LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


STICKY: Color problems? [work in progress?]

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 27 Mar 2007 (Tuesday) 19:25   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
tonylong's Avatar
Joined Sep 2007
53,001 posts
Vancouver, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

To get the best results from the lab, download their profiles -- they will have ones specific for the printer/paper combination (you specify a paper for your order).

When you download them and follow their instructions for where to install them, then they will show up in Photoshop and Lightroom as a "softproof profile". It's different from a monitor profile. The monitor calibration profile helps you to see things "accurately", though, when you do the soft-proofing.

Post #316, Apr 29, 2012 00:33:19


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
mantra
Goldmember
mantra's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
1,572 posts
Italy, Rome
[MORE/SHARE]

tonylong wrote in post #14346327external link
To get the best results from the lab, download their profiles -- they will have ones specific for the printer/paper combination (you specify a paper for your order).

thanks Tony
in short there is only 1 profile for a lab print ,isn't it?
i don't use lightroom
only dpp and photoshop
is enough load it in photoshop?

ps i remember i installed in my os a profile that gave me some issue in the past , if i can avoid (install in the os) i would be happier

cheers

Post #317, Apr 29, 2012 01:31:04


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
René Damkot's Avatar
Joined Feb 2005
39,854 posts
enschede, netherlands
[MORE/SHARE]

You download the profile and copy it to the proper folder for your OS. Then you will be able to use it in PS/DPP.

Post #318, Apr 29, 2012 03:07:49


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpaceexternal link
Get Colormanagedexternal link
Twitterexternal link
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
mantra's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
1,572 posts
Italy, Rome
[MORE/SHARE]

René Damkot wrote in post #14346710external link
You download the profile and copy it to the proper folder for your OS. Then you will be able to use it in PS/DPP.

is only 1 file ?
but is not enough to load in photoshop ?

or is enough use photoshop ? (proof setup --> custom and load)
after proof colors

by the way file *.icc under w7 and xp are in photoshop folders and under c:\windows\*\spool\dri​vers\color
is the right place?

thanks Renè

Post #319, Apr 29, 2012 04:30:26


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
mantra's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
1,572 posts
Italy, Rome
[MORE/SHARE]

René Damkot wrote in post #2941196external link
Start off (after calibrating your monitor) by setting Photoshops color settings something like this (click image to enlarge):
QUOTED IMAGE
[IMAGE'S LINK: http://www.moonglade.n​et ...POTN/color/PSCS2Col​or.jpg]external link

you guide is really great
by the way i have
gray->dot gray 15%
spot ->dot gray 15%

may i know the differents between
gray->dot gray 15% vs gray gamma 2.2
and
spot ->dot gray 15% vs dot grain 10 ?
in the manual there is nothing :(

the other settings are the same , outside photoshop cs5 i haven't CMYK Europe iso coated fotogra27

thanks cheers

Post #320, Apr 29, 2012 04:40:51


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
René ­ Damkot
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
René Damkot's Avatar
Joined Feb 2005
39,854 posts
enschede, netherlands
[MORE/SHARE]

mantra wrote in post #14346898external link
is only 1 file ?
but is not enough to load in photoshop ?

Never tried that.

mantra wrote in post #14346898external link
c:\windows\*\spool\dri​vers\color

I think that's the right place for Windows.

mantra wrote in post #14346916external link
gray->dot gray 15%
spot ->dot gray 15%

may i know the differents between
gray->dot gray 15% vs gray gamma 2.2
and
spot ->dot gray 15% vs dot grain 10 ?
in the manual there is nothing :(

the other settings are the same , outside photoshop cs5 i haven't CMYK Europe iso coated fotogra27

thanks cheers

The default working spaces are only used when you create a new document in Photoshop or go Mode > Grayscale or Mode > CMYK for instance (which is not the best practice anyway). So they don't matter that much if the other settings are correct.

Have a read here: http://www.getcolorman​aged.com ...nagement/pscolorset​tings/external link

It's largely a matter of personal preference & knowing what you're doing.

Post #321, Apr 29, 2012 06:09:46


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpaceexternal link
Get Colormanagedexternal link
Twitterexternal link
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
mantra's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
1,572 posts
Italy, Rome
[MORE/SHARE]

René Damkot wrote in post #14347078external link
Have a read here: http://www.getcolorman​aged.com ...nagement/pscolorset​tings/external link

It's largely a matter of personal preference & knowing what you're doing.

yes i'm reading , and it's really very complete ,but outside personal prefenrece you quote

For same reasons as above never, ever use Gamma 1.8. It’s obsolete.

they are the default preference of cs3

Post #322, Apr 29, 2012 09:16:50


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
René Damkot's Avatar
Joined Feb 2005
39,854 posts
enschede, netherlands
[MORE/SHARE]

That's "If you do a lot of grayscale images for web".
I also mention "If you print them to a specific Offsetpress and you know what dot gain to use, by all means do."

sRGB has an approximate gamma of 2.2
AdobeRGB has gamut 2.2.

If you post an image with Gray Gamma 1.8 to the web, it will appear too dark in a non color managed browser.

Post #323, Apr 29, 2012 10:12:22


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpaceexternal link
Get Colormanagedexternal link
Twitterexternal link
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
mantra's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
1,572 posts
Italy, Rome
[MORE/SHARE]

René Damkot wrote in post #14347809external link
That's "If you do a lot of grayscale images for web".
I also mention "If you print them to a specific Offsetpress and you know what dot gain to use, by all means do."
.

thanks Renè
my last question
to know how the photo will look in a lab studio (after installing the profile)
i have to go
photoshop -> view->proof setup and select the lab profile
and after proof colors?

i'm right ,aint' i?

thanks again for you kindness

Post #324, Apr 29, 2012 10:54:19


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
tonylong's Avatar
Joined Sep 2007
53,001 posts
Vancouver, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

mantra wrote in post #14346898external link
is only 1 file?

We need to go back to this because from this and an earlier comment I think you don't understand something:

Printing profiles provided by a lab or, if you are printing directly from your printer driver, are for a specific paper and printer combo, and sometimes for a specific ink as well.

So, the lab has a variety of papers you can choose from. You choose and they print using their printer.

They provide you profiles for each paper type, so you can get multiple profile files.

Post #325, Apr 30, 2012 00:08:59


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
mantra's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
1,572 posts
Italy, Rome
[MORE/SHARE]

tonylong wrote in post #14351267external link
Printing profiles provided by a lab or, if you are printing directly from your printer driver, are for a specific paper and printer combo, and sometimes for a specific ink as well.

So, the lab has a variety of papers you can choose from. You choose and they print using their printer.

They provide you profiles for each paper type, so you can get multiple profile files.

thanks Tony

now i got it , it's clear , i have to choice the paper i like , the profile in this case contains paper+ink+device lab , only 1 profile for paper


isorry but my english really sucks

thanks again Tony
cheers

Post #326, Apr 30, 2012 00:45:19


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
tonylong's Avatar
Joined Sep 2007
53,001 posts
Vancouver, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

mantra wrote in post #14351403external link
thanks Tony

now i got it , it's clear , i have to choice the paper i like , the profile in this case contains paper+ink+device lab , only 1 profile for paper

isorry but my english really sucks

thanks again Tony
cheers

Hey, at least you are hanging in there on an all-English forum hosted in Finland, no less:)!

Post #327, Apr 30, 2012 01:40:04


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
mantra's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
1,572 posts
Italy, Rome
[MORE/SHARE]

tonylong wrote in post #14351542external link
Hey, at least you are hanging in there on an all-English forum hosted in Finland, no less:)!

lol

Post #328, Apr 30, 2012 04:14:42


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
René Damkot's Avatar
Joined Feb 2005
39,854 posts
enschede, netherlands
[MORE/SHARE]

mantra wrote in post #14347985external link
thanks Renè
my last question
to know how the photo will look in a lab studio (after installing the profile)
i have to go
photoshop -> view->proof setup and select the lab profile
and after proof colors?

i'm right ,aint' i?

thanks again for you kindness

If you're meaning what I think you are saying, yes.

Here's a video on LL explaining Soft proofing: http://luminous-landscape.com ...journal/c2p-preview.shtmlexternal link

Post #329, May 01, 2012 12:36:41


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpaceexternal link
Get Colormanagedexternal link
Twitterexternal link
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
mantra's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
1,572 posts
Italy, Rome
[MORE/SHARE]

René Damkot wrote in post #14360873external link
If you're meaning what I think you are saying, yes.

Here's a video on LL explaining Soft proofing: http://luminous-landscape.com ...journal/c2p-preview.shtmlexternal link

thanks really

i'm looking for IlfordGallerie Gold Fibre Silk profile , can't find , can 't download it

thanks

Post #330, May 07, 2012 01:29:03


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
198,169 views & 0 likes for this thread
Color problems? [work in progress?]
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00138 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
717 guests, 512 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Hurlikai

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.