Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
Thread started 03 Jan 2011 (Monday) 21:39
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

FCP Export is always lower quality than original, help?

 
Ambrose
Mostly Lurking
18 posts
Joined Jul 2010
     
Jan 03, 2011 21:39 |  #1

After searching for hours and hours multiple times I've decided to post here.

I've exported from FCP multiple times with different settings, whether it be H.264 or PNG or uncompressed I always feel my end result is worse quality than my original .mov file.

I usually transcode to Apple Prores 422 HQ, edit in FCP, then export but I always get the same result. Regardless of the file size of my export (from 100mb to 40GB today) the video is worse quality than my original files.

I did notice when I exported in Uncompressed 10bit the quality is much better, although my video is squeezed into a square.

I'm shooting with a 7D at 24p.


Canon 7D Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS I || Canon 24mm f/1.4L || Canon 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 | Canon 100mm f/2.8 | Canon 50mm f/1.8 II | Canon 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
www.ambroseny.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Chippy569
Goldmember
Avatar
1,851 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
     
Jan 03, 2011 21:45 |  #2

File -> Export using Quicktime Conversion and select Export to Quicktime Movie (.mov) -- settings I use (for 1080p Youtube) are below

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i281.photobucke​t.com …t2010-12-21at100843AM.png (external link)


PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i281.photobucke​t.com …t2010-12-21at101340AM.png (external link)


PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i281.photobucke​t.com …t2010-12-21at101251AM.png (external link)


PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i281.photobucke​t.com …t2010-12-21at101316AM.png (external link)


PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i281.photobucke​t.com …t2010-12-21at101328AM.png (external link)

Gear List
David Nichols (external link) - Sound Designer
How to export to Youtube HD from Quicktime

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
beanwz
Member
113 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Location: SF Bay Area
     
Jan 03, 2011 22:34 |  #3

i was having the same problem. thanks for the help


Gear: 60D | 24L 1.4 II | 40 2.8 STM | Fuji X-E2 | 35 1.4 | 18-55 2.8-4.0

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ambrose
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
18 posts
Joined Jul 2010
     
Jan 19, 2011 10:24 |  #4

I've used those exact settings and get some quality issues. For some reason the text stutters at the beginning as well on both vimeo and youtube.

Example: http://vimeo.com/18414​049 (external link)


Canon 7D Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS I || Canon 24mm f/1.4L || Canon 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 | Canon 100mm f/2.8 | Canon 50mm f/1.8 II | Canon 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
www.ambroseny.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
agphotography
Goldmember
Avatar
3,726 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Orange County, CA
     
Jan 19, 2011 11:18 |  #5

Also, just a tip.

You're doing yourself no favors by using ProRes HQ. Use LT, instead, the HDSLRs don't put out enough of a bitrate to support HQ yet (in my experience)

I'll look into my export setup and see if I come across any answers as well. Are you guys using FCP 6 or 7?


-Abram-
www.goglanianphoto.com (external link)
500px (external link) / Flickr (external link)
Tumblr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Chippy569
Goldmember
Avatar
1,851 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
     
Jan 19, 2011 11:38 |  #6

Ambrose wrote in post #11672104 (external link)
I've used those exact settings and get some quality issues. For some reason the text stutters at the beginning as well on both vimeo and youtube.

Example: http://vimeo.com/18414​049 (external link)

make sure check "Prepare for Internet Streaming" and select Fast Start.

Looking at your blinking text, that doesn't appear to have anything to do with your export settings, but rather whatever text generator you used. It looks like maybe you used LiveType and had a fade-in, and then copy/pasted it a bunch of times so that the fade in got duplicated?
Also, be careful using copyritten music on the internet without the rights to do so.


Gear List
David Nichols (external link) - Sound Designer
How to export to Youtube HD from Quicktime

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
agphotography
Goldmember
Avatar
3,726 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Orange County, CA
     
Jan 19, 2011 12:22 |  #7

Also, Have you thought about using Compressor to prepare a file instead? When we've uploaded files to youtube or vimeo they've always gone through compressor first as I have a preset saved with the optimal Youtube HD / Vimeo settings.


-Abram-
www.goglanianphoto.com (external link)
500px (external link) / Flickr (external link)
Tumblr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Chippy569
Goldmember
Avatar
1,851 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
     
Jan 19, 2011 13:02 |  #8

agphotography wrote in post #11672737 (external link)
Also, Have you thought about using Compressor to prepare a file instead? When we've uploaded files to youtube or vimeo they've always gone through compressor first as I have a preset saved with the optimal Youtube HD / Vimeo settings.

I like using compressor when it's like, put one version to youtube, one to dvd, one to streaming size for flash, etc. etc. but if it's just going to one final format (eg youtube) it's just as simple to use Export Using QuickTime or whatever it's called.


Gear List
David Nichols (external link) - Sound Designer
How to export to Youtube HD from Quicktime

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KyletheVideographer
Member
107 posts
Joined Jan 2011
     
Jan 19, 2011 23:43 |  #9
bannedPermanent ban

I am having the same issue with Final Cut Express, have had several one to one with the head Final cut specialist and the same issue has always come up. It has come to the point I am starting to export the video through Imovie once it is done (only publishing at 720p then).

Honestly it has been a huge let down.

I used the same settings as the guy earlier recommended.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Chippy569
Goldmember
Avatar
1,851 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
     
Jan 20, 2011 08:17 |  #10

What is the issue you are having, as I don't see it.


Gear List
David Nichols (external link) - Sound Designer
How to export to Youtube HD from Quicktime

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KyletheVideographer
Member
107 posts
Joined Jan 2011
     
Jan 20, 2011 09:17 |  #11
bannedPermanent ban

Chippy569 wrote in post #11677994 (external link)
What is the issue you are having, as I don't see it.

When the file is exporting the size is at like 450x280 or something ridiculously small. I then go in quick time conversion and change the size (back to 1920x1080) and have the same settings as listed above in the thread and the quality only comes out on youtube to 480 and looks like crap....

So I have been exporting through Imovie and it only puts it out at 720hd which sucks....




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Chippy569
Goldmember
Avatar
1,851 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
     
Jan 20, 2011 12:01 |  #12

9 times out of 10 no one on youtube will notice between 1080 and 720, and many people with not-so-fast internet prefer the 720 or 480 just for the faster load times. Just food for thought. ;)

But you must be doing something wrong because those are the exact settings I use to get 1080 on youtube.


Gear List
David Nichols (external link) - Sound Designer
How to export to Youtube HD from Quicktime

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KyletheVideographer
Member
107 posts
Joined Jan 2011
     
Jan 20, 2011 12:07 |  #13
bannedPermanent ban

Chippy569 wrote in post #11679160 (external link)
9 times out of 10 no one on youtube will notice between 1080 and 720, and many people with not-so-fast internet prefer the 720 or 480 just for the faster load times. Just food for thought. ;)

But you must be doing something wrong because those are the exact settings I use to get 1080 on youtube.

I have done it myself and with the chief editor consultant at the Apple store I go to (like 7 people in house that teach final cut and I worked with the so called Guru, lol)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Chippy569
Goldmember
Avatar
1,851 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
     
Jan 20, 2011 12:36 |  #14

KyletheVideographer wrote in post #11678222 (external link)
When the file is exporting the size is at like 450x280 or something ridiculously small.

This is probably the "Compressor Native" setting, which is by default the size of your viewer window.

I then go in quick time conversion and change the size (back to 1920x1080) and have the same settings as listed above in the thread and the quality only comes out on youtube to 480 and looks like crap....

Are you waiting until Youtube finishes processing? It usually takes an hour or two after the upload has finished for the processing to also finish. Before then, your video will be available but at a very small bitrate so it looks trashy. If it hasn't finished processing, it will put a green bar above the video window that says "This movie is still processing" or whatever.


Gear List
David Nichols (external link) - Sound Designer
How to export to Youtube HD from Quicktime

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Chippy569
Goldmember
Avatar
1,851 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
     
Jan 20, 2011 12:42 |  #15

Ambrose wrote in post #11672104 (external link)
I've used those exact settings and get some quality issues. For some reason the text stutters at the beginning as well on both vimeo and youtube.

Example: http://vimeo.com/18414​049 (external link)

Hey, I dug your video up on Youtube as well to have a look. http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=vZObwEOJFco (external link) -- looks pretty interesting to say the least!

Just out of curiosity, do you have the original file on your computer still? If so, try playing it with Quicktime (or whatever media player you have) -- is the text stutter in the original file? I suspect not because Vimeo and Youtube have acted differently.

These weird glitches that usually occur in the first ~10 seconds are usually caused either by not selecting "Prepare for Fast Start" or by having the wrong container. Double-check that you are exporting to Quicktime Movie (.mov) and that you are using H.264 compression.


Gear List
David Nichols (external link) - Sound Designer
How to export to Youtube HD from Quicktime

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,643 views & 0 likes for this thread
FCP Export is always lower quality than original, help?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is TeMontri
710 guests, 375 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.