Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 06 May 2007 (Sunday) 19:51
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

STICKY: Lightroom Threads

 
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,407 posts
Likes: 170
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Apr 17, 2012 11:42 |  #406

The output sharpening also increases noise. Noise and sharpness are two sides of the coin; sharpening is contrast, increase it and the noise becomes more visible and anti-noise reduces contrast and therefore sharpness.

The 50D is not markedly worse than the 40D from which I have loads of very good ISO 3200 shots.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
tdodd
Goldmember
Avatar
3,733 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Essex, UK
     
Apr 17, 2012 11:44 |  #407

400dabuser wrote in post #14281105 (external link)
Apparently it is my stupid 50D having too much noise at iso3200

Yours sounds as bad as mine. I'm glad I got rid of it. Just look at this mess at 3200 ISO....

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'image/png' | Byte size: ZERO


No way you could get a usable print from that file.

/jk



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RichSoansPhotos
Cream of the Crop
5,981 posts
Likes: 37
Joined Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
     
Apr 17, 2012 11:55 |  #408
bannedPermanent ban

tdodd wrote in post #14281157 (external link)
Yours sounds as bad as mine. I'm glad I got rid of it. Just look at this mess at 3200 ISO....

IMAGE NOT FOUND
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'image/png' | Byte size: ZERO


No way you could get a usable print from that file.

/jk

Then there is something wrong with my 50D if it is producing too much noise :/ Plus, since mine was in a darker environment than yours, its no surprise mine has a lot more noise




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tdodd
Goldmember
Avatar
3,733 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Essex, UK
     
Apr 17, 2012 12:05 |  #409

400dabuser wrote in post #14281213 (external link)
Then there is something wrong with my 50D if it is producing too much noise :/ Plus, since mine was in a darker environment than yours, its no surprise mine has a lot more noise

There are lots of potential contributors to noise. Off the top of my head...

The camera itself;
Long exposures;
High ambient temperatures;
Fast glass used wide open;
Strong temperature bias to the light;
Exposure deficiency;
Soft image needing a heavy dose of sharpening;
Heavy cropping;
Unsympathetic processing.

Maybe you could post up a raw file you're unhappy with so that people can have a look and offer an opinion. Failing that, a screen print from Lightroom showing the adjustment history and a crop into the file at 50% or 100%.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RichSoansPhotos
Cream of the Crop
5,981 posts
Likes: 37
Joined Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
     
Apr 17, 2012 12:10 |  #410
bannedPermanent ban

tdodd wrote in post #14281258 (external link)
There are lots of potential contributors to noise. Off the top of my head...

The camera itself;
Long exposures;
High ambient temperatures;
Fast glass used wide open;
Strong temperature bias to the light;
Exposure deficiency;
Soft image needing a heavy dose of sharpening;
Heavy cropping;
Unsympathetic processing.

Maybe you could post up a raw file you're unhappy with so that people can have a look and offer an opinion. Failing that, a screen print from Lightroom showing the adjustment history and a crop into the file at 50% or 100%.


Ouch, post up a raw file? No way




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tdodd
Goldmember
Avatar
3,733 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Essex, UK
     
Apr 17, 2012 12:23 |  #411

400dabuser wrote in post #14281282 (external link)
Ouch, post up a raw file? No way

Are you on dialup?

Just stick one in Dropbox (external link) or similar and post a link.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RichSoansPhotos
Cream of the Crop
5,981 posts
Likes: 37
Joined Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
     
Apr 17, 2012 12:33 |  #412
bannedPermanent ban

tdodd wrote in post #14281333 (external link)
Are you on dialup?

Just stick one in Dropbox (external link) or similar and post a link.


What makes you think I'm stupid?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,640 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 520
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Apr 17, 2012 15:17 |  #413

400dabuser wrote in post #14281282 (external link)
Ouch, post up a raw file? No way

tdodd wrote in post #14281333 (external link)
Are you on dialup?

Just stick one in Dropbox (external link) or similar and post a link.

400dabuser wrote in post #14281379 (external link)
What makes you think I'm stupid?

???

What's the problem? Why not post a Raw file? It's the best way for us to really look at what you are calling a noisy pic...?


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,407 posts
Likes: 170
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Apr 17, 2012 17:48 |  #414

Plus, since mine was in a darker environment than yours, its no surprise mine has a lot more noise

Every light level has its proper exposure and if you did expose properly the noise will be the same. You can use ISO 3200 in bright light and expose f/16 and 1/8000 or in dim light expose f/1.4 and 1/10, if both exposures are the right ones for the ambient the same amount of light will reach the sensor, thus the noise will be the same. [Leaving aside the factors of long, more than a second, shutter speed or the effect of light temperature on noise.] OTOH, if you set ISO 3200 and underexposed and then pushed it in LR, that is no longer ISO 3200 and blaming the camera is inappropriate.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,640 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 520
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Apr 18, 2012 23:40 |  #415

You have the proper settings with images at the max POTN size. There's no reason to change things for the 5D3. That's assuming, though, that you are using a Web image hosting service. If you want to upload from your computer you need a max file size of 150KB, which can easily be done by setting it in the File Settings panel.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,407 posts
Likes: 170
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Apr 19, 2012 17:09 |  #416

Mine is ImageEvent
http://imageevent.com/ (external link)


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Preeb
Goldmember
Avatar
2,522 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 133
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Logan County, CO
     
Apr 19, 2012 17:32 |  #417

kcrossley wrote in post #14278260 (external link)
How much memory should I have on my Mac Pro to run LR4 effectively? I'm currently at 6GBs, but I'm considering upgrading to 16GBs.

6gb should be plenty. I have 6gb on this Sony Vaio i7 Quad Core laptop and it handles LR4 with no trouble.


Rick
60D - EF-S 10-22 f3.5-f4.5 -- EF-S 17-55 f2.8 IS -- EF-S 60mm f2.8 Macro -- EF 100mm f2.8 L IS Macro -- EF 70-200 f4 L IS w/1.4 II TC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Canajun
Goldmember
Avatar
2,881 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
     
Apr 19, 2012 18:37 as a reply to  @ Preeb's post |  #418

Hello all, I've been lurking on this thread for a few pages now. From what I gather so far. There are lots of discussion on how to improve the image quality.

If I may be allowed to change the subject. I would like to ask some of the seasoned LR users about the web module.

I've been using the canned HTML template and have been very happy with it. My question is relating to whether I can modify some of the codes.

For example (this is just an example. I don't have photos of all provinces):
If I built 10 galleries of the Canadian provinces. Each provinces are created individualy. Another gallery (root) with only 10 photos.

What I am having a problem is, how do I create the root gallery then redirect it to the URL of the individual provinces. At the moment, all it would do is redirect the thumbnail to the larger image.

I tried modifying the code to the new destination URL. But so far unsuccesfull in getting them to look the same as the original format.

I have no experience in CSS and I only know elementary HTML. And that's really the big problem.

So does anyone has any suggestion or recommendation how I can accomplish this using LR3?

Cheers!


Jun.Roberto.Dizon.Greg​orio
My Photographic Gears.

I Like Shooting Animals Than People.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RichSoansPhotos
Cream of the Crop
5,981 posts
Likes: 37
Joined Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
     
Apr 21, 2012 18:04 |  #419
bannedPermanent ban

René Damkot wrote in post #14279994 (external link)
Well, that would explain why the rendered image is sharper then the raw in LR…

In ACR you can also apply output sharpening if you want to by the way…

If this doesn't answer the question, explain a bit better what you are asking, and maybe post a screenshot?

I tried to put the sharpness down, but its still noisy as far as I can see, and I don't have that brilliant of an eyesight.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,931 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 5081
Joined Oct 2009
     
Apr 23, 2012 08:48 |  #420

Well there is one lesson many of us probably learned the hard way is moving files around. I just used Finder (MAC) for many years and sometimes old habits are hard to break. I always liked working off my desktop and then storing the files after. I know you need to drag the files from the desktop to the external storage via LR. After a tiring edit I forgot and did it with Finder. Gonna have to change that part of the workflow. Once I have culled and selected what I'm keeping I will import and drag them into the external drive before I start editing. Outside of that I'm really enjoying using it.


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

308,806 views & 13 likes for this thread
Lightroom Threads
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is 4bosing
823 guests, 418 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.