Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29th of April 2012 (Sun)   #316
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,908
Default Re: Color problems? [work in progress?]

To get the best results from the lab, download their profiles -- they will have ones specific for the printer/paper combination (you specify a paper for your order).

When you download them and follow their instructions for where to install them, then they will show up in Photoshop and Lightroom as a "softproof profile". It's different from a monitor profile. The monitor calibration profile helps you to see things "accurately", though, when you do the soft-proofing.
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 29th of April 2012 (Sun)   #317
mantra
Senior Member
 
mantra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
Posts: 1,570
Default Re: Color problems? [work in progress?]

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonylong View Post
To get the best results from the lab, download their profiles -- they will have ones specific for the printer/paper combination (you specify a paper for your order).
thanks Tony
in short there is only 1 profile for a lab print ,isn't it?
i don't use lightroom
only dpp and photoshop
is enough load it in photoshop?

ps i remember i installed in my os a profile that gave me some issue in the past , if i can avoid (install in the os) i would be happier

cheers
__________________
canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya
mantra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of April 2012 (Sun)   #318
René Damkot
Moderator
 
René Damkot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
Posts: 39,854
Default Re: Color problems? [work in progress?]

You download the profile and copy it to the proper folder for your OS. Then you will be able to use it in PS/DPP.
__________________
"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams

Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.

MySpace
Get Colormanaged
Twitter

PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
René Damkot is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 29th of April 2012 (Sun)   #319
mantra
Senior Member
 
mantra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
Posts: 1,570
Default Re: Color problems? [work in progress?]

Quote:
Originally Posted by René Damkot View Post
You download the profile and copy it to the proper folder for your OS. Then you will be able to use it in PS/DPP.
is only 1 file ?
but is not enough to load in photoshop ?

Quote:
or is enough use photoshop ? (proof setup --> custom and load)
after proof colors
by the way file *.icc under w7 and xp are in photoshop folders and under c:\windows\*\spool\drivers\color
is the right place?

thanks Renč
__________________
canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya
mantra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of April 2012 (Sun)   #320
mantra
Senior Member
 
mantra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
Posts: 1,570
Default Re: Color problems? [work in progress?]

Quote:
Originally Posted by René Damkot View Post

Start off (after calibrating your monitor) by setting Photoshops color settings something like this (click image to enlarge):

you guide is really great
by the way i have
gray->dot gray 15%
spot ->dot gray 15%

may i know the differents between
gray->dot gray 15% vs gray gamma 2.2
and
spot ->dot gray 15% vs dot grain 10 ?
in the manual there is nothing

the other settings are the same , outside photoshop cs5 i haven't CMYK Europe iso coated fotogra27

thanks cheers
__________________
canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya
mantra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of April 2012 (Sun)   #321
René Damkot
Moderator
 
René Damkot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
Posts: 39,854
Default Re: Color problems? [work in progress?]

Quote:
Originally Posted by mantra View Post
is only 1 file ?
but is not enough to load in photoshop ?
Never tried that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mantra View Post
c:\windows\*\spool\drivers\color
I think that's the right place for Windows.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mantra View Post
gray->dot gray 15%
spot ->dot gray 15%

may i know the differents between
gray->dot gray 15% vs gray gamma 2.2
and
spot ->dot gray 15% vs dot grain 10 ?
in the manual there is nothing

the other settings are the same , outside photoshop cs5 i haven't CMYK Europe iso coated fotogra27

thanks cheers
The default working spaces are only used when you create a new document in Photoshop or go Mode > Grayscale or Mode > CMYK for instance (which is not the best practice anyway). So they don't matter that much if the other settings are correct.

Have a read here: http://www.getcolormanaged.com/color...colorsettings/

It's largely a matter of personal preference & knowing what you're doing.
__________________
"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams

Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.

MySpace
Get Colormanaged
Twitter

PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
René Damkot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of April 2012 (Sun)   #322
mantra
Senior Member
 
mantra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
Posts: 1,570
Default Re: Color problems? [work in progress?]

Quote:
Originally Posted by René Damkot View Post
Have a read here: http://www.getcolormanaged.com/color...colorsettings/

It's largely a matter of personal preference & knowing what you're doing.
yes i'm reading , and it's really very complete ,but outside personal prefenrece you quote
Quote:
For same reasons as above never, ever use Gamma 1.8. It’s obsolete.
they are the default preference of cs3
__________________
canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya
mantra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of April 2012 (Sun)   #323
René Damkot
Moderator
 
René Damkot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
Posts: 39,854
Default Re: Color problems? [work in progress?]

That's "If you do a lot of grayscale images for web".
I also mention "If you print them to a specific Offsetpress and you know what dot gain to use, by all means do."

sRGB has an approximate gamma of 2.2
AdobeRGB has gamut 2.2.

If you post an image with Gray Gamma 1.8 to the web, it will appear too dark in a non color managed browser.
__________________
"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams

Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.

MySpace
Get Colormanaged
Twitter

PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
René Damkot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of April 2012 (Sun)   #324
mantra
Senior Member
 
mantra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
Posts: 1,570
Default Re: Color problems? [work in progress?]

Quote:
Originally Posted by René Damkot View Post
That's "If you do a lot of grayscale images for web".
I also mention "If you print them to a specific Offsetpress and you know what dot gain to use, by all means do."
.
thanks Renč
my last question
to know how the photo will look in a lab studio (after installing the profile)
i have to go
photoshop -> view->proof setup and select the lab profile
and after proof colors?

i'm right ,aint' i?

thanks again for you kindness
__________________
canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya
mantra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of April 2012 (Mon)   #325
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,908
Default Re: Color problems? [work in progress?]

Quote:
Originally Posted by mantra View Post
is only 1 file?
We need to go back to this because from this and an earlier comment I think you don't understand something:

Printing profiles provided by a lab or, if you are printing directly from your printer driver, are for a specific paper and printer combo, and sometimes for a specific ink as well.

So, the lab has a variety of papers you can choose from. You choose and they print using their printer.

They provide you profiles for each paper type, so you can get multiple profile files.
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of April 2012 (Mon)   #326
mantra
Senior Member
 
mantra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
Posts: 1,570
Default Re: Color problems? [work in progress?]

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonylong View Post
Printing profiles provided by a lab or, if you are printing directly from your printer driver, are for a specific paper and printer combo, and sometimes for a specific ink as well.

So, the lab has a variety of papers you can choose from. You choose and they print using their printer.

They provide you profiles for each paper type, so you can get multiple profile files.
thanks Tony

now i got it , it's clear , i have to choice the paper i like , the profile in this case contains paper+ink+device lab , only 1 profile for paper


isorry but my english really sucks

thanks again Tony
cheers
__________________
canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya
mantra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of April 2012 (Mon)   #327
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,908
Default Re: Color problems? [work in progress?]

Quote:
Originally Posted by mantra View Post
thanks Tony

now i got it , it's clear , i have to choice the paper i like , the profile in this case contains paper+ink+device lab , only 1 profile for paper


isorry but my english really sucks

thanks again Tony
cheers
Hey, at least you are hanging in there on an all-English forum hosted in Finland, no less!
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of April 2012 (Mon)   #328
mantra
Senior Member
 
mantra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
Posts: 1,570
Default Re: Color problems? [work in progress?]

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonylong View Post
Hey, at least you are hanging in there on an all-English forum hosted in Finland, no less!
lol
__________________
canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya
mantra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st of May 2012 (Tue)   #329
René Damkot
Moderator
 
René Damkot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
Posts: 39,854
Default Re: Color problems? [work in progress?]

Quote:
Originally Posted by mantra View Post
thanks Renč
my last question
to know how the photo will look in a lab studio (after installing the profile)
i have to go
photoshop -> view->proof setup and select the lab profile
and after proof colors?

i'm right ,aint' i?

thanks again for you kindness
If you're meaning what I think you are saying, yes.

Here's a video on LL explaining Soft proofing: http://luminous-landscape.com/video_...-preview.shtml
__________________
"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams

Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.

MySpace
Get Colormanaged
Twitter

PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
René Damkot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of May 2012 (Mon)   #330
mantra
Senior Member
 
mantra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
Posts: 1,570
Default Re: Color problems? [work in progress?]

Quote:
Originally Posted by René Damkot View Post
If you're meaning what I think you are saying, yes.

Here's a video on LL explaining Soft proofing: http://luminous-landscape.com/video_...-preview.shtml
thanks really

i'm looking for IlfordGallerie Gold Fibre Silk profile , can't find , can 't download it

thanks
__________________
canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya
mantra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ScenicShare: a work in progress john2496 The Business of Photography 1 12th of July 2007 (Thu) 01:22
work in progress.... winkie Presentation 4 27th of February 2007 (Tue) 13:33
Work In Progress MDJAK People 16 21st of January 2007 (Sun) 19:04
Online Portfolio Work in progress Headcase650 Presentation 3 6th of February 2006 (Mon) 22:59
Work in progress rab3rd Still Life, B/W & Experimental 1 1st of December 2005 (Thu) 15:54


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.