Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing > HDR
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th of August 2009 (Sun)   #1
Scottes
Trigger Man - POTN Retired
 
Scottes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: A Little North Of Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 12,841
Default Review: Promote Control advanced remote shutter control

You HDR fanatics might be interested in my review of the Promote Control remote shutter device. It's extremely handy for HDR...

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...d.php?t=739209
__________________
You can take my 100-400 L away when you pry it from my cold, dead fingers.

Scottes' Rum Pages - Rum Reviews And Info
Follower of Fidget - Joined the cult of HAMSTTR
Scottes is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 16th of August 2009 (Sun)   #2
skydiver_8
Member
 
skydiver_8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 362
Default Re: Review: Promote Control advanced remote shutter control

Wow...excellent review! I checked out the links from your review as well and this seems like something for my Christmas Wish List. I can't wait to see some of your night pics using this.
skydiver_8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of August 2009 (Tue)   #3
24alpha
Senior Member
 
24alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,004
Default Re: Review: Promote Control advanced remote shutter control

Pffffttt....$300US! Don't be lazy do it manually.
24alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 24th of July 2011 (Sun)   #4
Simon_Gardner
Senior Member
 
Simon_Gardner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Twitter @Simon_Gardner
Posts: 1,269
Default Re: Review: Promote Control advanced remote shutter control

A weird thing about the Promote Remote is that it doesn't appear to force the output of the relevant exposure "bracketing" information in the EXIF data like internal camera bracketing does (how could it?). the result is that HDR software hasn't much of a clue how much each frame is 'off' from the nominal ideal or what the correct sequence is. So the result is you have to input each EV by hand - at least I do so far - which gets a bit tedious. Whereas images produced from (say) three internally bracketed exposures slot right in to the HDR software like a dream.
__________________
 Since 27 Nov 1987 | Tripod fetishist - moi?
Simon_Gardner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Review: Promote Control advanced remote shutter control Scottes Accessories & Storage 21 4th of January 2012 (Wed) 15:52
Advanced Remote Control for Digital Cameras tonybear007 Accessories & Storage 6 1st of July 2009 (Wed) 22:31
Remote Shutter/Control bomberman Accessories & Storage 2 10th of June 2008 (Tue) 12:38
Nokia Hands-free Remote Control as a Remote Shutter Release 4walls Canon EOS Digital Cameras 0 28th of March 2004 (Sun) 20:52


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.