LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


T2i - how to lock both AE and FE, with flash on?

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 15 Jun 2010 (Tuesday) 00:00   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
s2kdriver80
Senior Member
Joined Jul 2009
412 posts
Long Island, New York, United States
[MORE/SHARE]

When I don't have my Speedlite (or built-in flash) activated and press the star button, I can lock ambient exposure, recompose, half-press the shutter to lock focus, then take the shot.

When I do have my Speedlite (or built-in flash) activated and press the star button, I can lock flash exposure, recompose, half-press the shutter to lock focus, then take the shot.

But what if I have the flash activated, and want to lock both ambient and flash exposures? Is this possible?

Post #1, Jun 15, 2010 00:00:23


-Paul

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
10,705 posts
Traryd, Sweden
[MORE/SHARE]

One way to accomplish this is to buy a camera with enough buttons to provide one for every function, like the 7D does. But since you now have a 550D, that's probably a bit too late.

Another option is to use One Shot AF with evaluative metering. In that case, AE lock (ambient) is implied as soon as you half-press the trigger button. But if you want to use spot metering, this doesn't work.
The last remaining option is fortunately one that often makes most sense when using a flash anyway, to set the camera to M and set the ambient exposure manually. Thus it's always locked, until you change it. FEL still works with the * button in this case.

Post #2, Jun 15, 2010 01:29:17


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
s2kdriver80
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Jul 2009
412 posts
Long Island, New York, United States
[MORE/SHARE]

apersson850 wrote in post #10364013external link
One way to accomplish this is to buy a camera with enough buttons to provide one for every function, like the 7D does. But since you now have a 550D, that's probably a bit too late.

Another option is to use One Shot AF with evaluative metering. In that case, AE lock (ambient) is implied as soon as you half-press the trigger button. But if you want to use spot metering, this doesn't work.
The last remaining option is fortunately one that often makes most sense when using a flash anyway, to set the camera to M and set the ambient exposure manually. Thus it's always locked, until you change it. FEL still works with the * button in this case.

Thanks for your feedback. I was thinking about the M mode like you said, but hoping there was a "button" solution. ;) If I go to M, hover over an area I want to meter off, set the EC so that it's 0 (assuming I don't need to compensate for midtone) with the correct aperture/shutter, then move over to recompose, I guess that's the equivalent of locking with a button, right?

Also, does being in M mode (as opposed to Av) when using ETTL flash force me to change my flash shooting? I guess the only thing I have to worry about is turning HSS on if my shutter goes faster than 250? Don't know why HSS isn't smart enough to turn on automatically.

Post #3, Jun 15, 2010 07:27:26


-Paul

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
1,789 views & 0 likes for this thread
T2i - how to lock both AE and FE, with flash on?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00088 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
754 guests, 530 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is icepicKP

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.