Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #1
s2kdriver80
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Long Island, New York, United States
Posts: 412
Question T2i - how to lock both AE and FE, with flash on?

When I don't have my Speedlite (or built-in flash) activated and press the star button, I can lock ambient exposure, recompose, half-press the shutter to lock focus, then take the shot.

When I do have my Speedlite (or built-in flash) activated and press the star button, I can lock flash exposure, recompose, half-press the shutter to lock focus, then take the shot.

But what if I have the flash activated, and want to lock both ambient and flash exposures? Is this possible?
__________________
-Paul
s2kdriver80 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #2
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
 
apersson850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
Posts: 10,539
Default Re: T2i - how to lock both AE and FE, with flash on?

One way to accomplish this is to buy a camera with enough buttons to provide one for every function, like the 7D does. But since you now have a 550D, that's probably a bit too late.

Another option is to use One Shot AF with evaluative metering. In that case, AE lock (ambient) is implied as soon as you half-press the trigger button. But if you want to use spot metering, this doesn't work.
The last remaining option is fortunately one that often makes most sense when using a flash anyway, to set the camera to M and set the ambient exposure manually. Thus it's always locked, until you change it. FEL still works with the * button in this case.
__________________
Anders
apersson850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of June 2010 (Tue)   #3
s2kdriver80
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Long Island, New York, United States
Posts: 412
Default Re: T2i - how to lock both AE and FE, with flash on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by apersson850 View Post
One way to accomplish this is to buy a camera with enough buttons to provide one for every function, like the 7D does. But since you now have a 550D, that's probably a bit too late.

Another option is to use One Shot AF with evaluative metering. In that case, AE lock (ambient) is implied as soon as you half-press the trigger button. But if you want to use spot metering, this doesn't work.
The last remaining option is fortunately one that often makes most sense when using a flash anyway, to set the camera to M and set the ambient exposure manually. Thus it's always locked, until you change it. FEL still works with the * button in this case.
Thanks for your feedback. I was thinking about the M mode like you said, but hoping there was a "button" solution. If I go to M, hover over an area I want to meter off, set the EC so that it's 0 (assuming I don't need to compensate for midtone) with the correct aperture/shutter, then move over to recompose, I guess that's the equivalent of locking with a button, right?

Also, does being in M mode (as opposed to Av) when using ETTL flash force me to change my flash shooting? I guess the only thing I have to worry about is turning HSS on if my shutter goes faster than 250? Don't know why HSS isn't smart enough to turn on automatically.
__________________
-Paul

Last edited by s2kdriver80 : 15th of June 2010 (Tue) at 07:30.
s2kdriver80 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5D: no flash after FE Lock platti Canon EOS Digital Cameras 0 5th of May 2009 (Tue) 11:56
focus lock, flash exposure lock bluesmap General Photography Talk 4 4th of December 2007 (Tue) 21:10
20D: AE Lock with pop-up flash, possible? adas Canon EOS Digital Cameras 9 6th of August 2006 (Sun) 11:20
AE Lock when using flash MrTED Canon EOS Digital Cameras 6 20th of March 2006 (Mon) 13:31
[S45]: Flash Lock gudel Small Compact Digitals by Canon 0 17th of December 2002 (Tue) 02:24


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.