Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17th of April 2012 (Tue)   #406
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
 
tzalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
Posts: 12,411
Default Re: Lightroom Threads

The output sharpening also increases noise. Noise and sharpness are two sides of the coin; sharpening is contrast, increase it and the noise becomes more visible and anti-noise reduces contrast and therefore sharpness.

The 50D is not markedly worse than the 40D from which I have loads of very good ISO 3200 shots.
__________________
Elie / אלי
"If you presume to love something, you must love the process of it much more than you love the finished product." John Irving, 5/2012. "In theory there is no difference between practice and theory, but in practice there is." Yogi Berra
Site

Last edited by tzalman : 17th of April 2012 (Tue) at 11:45.
tzalman is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 17th of April 2012 (Tue)   #407
tdodd
Goldmember
 
tdodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,680
Default Re: Lightroom Threads

Quote:
Originally Posted by 400dabuser View Post
Apparently it is my stupid 50D having too much noise at iso3200
Yours sounds as bad as mine. I'm glad I got rid of it. Just look at this mess at 3200 ISO....



No way you could get a usable print from that file.

/jk
tdodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of April 2012 (Tue)   #408
RichSoansPhotos
Cream of the Crop
 
RichSoansPhotos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,562
Default Re: Lightroom Threads

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdodd View Post
Yours sounds as bad as mine. I'm glad I got rid of it. Just look at this mess at 3200 ISO....



No way you could get a usable print from that file.

/jk
Then there is something wrong with my 50D if it is producing too much noise :/ Plus, since mine was in a darker environment than yours, its no surprise mine has a lot more noise
__________________
Bodies: Canon 50D, Canon 5DMKII
Lenses: Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon 85mm 1.8 USM,
Canon 16-35mm 2.8L USM II Canon 24-70mm 2.8L USM, Canon 70-200mm 2.8L IS USM II
Compact: Canon G12 (Website exists, but waiting update)
RichSoansPhotos is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 17th of April 2012 (Tue)   #409
tdodd
Goldmember
 
tdodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,680
Default Re: Lightroom Threads

Quote:
Originally Posted by 400dabuser View Post
Then there is something wrong with my 50D if it is producing too much noise :/ Plus, since mine was in a darker environment than yours, its no surprise mine has a lot more noise
There are lots of potential contributors to noise. Off the top of my head...

The camera itself;
Long exposures;
High ambient temperatures;
Fast glass used wide open;
Strong temperature bias to the light;
Exposure deficiency;
Soft image needing a heavy dose of sharpening;
Heavy cropping;
Unsympathetic processing.

Maybe you could post up a raw file you're unhappy with so that people can have a look and offer an opinion. Failing that, a screen print from Lightroom showing the adjustment history and a crop into the file at 50% or 100%.
tdodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of April 2012 (Tue)   #410
RichSoansPhotos
Cream of the Crop
 
RichSoansPhotos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,562
Default Re: Lightroom Threads

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdodd View Post
There are lots of potential contributors to noise. Off the top of my head...

The camera itself;
Long exposures;
High ambient temperatures;
Fast glass used wide open;
Strong temperature bias to the light;
Exposure deficiency;
Soft image needing a heavy dose of sharpening;
Heavy cropping;
Unsympathetic processing.

Maybe you could post up a raw file you're unhappy with so that people can have a look and offer an opinion. Failing that, a screen print from Lightroom showing the adjustment history and a crop into the file at 50% or 100%.

Ouch, post up a raw file? No way
__________________
Bodies: Canon 50D, Canon 5DMKII
Lenses: Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon 85mm 1.8 USM,
Canon 16-35mm 2.8L USM II Canon 24-70mm 2.8L USM, Canon 70-200mm 2.8L IS USM II
Compact: Canon G12 (Website exists, but waiting update)
RichSoansPhotos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of April 2012 (Tue)   #411
tdodd
Goldmember
 
tdodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,680
Default Re: Lightroom Threads

Quote:
Originally Posted by 400dabuser View Post
Ouch, post up a raw file? No way
Are you on dialup?

Just stick one in Dropbox or similar and post a link.
tdodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of April 2012 (Tue)   #412
RichSoansPhotos
Cream of the Crop
 
RichSoansPhotos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,562
Default Re: Lightroom Threads

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdodd View Post
Are you on dialup?

Just stick one in Dropbox or similar and post a link.

What makes you think I'm stupid?
__________________
Bodies: Canon 50D, Canon 5DMKII
Lenses: Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon 85mm 1.8 USM,
Canon 16-35mm 2.8L USM II Canon 24-70mm 2.8L USM, Canon 70-200mm 2.8L IS USM II
Compact: Canon G12 (Website exists, but waiting update)
RichSoansPhotos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of April 2012 (Tue)   #413
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,430
Default Re: Lightroom Threads

Quote:
Originally Posted by 400dabuser View Post
Ouch, post up a raw file? No way
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdodd View Post
Are you on dialup?

Just stick one in Dropbox or similar and post a link.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 400dabuser View Post
What makes you think I'm stupid?


What's the problem? Why not post a Raw file? It's the best way for us to really look at what you are calling a noisy pic...?
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of April 2012 (Tue)   #414
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
 
tzalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
Posts: 12,411
Default Re: Lightroom Threads

Quote:
Plus, since mine was in a darker environment than yours, its no surprise mine has a lot more noise
Every light level has its proper exposure and if you did expose properly the noise will be the same. You can use ISO 3200 in bright light and expose f/16 and 1/8000 or in dim light expose f/1.4 and 1/10, if both exposures are the right ones for the ambient the same amount of light will reach the sensor, thus the noise will be the same. [Leaving aside the factors of long, more than a second, shutter speed or the effect of light temperature on noise.] OTOH, if you set ISO 3200 and underexposed and then pushed it in LR, that is no longer ISO 3200 and blaming the camera is inappropriate.
__________________
Elie / אלי
"If you presume to love something, you must love the process of it much more than you love the finished product." John Irving, 5/2012. "In theory there is no difference between practice and theory, but in practice there is." Yogi Berra
Site
tzalman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of April 2012 (Wed)   #415
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,430
Default Re: Lightroom Threads

You have the proper settings with images at the max POTN size. There's no reason to change things for the 5D3. That's assuming, though, that you are using a Web image hosting service. If you want to upload from your computer you need a max file size of 150KB, which can easily be done by setting it in the File Settings panel.
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here

Last edited by tonylong : 19th of April 2012 (Thu) at 18:42.
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of April 2012 (Thu)   #416
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
 
tzalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
Posts: 12,411
Default Re: Lightroom Threads

Mine is ImageEvent
http://imageevent.com/
__________________
Elie / אלי
"If you presume to love something, you must love the process of it much more than you love the finished product." John Irving, 5/2012. "In theory there is no difference between practice and theory, but in practice there is." Yogi Berra
Site
tzalman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of April 2012 (Thu)   #417
Preeb
Goldmember
 
Preeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Logan County, CO
Posts: 2,334
Default Re: Lightroom Threads

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcrossley View Post
How much memory should I have on my Mac Pro to run LR4 effectively? I'm currently at 6GBs, but I'm considering upgrading to 16GBs.
6gb should be plenty. I have 6gb on this Sony Vaio i7 Quad Core laptop and it handles LR4 with no trouble.
__________________
Rick

60D - EF-S 10-22 f3.5-f4.5 -- EF-S 17-55 f2.8 IS -- EF-S 60mm f2.8 Macro -- EF 100mm f2.8 L IS Macro -- EF 70-200 f4 L IS w/1.4 II TC
Preeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of April 2012 (Thu)   #418
Canajun
Goldmember
 
Canajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Posts: 2,871
Default Re: Lightroom Threads

Hello all, I've been lurking on this thread for a few pages now. From what I gather so far. There are lots of discussion on how to improve the image quality.

If I may be allowed to change the subject. I would like to ask some of the seasoned LR users about the web module.

I've been using the canned HTML template and have been very happy with it. My question is relating to whether I can modify some of the codes.

For example (this is just an example. I don't have photos of all provinces):
If I built 10 galleries of the Canadian provinces. Each provinces are created individualy. Another gallery (root) with only 10 photos.

What I am having a problem is, how do I create the root gallery then redirect it to the URL of the individual provinces. At the moment, all it would do is redirect the thumbnail to the larger image.

I tried modifying the code to the new destination URL. But so far unsuccesfull in getting them to look the same as the original format.

I have no experience in CSS and I only know elementary HTML. And that's really the big problem.

So does anyone has any suggestion or recommendation how I can accomplish this using LR3?

Cheers!
__________________
Jun.Roberto.Dizon.Gregorio

My Photographic Gears.

I Like Shooting Animals Than People.
Canajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of April 2012 (Sat)   #419
RichSoansPhotos
Cream of the Crop
 
RichSoansPhotos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,562
Default Re: Lightroom Threads

Quote:
Originally Posted by René Damkot View Post
Well, that would explain why the rendered image is sharper then the raw in LR…

In ACR you can also apply output sharpening if you want to by the way…

If this doesn't answer the question, explain a bit better what you are asking, and maybe post a screenshot?
I tried to put the sharpness down, but its still noisy as far as I can see, and I don't have that brilliant of an eyesight.
__________________
Bodies: Canon 50D, Canon 5DMKII
Lenses: Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon 85mm 1.8 USM,
Canon 16-35mm 2.8L USM II Canon 24-70mm 2.8L USM, Canon 70-200mm 2.8L IS USM II
Compact: Canon G12 (Website exists, but waiting update)
RichSoansPhotos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of April 2012 (Mon)   #420
digital paradise
Cream of the Crop
 
digital paradise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,059
Default Re: Lightroom Threads

Well there is one lesson many of us probably learned the hard way is moving files around. I just used Finder (MAC) for many years and sometimes old habits are hard to break. I always liked working off my desktop and then storing the files after. I know you need to drag the files from the desktop to the external storage via LR. After a tiring edit I forgot and did it with Finder. Gonna have to change that part of the workflow. Once I have culled and selected what I'm keeping I will import and drag them into the external drive before I start editing. Outside of that I'm really enjoying using it.
__________________
Website ~ Buy/Sell Feedback
digital paradise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
have you ever seen so many angry/offended threads than 1d3 threads? Cathpah The POTN Lounge 41 5th of July 2007 (Thu) 23:01
Podcast: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom offers glimpse at Lightroom version 1.1 Packhorse-4 RAW, Post Processing and Printing 2 17th of June 2007 (Sun) 20:30
Contest threads scott1120 Small Compact Digitals by Canon 9 21st of June 2006 (Wed) 03:16


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.