gone through 420, 580ex, and now 580EXII. I shoot the 1dsMKIII in P and set the 580II on ETTL with the Lightsphere clear and a newton bracket. these shots were FEC +2/3 using the Quantum Turbo battery. WHAT AM I DOING WRONG!?!?!? This is ridiculous. These shots are terrible.

ISO 1000 F2.8 42mm. I was only 10 feet away.

iso 1000 f 4.5 42mm 10 feet away.
Thomas Lunt is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 9th of March 2008 (Sun)   #2
Zonieart

Default Re: HELP ME!!! I am about to throw my flash under a truck.

Just so we have all the facts, can you post the EXIF data.

www.jhinklephoto.zenfolio.com
www.modelmayhem.com/740591
Zonieart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of March 2008 (Sun)   #3
Thomas Lunt

both were at 1/125th of a second and split metering
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 9th of March 2008 (Sun)   #4
drPheta