Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 13 Apr 2012 (Friday) 23:15
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Lightroom 4 NR Slowdown

 
drisley
"What a Tool I am"
drisley's Avatar
8,858 posts
Joined Nov 2002
Apr 13, 2012 23:15 |  #1

I notice an issue with LR4 on W7 -64 that wasn't there with LR3.

Things are fast, but when you turn on any Luminance NR, slider controls are very slow to respond. You can change say the WB, and it takes about 3-4 seconds for the window to update. With no NR turned on, changes are instant.


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
drisley's Avatar
8,858 posts
Joined Nov 2002
Apr 13, 2012 23:17 |  #2

I should add this is only a problem when using Raw images with the new 2012 colour process of LR4. Even exporting takes about 2-3 times longer to process the Raw image.


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
Titus213
Cream of the Crop
Titus213's Avatar
19,400 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Joined Feb 2005
Kalama, WA USA
Apr 13, 2012 23:41 |  #3

If it's any help I'm not seeing this issue. I am on an iMac i7 with 12 gig of memory and processing Canon 7D raw images. Seems at least as fast as LR3.6.

I seem to always end up in dark areas using high iso and still being dark so I'm using NR in LR4. And it works wonders.


Dave
Perspiring photographer.
Visit NorwoodPhotos.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
RichSoansPhotos
Cream of the Crop
5,981 posts
Joined Aug 2007
London, UK
Apr 14, 2012 04:50 |  #4
banned

I'm seeing the issue with all the sliders




LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
tzalman's Avatar
13,360 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Gesher Haziv, Israel
Apr 14, 2012 06:37 |  #5

I'm not home now to experiment, but I may not have been aware of the problem because I have my defaults set to 5 units of Luminance NR for all ISOs (because Sharpening is at 50% Detail). I will try putting it to 0 to see what effect that has, although I haven't really had a problem of slider lag.

One solution, if you do have a problem, would be to leave NR to the end of your workflow. Same might be true of Lens Correction which like NR is resource intensive.


Elie / אלי

LOG IN TO REPLY
Preeb
Goldmember
Preeb's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
Logan County, CO
Apr 14, 2012 11:55 as a reply to tzalman's post |  #6

I've found that the slider lagginess is greatly reduced or eliminated by turning off the filmstrip at the bottom of the screen. Just click the little arrow to open or close it as needed, then edit with it closed. I haven't tested it specifically with NR applied.


Rick
60D - EF-S 10-22 f3.5-f4.5 -- EF-S 17-55 f2.8 IS -- EF-S 60mm f2.8 Macro -- EF 100mm f2.8 L IS Macro -- EF 70-200 f4 L IS w/1.4 II TC

LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
drisley's Avatar
8,858 posts
Joined Nov 2002
Apr 14, 2012 15:06 |  #7

I have filmstrip mode turned off already, but I did some googling and this seems to be an issue at Adobe Forums. Even people with newer computers and 8-12GB of memory notice the lag. APPARENTLY Adobe is supposed to be working to fix this with an update, the 4.1 RC some say helps somewhat already. It's definitely related to the new LR4 2012 Process more than the NR it seems (since NR doesn't slow things down using the old 2010 Process from LR3).


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
EloquentPixels
Member
63 posts
Joined Feb 2007
Vancouver, B.C.
Apr 14, 2012 18:57 as a reply to drisley's post |  #8

LR4 is significantly slower than 3.6.
One thing that helped somewhat was to raise the priority of the lightroom.exe process.
The slowness is quite strange to me because CPU usage is under 20%, ditto for memory usage, and HD throughput is also really low. No resources seem to be maxed out.


www.eloquentpixels.comexternal link
http://500px.com/eloqu​entpixelsexternal link
http://eloquentpixels.​blogspot.com/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
drisley's Avatar
8,858 posts
Joined Nov 2002
Apr 15, 2012 01:03 |  #9

For me I do notice LR4 CPU usage does go up quite a bit when using the 2012 process, nearly 100% on a a dual CPU and about 1GB of memory gets eaten up vs maybe a few hundred with LR3 (I think).


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
renlok
Member
249 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Perth, Australia
Apr 15, 2012 02:55 |  #10

I've notice a big speed difference between 3 and 4.
In 4 when in develop mode, every 5-10seconds I get the spinning wheel when trying to make changes. First noticed it when trying to do spot removal, and every 1 or 2 spots it will load and ill have to wait.
Really becoming a pain.
Im on a 2011 MBA I7 13". didnt have any issues with LR3.


Renlokexternal link | G+external link
Canon 70D | Canon 5D MKii | 35L | Sigma 24-105 | 100L | 85 | Sigma 150-500

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
tonylong's Avatar
54,587 posts
Gallery: 55 photos
Joined Sep 2007
Vancouver, WA USA
Apr 15, 2012 03:03 |  #11

Did you report it on the Adobe site?


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
tzalman's Avatar
13,360 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Gesher Haziv, Israel
Apr 15, 2012 05:53 |  #12

I must be one of the lucky ones. Running 4.1RC I have no problems with speed. All the sliders react quickly and that is with the filmstrip open, +5 on Luminance NR and Lens Correction enabled. With those things closed changes are instantaneous. The only place where I have to wait is with the Spot/Healing tool, where it takes two seconds for the second circle to open and the clone to be applied. If I drag the circle to a new location, it's about seven seconds to do the new clone. As I close the functions mentioned above it gets progressively faster until a new spot is immediate and a dragged spot takes about three seconds to redraw. I have Windows 7 64 bit with 8 GB memory and an additional 4 GB of Ready Boost memory, but with LR4 running alone RAM usage never gets up to much more than 3GB (system + LR). CPU (i7) usage might go up to 50% for a couple seconds, but the only time I have ever seen it go to 100% is while writing jpgs.


Elie / אלי

LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
drisley's Avatar
8,858 posts
Joined Nov 2002
Apr 15, 2012 22:38 |  #13

Interesting. I notice export is much slower too with LR4 using the new 2012 process, anybody else?


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
Preeb
Goldmember
Preeb's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
Logan County, CO
Apr 15, 2012 22:53 as a reply to drisley's post |  #14

I did some NR and other edits today on some natural light portraits taken at 3200 ISO. With the filmstrip open, the sliders were laggy as all get out, but as soon as I closed the filmstrip, they were completely responsive. On this laptop the difference is night and day. It's a Sony Vaio i7 Quad on Win 7 with 6gb ram and 1gb nVidia graphics, with a second monitor connected via HDMI.


Rick
60D - EF-S 10-22 f3.5-f4.5 -- EF-S 17-55 f2.8 IS -- EF-S 60mm f2.8 Macro -- EF 100mm f2.8 L IS Macro -- EF 70-200 f4 L IS w/1.4 II TC

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

2,039 views & 0 likes for this thread
Lightroom 4 NR Slowdown
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00305 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.04s
Latest registered member is surf75
851 guests, 332 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016