Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 18 May 2010 (Tuesday) 20:38
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

cord for off cam flash?

 
ean36
Senior Member
Avatar
625 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
     
May 20, 2010 10:15 |  #16

Another ++++ for Flashzebra products. Don't hesitate, order it today!


be safe and well. George
7D, 5DIII, 5DII and too much to carry all at once

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
kayl
Senior Member
Avatar
389 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 25
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI
     
May 20, 2010 13:16 |  #17

Meade wrote in post #10211603 (external link)
I would be interested in knowing what is the maximum length that you can extend the cable without effecting the TTL operation?

Meade
---------------

Longest I've done is about 25', but I've read of people going up to 50'


Rocking the SL2 and (mostly) the 24-105 f4 L, 50mm f1.8 STM, and 135mm f2 L along with a few others. Biding my time until a FF upgrade ;)
All of my Gear
Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bruhnf
Member
Avatar
65 posts
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
     
May 20, 2010 14:59 |  #18

ean36 wrote in post #10215614 (external link)
Another ++++ for Flashzebra products. Don't hesitate, order it today!

I ordered mine this morning and they shipped it this afternoon. Yep. +++ for Flashzebra




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Joect541
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
80 posts
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Joplin, Mo.
     
May 22, 2010 00:06 |  #19

Ok. Looks like I know what I am going to do then. Zebra Flash it is! I forgot about the whole master/slave thing with the 430 and 580 (because I dont have the 580 yet.) Thank you all for your help and advice. Ordering now!!!!


Happy shooting! Joe

30D, 430ex, Kit Lens, Canon 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM. Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon S3 IS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Delija
Goldmember
Avatar
1,095 posts
Joined Jan 2009
     
May 22, 2010 04:18 as a reply to  @ Joect541's post |  #20

I got the 24 ft. cord from Lon at Flashzebra...the coiled cords on Ebay are a bit longer, and a few dollars cheaper, but while I have no idea of the quality of those, Lon's are great. And he's a pleasure to deal with.

An advantage to the straight cord over the coiled is (for some people, depending on how they set up and where and who they work with)..the flat cords can be taped down to a hard floor or covered with some cheap carpet remnants or rubber....someone tripping on a cord can pull down a lot of expensive equipment on top heavy light-stands and camera tripods.

Peace,
D.


Wow, what a nice picture! You must have a really great camera!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mmahoney
Goldmember
Avatar
2,789 posts
Joined Jan 2007
     
May 22, 2010 04:34 |  #21

Yongnuo cords for the win .. I have the really long one (30 feet?) and one of their shorter ones as well, both have taken a beating and still work.


Newfoundland Wedding Photographer (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
watt100
Cream of the Crop
14,021 posts
Likes: 29
Joined Jun 2008
     
May 22, 2010 05:53 |  #22

mmahoney wrote in post #10225741 (external link)
Yongnuo cords for the win .. .

My generic ETTL cord doesn't have any markings on it but it's probably from the Yongnuo factory, seems pretty well built and costs only $10




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Delija
Goldmember
Avatar
1,095 posts
Joined Jan 2009
     
May 22, 2010 18:06 |  #23

watt100 wrote in post #10225849 (external link)
My generic ETTL cord doesn't have any markings on it but it's probably from the Yongnuo factory, seems pretty well built and costs only $10

How long is your $10 cord??


Wow, what a nice picture! You must have a really great camera!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
watt100
Cream of the Crop
14,021 posts
Likes: 29
Joined Jun 2008
     
May 22, 2010 18:30 |  #24

Delija wrote in post #10228084 (external link)
How long is your $10 cord??

3 feet coiled which stretches to 10 feet !




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Delija
Goldmember
Avatar
1,095 posts
Joined Jan 2009
     
May 23, 2010 10:55 |  #25

watt100 wrote in post #10228176 (external link)
3 feet coiled which stretches to 10 feet !

Sounds like a good deal...but I wonder how strong the pull of the coils is...if (for example) - you had the cord run from your on camera hot-shoe to a light-stand 10 feet from the camera..would the light-stand (most seem to be top-heavy with flash or flash plus bracket plus umbrella) - would the coils tug at the light-stand enough so it would not be stable?

Could you share where to get one?

Peace,
D.


Wow, what a nice picture! You must have a really great camera!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
borism
Goldmember
Avatar
3,414 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 145
Joined Jul 2008
Location: Florida, Weston
     
May 23, 2010 12:08 |  #26

Flashzebra big + here
I have the short telephone cord and the long cord and they work great


CANON 6D - SONY A6000

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DCMP
Member
114 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Minneapolis MN
     
May 23, 2010 12:20 as a reply to  @ borism's post |  #27

ARGH! from flash zebra website

"Note: This longer ETTL cable will not function properly with the following Sigma flashes: Sigma 530 DG Super, Sigma 530 DG ST, Sigma 500 DG Super, Sigma 500 DG ST."

grrrr, anyone have any ideas as to why this is the case? i'm looking into the Sigma 530 Super for my 7d, but this makes me wonder if whatever limits this cord will pop up in some other form.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Delija
Goldmember
Avatar
1,095 posts
Joined Jan 2009
     
May 23, 2010 13:30 |  #28

DCMP wrote in post #10231331 (external link)
ARGH! from flash zebra website

"Note: This longer ETTL cable will not function properly with the following Sigma flashes: Sigma 530 DG Super, Sigma 530 DG ST, Sigma 500 DG Super, Sigma 500 DG ST."

grrrr, anyone have any ideas as to why this is the case? i'm looking into the Sigma 530 Super for my 7d, but this makes me wonder if whatever limits this cord will pop up in some other form.

I seriously doubt it has anything to do with the cord...I don't know with 100% certainty, but my bet is if the FlashZebra cords won't work with the Sigma, neither will the Canon brand cord.


Wow, what a nice picture! You must have a really great camera!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DCMP
Member
114 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Minneapolis MN
     
May 23, 2010 13:59 as a reply to  @ Delija's post |  #29

It's only for the longer straight cords. The 3 ft ones are fine, I wonder if the Adorama 6ft will work.... I'll find out when they ship i guess!

And yeah, it's definitely the Sigma. Probably has something to do with signal strength at that length, and Sigma's ability to decipher info.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
watt100
Cream of the Crop
14,021 posts
Likes: 29
Joined Jun 2008
     
May 23, 2010 15:14 |  #30

Delija wrote in post #10230997 (external link)
Sounds like a good deal...but I wonder how strong the pull of the coils is...if (for example) - you had the cord run from your on camera hot-shoe to a light-stand 10 feet from the camera..would the light-stand (most seem to be top-heavy with flash or flash plus bracket plus umbrella) - would the coils tug at the light-stand enough so it would not be stable?

Could you share where to get one?

Peace,
D.

this is where I bought my ETTL sync cord -
TTL Off Camera FLASH Shoe Sync Cord for CANON OC-E3
http://myworld.ebay.co​m/photo-rev (external link)
http://cgi.ebay.com …ories&hash=item​3cad69535a (external link)

I've also bought from this vendor that offers different size TTL sync cords
http://myworld.ebay.co​m/jiakgong/ (external link)

at 10 feet it would exert a pull - maybe enough to pull down a light stand not weighted down! just buy a longer cord or go cordless!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,208 views & 0 likes for this thread
cord for off cam flash?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Lausti
722 guests, 412 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.