Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 24 Apr 2012 (Tuesday) 21:58
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Using Yonguo-YN560 as radio slave with Canon 580EXII as Master?

 
eksekseksg3
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Nov 2011
     
Apr 24, 2012 21:58 |  #1

Hey there, I was trying to figure out how to use a Yonguo-YN560 as a slave using a Cowboy Studio NPT-04 wireless flash trigger setup, with a Canon 580EXII as the master in E-TTL mode(on a Canon 60D). I know the Yongnuo has to be in either S1 or S2 mode for slave use. When I set it to S1 mode, I saw that it fired noticeably earlier than the shutter release, which I later found out is due to the 580EXII firing off multiple flashes while in E-TTL mode. I tried it in S2 mode, which is apparently supposed to ignore the first flash and only fire on the second, but I get absolutely nothing, the Yongnuo doesn't even fire at all. Let me also note that if I have the Yongnuo in M or S1 mode, when I fire the pilot on my wireless trigger, the Yongnuo fires, but in S2 mode I get nothing from the trigger's pilot. If I try the Yongnuo's on-camera pilot button, it pops fine. I have fresh batteries in everything, so I know that isn't the problem.

Any ideas?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
dmward
Cream of the Crop
8,961 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 1014
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Metro Chicago
     
Apr 24, 2012 22:14 |  #2

The S1 and S2 modes on the YN560 are for optical triggering from the 580EXII in ETTL on your camera.
If you are using a wireless trigger, it has to be plugged into a sync connection on the camera and a receiver has to be attached to the YN560. Set the YN560 to M. Everything will fire as expected.


David | Sharing my Insights, Knowledge & Experience (external link) | dmwfotos website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dedsen
Goldmember
Avatar
2,580 posts
Likes: 11
Joined Aug 2006
     
Apr 24, 2012 22:24 |  #3

Unless you have other Canon slave or Canon compatible slave flashes in the system there is no reason to have the 580ex in master mode. There are too many command flashes issued from a master flash for the 560 to ignore in S1 or S2 mode.
Since Canon Rebelized the 60D and removed the sync port you are going to need a hotshoe adapter if you want a flash in the hotshoe and the wireless trigger connected at the same time.



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
eksekseksg3
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Nov 2011
     
Apr 24, 2012 22:56 |  #4

Thanks for the quick responses!

dmward - I tried it in M mode to no avail. Again, it pops with the wireless trigger pilot, but not when I release the shutter.

dedsen - Are you saying I would need something in addition to this wireless trigger setup I'm using? Link below.

http://www.amazon.com …TF8&qid=1335326​086&sr=1-1 (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tmb99
Junior Member
Avatar
20 posts
Joined Feb 2012
     
Apr 25, 2012 05:27 |  #5

Don't understand how that trigger fits in as the 580 is on the shoe in ETTL.... but only advice I have is take the 580 off master.

I was having issues trying to get similar setup to work as sync seemed out. 580 off master and it all works well.


550d | 17-85 | nifty50 1.8 | 10-20 | 580EX's | AB400

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dedsen
Goldmember
Avatar
2,580 posts
Likes: 11
Joined Aug 2006
     
Apr 25, 2012 07:18 |  #6

How do you have all this equipment connected?
When talking Master/Slave with the Canon proprietary system you need Canon flashes or Canon compatible flashes. If you are just using the simple optical slave sensor, like the YN 560 has, then you DO NOT need the 580ex in master mode. Put the 580ex in manual mode, master mode turned OFF and then on the YN 560 turn the S1 mode to ON. What are you doing with the CB Studio wireless trigger?
The best, most reliable, would be a wireless trigger on the camera and a receiver for EVERY flash you have out there. Using optical slave triggers work ok indoors but can be iffy when outside in bright light. They will also trigger from other photographers flashes if you are working beside someone else.



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
eksekseksg3
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Nov 2011
     
Apr 25, 2012 20:46 |  #7

I have the 580 connected to the receiver that is typically mounted on the camera itself, its the one with the pilot button, its connected using the small cord that came with the trigger setup. I have the yn560 connected to the other one via the hotshoe. I was going to use this setup for a quinceanera I will be shooting on saturday, with the yn560 acting as a hair-light, and the 580 in ETTL on camera as a main flash. I'd rather not use the optical trigger if I don't have to. I do have a 430EXII that I can use, (which I tested and it obviously works just great) but I was hoping to sell the 430 and use the yn560 instead in an effort to save money. I'm a cash-strapped college kid.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
oldvultureface
Goldmember
Avatar
4,213 posts
Gallery: 67 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 213
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana USA
     
Apr 25, 2012 21:38 as a reply to  @ eksekseksg3's post |  #8

The "receiver" that's mounted on the camera's hot shoe is a transmitter. Your setup as described will work if both flashes (580 and 560) are in manual mode (not master, not slave, not Canon wireless, just manual). You'll have to adjust power manually on both flashes for exposure.

If the 580 is in E-TTL mode and connected to the CB transmitter with the supplied cord, it will only trigger at full power because there is no communication with the camera other than a fire command from the transmitter.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
eksekseksg3
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Nov 2011
     
Apr 25, 2012 22:43 |  #9

Ok, well that sort of defeats the purpose. I guess i'll just have to use the 430. :/

Thanks for all the responses folks!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,395 views & 0 likes for this thread
Using Yonguo-YN560 as radio slave with Canon 580EXII as Master?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is ppahv
765 guests, 314 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.