![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
El General Moderator
|
It has come to our attention that some users have been sent a PM (private messages) containing a fake link (impersonating normal link to POTN forum page) to a phishing page, trying to get people's passwords. The spammer is now banned and PM messages deleted, but we would like you to remember:
Always check that when you type your forum password, the URL in browser address bar starts with http://photography-on-the.net/forum/... If there is something else there please notify us ASAP. Thanks!
__________________
This signature signifies my significance significantly Photo Gallery ---------------------------- |
|
|
| sponsored links |
|
|
#2 |
|
Member
|
Just thought I would let you know I received an email (in the account I have linked to my 'User CP') from a spammer which included the following link:
http://cashdirect.weebly.com/ The email stated I had rec'd a PM but when I checked my inbox at my User CP there was no message there. I hope something can be done to block any further activity by this (and any other) spammer/s. Thanks, Daz
__________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/d_kent/ All Ansel Adams quotes are currently in use. Please try again later. |
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
The Admin Dane"Nobody is safe!"
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.
Posts: 20,610
|
Unfortunately we cannot prevent spammers from using pm's to send such links. But as soon as members report such pm's to us the spammer will be banned and all pm's sent by that member is deleted. And thats the explanation why you did not have any pm's when you checked.
__________________
Best Regards Tommy My Photos -=- about.me -=- My Facebook, if you add me please send me a pm also GAPS Africa I 2007 photos -=- GAPS Africa II 2008 photos -=- GAPS Africa IV 2011 photos -=- GAPS = Great African Photo Safari My marketplace feedback click here. IMPORTANT: Image posting rules updated - please read. "PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED." |
|
|
| sponsored links |
|
|
#4 |
|
Member
|
Thanks.
Daz
__________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/d_kent/ All Ansel Adams quotes are currently in use. Please try again later. |
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
|
I got a strange email today from POTN coming from this email address:
Canon Digital Photography Forums [webmaster@photography-on-the.net] The link in the message that says it takes you back to POTN so you can view your private message actually does take you back to this address, but there is no private message waiting (my inbox was empty): http://photography-on-the.net/forum/private.php The email though (underneath all this) does advertise making money with your camera and signed by someone calling themselves "Stephen". I don't really get the purpose. Just thought I give you a heads up that someone appears to be doing some spamming. PS: The website link associated with the SPAM email I got was to: http://www.digicamcash.net.tc The strange thing I wondered about is how does this person get email addresses from POTN members and then send out a message that uses all the POTN ID's? I'm familiar with Phishing, but this email did not do any redirect to another website. It connects right back here and has every appearance of coming direct from POTN. Last edited by 40Doodle : 9th of August 2009 (Sun) at 10:02. Reason: Added information. |
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
El General Moderator
|
40Doodle, you have got PM receipt of spam PM, PM was deleted and sender banned before you logged again in POTN - so the message was not there any more.
__________________
This signature signifies my significance significantly Photo Gallery ---------------------------- |
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
|
OK, thanks...I was wondering what happened to the PM and am certainly happy that you were on top of it and had already removed the SPAM.
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego CA Area
Posts: 49
|
I was spammed by this Dbag
WalAllieo763
__________________
Nick Morris The Image Group Photography imagegroupphoto@gmail.com www.theimagegroupphotography.com 760.815.1881 |
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 7
|
I just got an email saying I had a PM from this guy - FloJamauu937
Im sure more spam, just wanted to inform the mods
__________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/jragland/collections/ ---------------------------------------------------------- DSLR - Canon Rebel XSi/450D w/ 18-55mm Kit Lens (x-mas gift 2008!) Point & Shoot - Canon SD630 - about to die, has been a good companion |
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
The Admin Dane"Nobody is safe!"
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.
Posts: 20,610
|
We are working on it.
__________________
Best Regards Tommy My Photos -=- about.me -=- My Facebook, if you add me please send me a pm also GAPS Africa I 2007 photos -=- GAPS Africa II 2008 photos -=- GAPS Africa IV 2011 photos -=- GAPS = Great African Photo Safari My marketplace feedback click here. IMPORTANT: Image posting rules updated - please read. "PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED." |
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: N.Yorkshire, England. U.K.
Posts: 24
|
As a new member, just a few days, I already received email from a "Banned" member". Not only that but having asked a ? I received two kind replies but now I'm unable to respond - as my log in, even when confirmed, asks me again to "Log in". I don't understand why I have to go through such a complex ritual just to get in touch. All of which makes me suspicious of this site. Well please, you "Canon Digital Photography" people, I think a reasonable explanation is in order. Rodeo.
|
|
|
|
|
#12 | |
|
El General Moderator
|
Quote:
If you have trouble logging in, make sure you have cookies enabled and firewall or some other security suite you use does not delete them automatically.
__________________
This signature signifies my significance significantly Photo Gallery ---------------------------- |
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
The Admin Dane"Nobody is safe!"
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.
Posts: 20,610
|
Just thougth I would bump this to remind everybody to check links in received pm's before clicking on them.
__________________
Best Regards Tommy My Photos -=- about.me -=- My Facebook, if you add me please send me a pm also GAPS Africa I 2007 photos -=- GAPS Africa II 2008 photos -=- GAPS Africa IV 2011 photos -=- GAPS = Great African Photo Safari My marketplace feedback click here. IMPORTANT: Image posting rules updated - please read. "PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED." |
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Beware someone has been phishing. | Box Brownie | The POTN Lounge | 32 | 7th of August 2007 (Tue) 12:56 |
| Paypal Phishing | airshaq20 | The POTN Lounge | 26 | 31st of March 2007 (Sat) 21:51 |
| EE hacked for phishing ?? | neil_r | Version 1.0-1.5 discussion | 5 | 21st of June 2006 (Wed) 09:01 |
| Phishing | Citizensmith | The POTN Lounge | 13 | 19th of March 2005 (Sat) 18:43 |