Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos HDR Creation
Thread started 16 Aug 2009 (Sunday) 18:50
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Review: Promote Control advanced remote shutter control

 
Scottes
Trigger Man - POTN Retired
Scottes's Avatar
12,842 posts
Joined Nov 2003
A Little North Of Boston, MA, USA
Aug 16, 2009 18:50 |  #1

You HDR fanatics might be interested in my review of the Promote Control remote shutter device. It's extremely handy for HDR...

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=739209


You can take my 100-400 L away when you pry it from my cold, dead fingers.
Scottes' Rum Pages - Rum Reviews And Infoexternal link
Follower of Fidget - Joined the cult of HAMSTTR©

LOG IN TO REPLY
skydiver_8
Senior Member
skydiver_8's Avatar
362 posts
Joined May 2009
Aug 16, 2009 23:37 |  #2

Wow...excellent review! I checked out the links from your review as well and this seems like something for my Christmas Wish List. I can't wait to see some of your night pics using this.


===============

What if the Hokey Pokey is really what it's all about?

LOG IN TO REPLY
24alpha
Goldmember
24alpha's Avatar
1,031 posts
Joined Sep 2007
Melbourne, Australia
Aug 18, 2009 04:06 |  #3

Pffffttt....$300US! Don't be lazy do it manually.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Simon_Gardner
Goldmember
Simon_Gardner's Avatar
1,301 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Twitter @Simon_Gardner
Jul 24, 2011 11:20 |  #4

A weird thing about the Promote Remote is that it doesn't appear to force the output of the relevant exposure "bracketing" information in the EXIF data like internal camera bracketing does (how could it?). the result is that HDR software hasn't much of a clue how much each frame is 'off' from the nominal ideal or what the correct sequence is. So the result is you have to input each EV by hand - at least I do so far - which gets a bit tedious. Whereas images produced from (say) three internally bracketed exposures slot right in to the HDR software like a dream.


@Simon_Gardner | Since 27 Nov 1987 | Tripod fetishist - moi?

LOG IN TO REPLY

1,981 views & 0 likes for this thread
Review: Promote Control advanced remote shutter control
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos HDR Creation


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00152 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
Latest registered member is FFFCFF
960 guests, 372 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016