Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > Macro Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th of October 2011 (Wed)   #1
wendyandrob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default Background and Macro

Hi There,

Just wondering if anyone can help. I am no photographer but have purchased an olympus Optical zoom camera with enhanced macro to take pictures for my website which consists of very small objects. I can get the picture perfect and detailed but it changes the background colour depending on what colour the object is.
So I have the background set up as a pale blue if the object is white it seems to adjust the background darker, and lightens it for black. Is this down to a setting on the camera?
I want the background all the same.
Have tried in natural light and with a Light box same results. i am sure you guys will tell me its something silly?

Thanks in Advance
wendyandrob is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 12th of October 2011 (Wed)   #2
dubstylz
Member
 
dubstylz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: west sussex, UK
Posts: 488
Default Re: Background and Macro

Hi, im not too sure about this and im sure someone will give a nicely detailed answer but im wondering if its something to do with white ballance, try setting a manual or custom white ballance, im thinking this might stop the colour shift.
__________________
Mark
dubstylz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th of October 2011 (Wed)   #3
wendyandrob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: Background and Macro

Thanks for your help , have tried all the wb settings and it seems to adjust the background on all of them, so very odd. Perhaps I need to take up flower arranging
wendyandrob is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 12th of October 2011 (Wed)   #4
N.V.M.
Senior Member
 
N.V.M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Vancouver,Canada
Posts: 1,881
Default Re: Background and Macro

posting examples would help a lot.
N.V.M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of October 2011 (Thu)   #5
LordV
Macro Photo-Lord of the Year 2006
 
LordV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Worthing UK
Posts: 51,542
Default Re: Background and Macro

Suspect this may just be down to exposure levels. Cameras expect a picture to average out as an 18% greyscale with macro you often get very large areas of either subject or background or both that are either brighter or darker than 18% greyscale. In these circumstances the camera will underexpose a bright one and overexpose a dark one. So when you are taking the pics the easiest thing to do is to adjust the exposure compensation (EC) assuming your camera has this function. You raise the EC with bright pictures and lower the EC with dark ones.
If you can find EC on your camera, set up one of your pale subjects/backgrounds as in the first example and try adding from + .66 to +1.33 EC or the reverse with a dark background eg -.66EC
Brian v.
__________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/lordv/
http://www.lordv.smugmug.com/
Macro Hints and tips
Canon 600D, Canon 40D, Canon 5D mk2, Tamron 90mm macro, Canon MPE-65,18-55 kit lens X2, canon 200mm F2.8 L, Tamron 28-70mm xrdi, Other assorted bits
LordV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of October 2011 (Thu)   #6
wendyandrob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: Background and Macro

Cant figure out how to get examples up it asks for a URL. (I am blond!)
I am going to mess with exposures and see if that makes a difference, your all so helpful
wendyandrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of October 2011 (Thu)   #7
AtomHeart
Member
 
AtomHeart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 483
Default Re: Background and Macro

I think if you're photographing in a controlled environment with the same lighting each time, the best method is to find the correct exposure for that setting, then set the camera to manual with those same shutter and f-stop values. Then you can change your background and subjects to your hearts content. If it is not a controlled environment and you need the camera to determine exposure for you each time, then get a good feel for setting the right amount of exposure compensation. Remember it's counter-intuitive. You want brighter for white objects, and darker for black ones.
__________________
Canon EOS 7D | Battery Grip | EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS | EF 70-200mm f/4L IS | 420EX Speedlight | MP-E 65mm f/2.8 Macro | MT-24 EX | Stackshot Focusing Rail

"The feeling -- that's the point." -moltengold

Last edited by AtomHeart : 13th of October 2011 (Thu) at 09:53.
AtomHeart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of October 2011 (Fri)   #8
Lester Wareham
Moderator
 
Lester Wareham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dazed and Confused - Hampshire UK
Posts: 19,005
Default Re: Background and Macro

Are you using auto white balance?, that can cause that sort of effect. Try setting the white balance to daylight or flash as appropriate if so.
__________________
My Photography Home Page RSS Feed
MP-E, EF 100mm, EF 180mm : The Macro Dark Unholy Trinity : Bow down before their darkness and despair!
Gear List
FAQ on UV and Clear Protective Filters
Macrophotography by LordV
Lester Wareham is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Macro - Background help mjHession Macro Talk 3 2nd of July 2011 (Sat) 09:06
First Macro - Background help mjHession Macro 1 26th of June 2011 (Sun) 20:17
How To Take Macro With Black Background julyfish Macro 8 6th of December 2010 (Mon) 12:59
Background and lighting in Macro mr.white Macro 6 3rd of March 2010 (Wed) 06:17
macro base/background jkaufman Macro 1 24th of December 2006 (Sun) 15:06


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.