Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 28 Feb 2012 (Tuesday) 17:42
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

a persistent problem that I have with RAW processing ... advice needed

 
valaea
Hatchling
Avatar
8 posts
Joined Jun 2011
     
Feb 28, 2012 17:42 |  #1

I shoot on a 5D2 in both RAW and JPEG formats, usually with a 'landscape' camera profile for the JPEG, but then I alter the RAW file in whichever way works best (usually still 'landscape', or 'neutral' for B+W, etc.)

However, I have a problem; with most photos (not all photos ... oddly), the RAW file with added 'landscape' profile does NOT even vaguely match the JPEG (which had 'landscape' profile built in). The RAW file looks weirdly desaturated and data-loss-esque, even when I tweak contrast/saturation/vi​brance/curves and apply different camera profiles. Some data is somehow being lost when I open the RAW file in Photoshop CS5, and I can't figure out how/why.

[In fact, there's even an issue of opening JPEGs in CS5; at times, even the JPEG will look "lossy" in the same way, though when I open it in any other program, it looks fine.]

Does this maybe have something to do with the color space? RGB versus Adobe RGB? Is there a trick that I'm missing? My 5D2 firmware is up to date, to the best of my knowledge ...

Examples (and remember, the JPEGs created from the RAW file have the 'landscape' profile applied, these aren't 'raw' RAW files):


JPEG from RAW:
http://www.flickr.com …6939605885/in/p​hotostream (external link)

JPEG:
http://www.flickr.com …6793492636/in/p​hotostream (external link)

JPEG from RAW:
http://www.flickr.com …6793493192/in/p​hotostream (external link)

JPEG:
http://www.flickr.com …6793492930/in/p​hotostream (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Nightstalker
Goldmember
1,666 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Feb 2007
Location: North West UK
     
Feb 28, 2012 18:23 |  #2

What software are you using for RAW conversion?

What colour space is your camera set to.

Is your computer / monitor calibrated and what monitor do you have?


  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dan ­ Marchant
Goldmember
Avatar
4,860 posts
Gallery: 18 photos
Likes: 1173
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Where I'm from is unimportant, it's where I'm going that counts.
     
Feb 28, 2012 18:36 |  #3

valaea wrote in post #13985885 (external link)
However, I have a problem; with most photos (not all photos ... oddly), the RAW file with added 'landscape' profile does NOT even vaguely match the JPEG (which had 'landscape' profile built in). The RAW file looks weirdly desaturated and data-loss-esque, even when I tweak contrast/saturation/vi​brance/curves and apply different camera profiles. Some data is somehow being lost when I open the RAW file in Photoshop CS5, and I can't figure out how/why.

Actually your brain is just fooling you on those occassions when you think the RAW file is the same as the applied setting (or the applied setting is minimal in nature).

In camera profiles have no effect on RAW files. They are only used to tell the camera how to display/process JPEG files. To show this set your camera to monochrome (as it is very easy to see if this style is being applied or not) then take one photo in JPEG format and another in RAW. Open both images in Photoshop and the JPEG will be in monochrome, while the RAW will be in colour. This is because the camera has discarded all the colour data for the JPEG file because you told it you wanted the image in monochrome. However, it keeps the all the data for the RAW file because that is the point of RAW files. They have all the raw data so you can decide how to precess later or can do multiple versions with different processing.

The only exceptions to this are when you open a RAW file in the camera makers own RAW processing software. This will often apply the in-camera style to the RAW as the default. However unlike JPEG these are not permanent changes and you can still change these settings to alter the processing because the RAW file still has all the data.


Dan Marchant
Website/blog: danmarchant.com (external link)
Instagram: @dan_marchant (external link)
Gear Canon 5DIII + Fuji X-T2 + lenses + a plastic widget I found in the camera box.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,908 posts
Likes: 328
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Feb 28, 2012 18:46 |  #4

What Dan said is correct. If you want your image to look like what you see on the back of the camera, use DPP.

Read this book (external link), it has a lot of theory about RAW files and how to process them.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
valaea
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Avatar
8 posts
Joined Jun 2011
     
Feb 28, 2012 18:51 |  #5

Nightstalker wrote in post #13986139 (external link)
What software are you using for RAW conversion?

What colour space is your camera set to.

Is your computer / monitor calibrated and what monitor do you have?


Photoshop CS5.1

sRGB

laptop monitor, calibrated it a while back ... the weird differences seem to show up on all monitors though

Dan Marchant wrote in post #13986229 (external link)
Actually your brain is just fooling you on those occassions when you think the RAW file is the same as the applied setting (or the applied setting is minimal in nature).

interesting ...

In camera profiles have no effect on RAW files. They are only used to tell the camera how to display/process JPEG files. To show this set your camera to monochrome (as it is very easy to see if this style is being applied or not) then take one photo in JPEG format and another in RAW. Open both images in Photoshop and the JPEG will be in monochrome, while the RAW will be in colour. This is because the camera has discarded all the colour data for the JPEG file because you told it you wanted the image in monochrome. However, it keeps the all the data for the RAW file because that is the point of RAW files. They have all the raw data so you can decide how to precess later or can do multiple versions with different processing.

right, I mean that I'm applying the camera profile while editing in RAW within Photoshop itself. For both Nikon and Canon cameras, CS5.1 has built-in camera profiles which (supposedly) match the camera preset processing. Just as the JPEG automatically 'processes' the file in a certain way, CS5.1 can use apply the exact same processing (supposedly) as the 5D2 used on the original JPEG.


The only exceptions to this are when you open a RAW file in the camera makers own RAW processing software. This will often apply the in-camera style to the RAW as the default. However unlike JPEG these are not permanent changes and you can still change these settings to alter the processing because the RAW file still has all the data.

Does Canon have special RAW processing software? The RAW files are CR2 and CS5.1 seems to have no problem with processing them ...

In any event, I feared that my question would be misinterpreted; I'm aware that RAW files have no processing applied to them normally. My point is that when I use CS5.1 to apply the same "JPEG" processing to the RAW photo that my camera applied (CS5.1 uses the same presets that the 5D2 used to create the JPEG), the photo looks horrendous. It takes a huge amount of ingenuity and adjusting levels/curves in ten different sub-menus just to get the RAW file's processing up to the basic mediocre standard of the JPEG created by the 5D2.

Is the problem perhaps that the CS5.1 camera presets (in the drop-down menu in RAW processing) aren't actually equivalent to the 5D2 camera presets? Everything I've read about CS5.1 claims that if you apply the presets in RAW, it should match your JPEG; but it's nowhere close (again, see the example photos). There's always a "lossy" aspect to the RAW file, and my workarounds just make it look off.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
valaea
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Avatar
8 posts
Joined Jun 2011
     
Feb 28, 2012 18:54 |  #6

tim wrote in post #13986291 (external link)
What Dan said is correct. If you want your image to look like what you see on the back of the camera, use DPP.

interesting, would DPP solve the issue? I guess I trusted in Adobe way too much ... I figured that they would have incorporated the Canon/Nikon camera profiles flawlessly into CS5.1, but, maybe not? I guess I don't really think of Adobe as "third-party software".




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BigBoosting
Member
105 posts
Joined Feb 2012
     
Feb 28, 2012 19:41 |  #7

I have CS5.1 if you want me to try a set of original jpg and raw images that you've had an issue with before. I've never noticed an issue with mine, and I guess theoretically it could be a software issue.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,908 posts
Likes: 328
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Feb 28, 2012 19:51 |  #8

valaea wrote in post #13986345 (external link)
interesting, would DPP solve the issue? I guess I trusted in Adobe way too much ... I figured that they would have incorporated the Canon/Nikon camera profiles flawlessly into CS5.1, but, maybe not? I guess I don't really think of Adobe as "third-party software".

What issue? The only issue I see is you not understanding your tools. There's a chance you have a color profile issue too.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,637 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 513
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Feb 28, 2012 20:53 |  #9

valaea wrote in post #13986345 (external link)
interesting, would DPP solve the issue? I guess I trusted in Adobe way too much ... I figured that they would have incorporated the Canon/Nikon camera profiles flawlessly into CS5.1, but, maybe not? I guess I don't really think of Adobe as "third-party software".

I'll chime in!

As to the Adobe profiles matching your jpegs, no...Adobe profiles to apply some under-the-hood processing, yes, and they are designed to "approximate" a Picture Style but, at least from what I've seen, tend to be a bit muted. Adobe expects and lets us do the "fine tuning" of things, things like Fill, Blacks, Recovery, Contrast, Saturation, Vibrance and Clarity are all powerful tools for adjusting your photo "global" settings that can go beyond what the Profiles give you and you aren't second-guessed as to what you "want" (which can happen with a Picture Style such as Landscape, etc.

As has been mentioned, the Canon Raw software Digital Photo Professional (DPP) does "read" and use the camera Picture Style to give you a preview that can be a good "starting point" but that you can with Raw change around and tweak in ways that you can't with a jpeg.

For that reason I strongly recommend that people who are starting out with shooting Raw or who are having difficulties like you are having (quite common, BTW) install and use DPP, even if you want to still use Photoshop. Yes the Photoshop Camera Raw plug-in has some great tools that can go beyond the abilities of DPP, but DPP is worth at least working with on the side for comparison and reference for the Picture Style feature alone.

As others have mentioned it sounds like you may have some other issues as well -- please take some time to read these two "stickies" on color problems and color management:

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=296149

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=707058

After you've read them and tried to absorb as much as you can, chime in here and update us!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,403 posts
Likes: 169
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Feb 29, 2012 01:17 |  #10

CS5.1 has built-in camera profiles which (supposedly) match the camera preset processing.

I figured that they would have incorporated the Canon/Nikon camera profiles flawlessly into CS5.1

That is your primary misconception. It's a difference in philosophy really; the camera produces jpgs for people who don't want to do any further processing, or at least very little. The jpg has to be, therefore, a finished product. DPP emulates camera processing, so it also defaults to a finished product, although you can overrule its defaults and change the processing. PSCS/ACR assumes that its customers want to do their own custom processing, otherwise they wouldn't have shelled out the big bucks. The program, therefore, has defaults that provide a good starting point from which you can go in many directions, a less highly processed starting place.

A camera/DPP Picture Style is more than just a camera profile. A profile is nothing more than a generic mathematical model that describes how a particular camera perceives and records colors. This enables the converter to translate the numbers in the RAW file into numbers in a standardized color space. As well as the profile the P.S. contains additional processing instructions regarding contrast, saturation and sharpness - all that is needed to produce what the design team in Tokyo thinks will please you. PS's Camera DNG Profile is nothing more than the simple profile alone (slight exaggeration, it's not so simple). It is accompanied by Adobe's moderate defaults and the burden of moving on from there is on you.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
valaea
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Avatar
8 posts
Joined Jun 2011
     
Feb 29, 2012 02:07 |  #11

tim wrote in post #13986737 (external link)
What issue? The only issue I see is you not understanding your tools.

thanks for your contribution!

tonylong wrote in post #13987105 (external link)
I'll chime in!
As to the Adobe profiles matching your jpegs, no...Adobe profiles to apply some under-the-hood processing, yes, and they are designed to "approximate" a Picture Style but, at least from what I've seen, tend to be a bit muted. Adobe expects and lets us do the "fine tuning" of things, things like Fill, Blacks, Recovery, Contrast, Saturation, Vibrance and Clarity are all powerful tools for adjusting your photo "global" settings that can go beyond what the Profiles give you and you aren't second-guessed as to what you "want" (which can happen with a Picture Style such as Landscape, etc.

ah, I see; indeed, I can get roughly what I want after tweaking the RAW file for an hour ... I suppose I just thought it would be more straightforward to start with the in-camera JPEG processing as a sort of 'baseline' from which to do the RAW editing more quickly.

And I'll definitely look into DPP; I think I actually have it on my hard drive somewhere ...

I'll read those two threads, as well; I figured out color/calibration a while ago but perhaps I missed something ...


tzalman wrote in post #13988451 (external link)
PSCS/ACR assumes that its customers want to do their own custom processing, otherwise they wouldn't have shelled out the big bucks. The program, therefore, has defaults that provide a good starting point from which you can go in many directions, a less highly processed starting place.

Well, this has been very informative; I had mistakenly assumed that Adobe would give the option for "very processed" under the camera profiles in RAW, but apparently it's far less highly processed, as you noted. I suppose this just means that I'll have to spend more time in RAW than I had planned initially ... I can usually get the final result that I want but just hoped for fewer processing steps (in some cases it would be easier to start with JPEG-esque processing as a baseline, in other words).




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,403 posts
Likes: 169
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Feb 29, 2012 04:27 |  #12

Well, this has been very informative; I had mistakenly assumed that Adobe would give the option for "very processed" under the camera profiles in RAW, but apparently it's far less highly processed, as you noted. I suppose this just means that I'll have to spend more time in RAW than I had planned initially ... I can usually get the final result that I want but just hoped for fewer processing steps (in some cases it would be easier to start with JPEG-esque processing as a baseline, in other words).

Actually, Adobe has provided for the possibility that some users will want to speed up processing, start at a different point, or recreate camera processing with two different options. First, it is very easy to create your own set of custom defaults. In LR you can even have different default sets for different cameras or different ISOs. (I don't know if this is true of ACR also.) Second there is the preset, a collection of multiple slider positions applied with one click. There are presets from Adobe and hundreds of presets from users, most free and some for money. Matt Kloskowski has a set of Canon Picture Style presets that are pretty close. http://forums.dpreview​.com …rum=1006&messag​e=33598894 (external link) And, of course, you can make your own presets.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
5,546 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
     
Feb 29, 2012 06:12 |  #13

tzalman wrote in post #13988826 (external link)
.... In LR you can even have different default sets for different cameras or different ISOs. (I don't know if this is true of ACR also.)...

Works the same in Lightroom and ACR. The options to select default Camera profiles (by ISO or camera serial number) are immediately transferred between the applications so any settings made in Lightroom are shared in ACR and vice versa. The only difference is Lightroom presets and ACR presets aren't interchangeable but there used to be an app called LR2ACR Converter that translated Lightroom presets into xmp presets for use in ACR.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
valaea
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Avatar
8 posts
Joined Jun 2011
     
Feb 29, 2012 12:29 |  #14

tzalman wrote in post #13988826 (external link)
Actually, Adobe has provided for the possibility that some users will want to speed up processing, start at a different point, or recreate camera processing with two different options. First, it is very easy to create your own set of custom defaults. In LR you can even have different default sets for different cameras or different ISOs. (I don't know if this is true of ACR also.) Second there is the preset, a collection of multiple slider positions applied with one click. There are presets from Adobe and hundreds of presets from users, most free and some for money. Matt Kloskowski has a set of Canon Picture Style presets that are pretty close. http://forums.dpreview​.com …rum=1006&messag​e=33598894 (external link) And, of course, you can make your own presets.


Wow, this is extremely helpful ... I knew about making my own presets but had no clue that someone had already come up with custom Canon Picture Style presets. Thanks




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,496 views & 0 likes for this thread
a persistent problem that I have with RAW processing ... advice needed
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is photographyman
696 guests, 424 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.