LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


5D III - LCD Screen is a lier!

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 02 May 2012 (Wednesday) 19:01   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
umphotography
Cream of the Crop
umphotography's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
8,305 posts
minnesota
[MORE/SHARE]

Andrew_WOT wrote in post #14373529external link
I have seen that this is not recommended in a couple of digital photography books.
And here's the one straight from the horse mouth - Lexar.
http://www.lexar.com ...nt/lexar-memory-card-tipsexternal link


Lexar is full of BS

every card mfg that i have talked to in the past 5 yrs has said....NO Problems. I would take that with a grain of salt. Its just not true

Post #46, May 03, 2012 13:30:52


Mike
www.umphotography.comexternal link
GEAR LIST
Facebookexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Andrew_WOT
Goldmember
Joined Mar 2010
1,417 posts
CA
[MORE/SHARE]

umphotography wrote in post #14373796external link
Lexar is full of BS

every card mfg that i have talked to in the past 5 yrs has said....NO Problems. I would take that with a grain of salt. Its just not true

They are one of the biggest card manufacturers, btw.

Post #47, May 03, 2012 13:32:06




LOG IN TO REPLY
Andrew_WOT
Goldmember
Joined Mar 2010
1,417 posts
CA
[MORE/SHARE]

Andrew_WOT wrote in post #14373807external link
They are one of the biggest card manufacturers, btw.

And another one.
12 Dumb User Errors that Cause Memory Card Corruptionexternal link

Do Not Do These Things:
...
- Repeatedly shoot a picture then delete in-camera. Shoot, delete. Shoot, deleteā€¦
...

Do These Things:
...
- Reformat your memory cards in camera before every event. This will reset them to manufacturer grade; nice and fresh.
- Always delete you images on your computer through a card reader. It will prolong the life of your card
...

Of course there is a bunch of crap on the net and you don't have to believe everything you read, but when advise comes from card manufacturer no matter how slight the risk is I'd rather not to take it.
Plus it lessen the chance of mistakenly deleting images that could turn out the keepers, killing two birds with one stone.

Post #48, May 03, 2012 13:50:52




LOG IN TO REPLY
garys1
Goldmember
garys1's Avatar
Joined Dec 2009
1,042 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I delete pics in camera all the time. After downloading the images to my computer, I always format the card when I put it back in the camera. I haven't had any problems. Been doing this since 2009.

Post #49, May 03, 2012 13:58:05




LOG IN TO REPLY
Littlefield
Goldmember
Joined Jan 2006
1,087 posts
SC, USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Just don't open the flash card door until the activity light is off. Ask why would Canon put that tool if it hurt the card ;)

Post #50, May 05, 2012 00:29:03 as a reply to garys1's post 1 day earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Scatterbrained
Cream of the Crop
Scatterbrained's Avatar
Joined Jan 2010
6,905 posts
Suffolk, Va
[MORE/SHARE]

garys1 wrote in post #14373965external link
I delete pics in camera all the time. After downloading the images to my computer, I always format the card when I put it back in the camera. I haven't had any problems. Been doing this since 2009.

Yes, but some people just keep erasing the images and never reformat the card. I think that's the point that is being discussed.

Post #51, May 05, 2012 02:02:26


VanillaImaging.comexternal link"Vacuous images for the Vapid consumer"
500pxexternal link
flickrexternal link
1xexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Legion5
Member
Joined May 2010
84 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I would highly recommend shooting in RAW + JPG even if you don't use jpg because it provides much much better previews.

Post #52, May 05, 2012 02:09:22




LOG IN TO REPLY
Littlefield
Goldmember
Joined Jan 2006
1,087 posts
SC, USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Legion5 wrote in post #14382405external link
I would highly recommend shooting in RAW + JPG even if you don't use jpg because it provides much much better previews.

I thought the raw file would be seen as jpeg in the viewfinder and those two files combined are huge in size.

Post #53, May 07, 2012 00:02:16




LOG IN TO REPLY
Christina.DazzleByDesign
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Christina.DazzleByDesign's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
1,973 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Littlefield wrote in post #14391073external link
I thought the raw file would be seen as jpeg in the viewfinder and those two files combined are huge in size.

I bumped my shaprness from 0 to 7 while just shooting raw, hoping it would affect the embedded jpeg preview, and it did! It is a world of a difference for the better. :D

Post #54, May 07, 2012 07:42:41


5D3 | 7D | 85L II | 70-300L | 24-105L | Nifty Fifty | 600EX-RT_______________
| Facebook | Websiteexternal link | Gear List |Flickrexternal link |

LOG IN TO REPLY
spear
Senior Member
Joined Dec 2007
559 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Christina.DazzleByDesi​gn wrote in post #14392167external link
I bumped my shaprness from 0 to 7 while just shooting raw, hoping it would affect the embedded jpeg preview, and it did! It is a world of a difference for the better. :D

It seems like a harsh way to deal with improving preview of photos. Can you go back in sharpness if it is coded in RAW? If not then it seems that it is a poor compromise. I think the only real accurate way to see how a photo really looks like is to view it on a large monitor, it is really hard to accurately see how good the photo is with a preview on camera. Much better would be to get a big memory card and refrain from deleting anything until you see it on a PC monitor.

Post #55, May 08, 2012 02:20:17


Canon 40D, 5DII, 5DIII, G9,G11,S100,G1X, Canon lenses 600mmL f/4 ,24mm-105L f/4, 16-35L II f/2.8, 70-200L II f/2.8, EF 100mm f/2.8, EF 50 f/1.4,17-85 EFS, 10-22 EFS, 580 EX, 2x 580 EXII, 270EX,STE2, 1. 4x Converter, 2.0x Converter. Nikon 800E w/Nikkor 24-70

LOG IN TO REPLY
jase1125
Goldmember
jase1125's Avatar
Joined May 2010
3,005 posts
Lewisville, TX (DFW)
[MORE/SHARE]

Christina.DazzleByDesi​gn wrote in post #14369212external link
Haha, I'm getting annoyed now.

When I'm shooting in RAW, its gotten to a point where I force myself not to look at the pictures on the screen, unless they are obviously poorly exposed - I will not delete them. (However, I know I can always fix the under exposed shots very easily, but I just prefer to save space and shoot properlly). Because its now very apparent to me that the screen lies. I know that when shooting RAW it displays the smallest /low quality JPEG as a preview, but all I get is images looking so OOF that it has depressed me to a point to not looking at all (but I do appreciate the feeling of relief and excitement when I look at the RAW's on my computer and see wonderfully in focus images).

Right now it isn't a major issue since I am just shooting for fun, but this summer when I am at horse shows shooting the events, I'll be forced to delete the bum shots as I go to save space for every rider. If I look at the images the way they look now on the screen, I'd be deleting every single one. Is there a way to set the camera to display higher quality JPEGs? Or is the solution only to shoot in RAW + Jpeg, and the jpeg being high qual...?

That is my biggest complaint with the 5D3. The images all look soft on the back LCD. I would rather have back the screen used in the 5D2, 7D or 1D4. I really hate the screen on the 5D3. The colors look great but everything looks soft. I know I can crank up the sharpness, but I didn't have to do that with my other bodies.

Post #56, May 08, 2012 07:05:30


Jason

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Invertalon
Cream of the Crop
Invertalon's Avatar
Joined Jun 2009
6,416 posts
Cleveland, OH
[MORE/SHARE]

Just turn sharpness up. Who cares if you didn't need to do that before? That is how you fix it now. If you shoot RAW anyway it wont effect you in the least and give you nice sharp results on LCD to look at.

Post #57, May 08, 2012 07:50:09


-Steve
Facebookexternal link
Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
AJSJones
Goldmember
AJSJones's Avatar
Joined Dec 2001
2,267 posts
California
[MORE/SHARE]

Invertalon wrote in post #14369657external link
Have you tried bumping up your sharpening settings? I have mine set quite high, to like 5 or 6 for JPEG's. I generally just work with RAW only so this is just for me to scan once on computer, but maybe this will improve your LCD images as well. Worth a try!

5 days ago :)

Christina.DazzleByDesi​gn wrote in post #14369738external link
I'll try that!

5 days ago :)

Christina.DazzleByDesi​gn wrote in post #14392167external link
I bumped my shaprness from 0 to 7 while just shooting raw, hoping it would affect the embedded jpeg preview, and it did! It is a world of a difference for the better. :D

Better late than never :D

Post #58, May 08, 2012 09:26:55


My picture galleriesexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Christina.DazzleByDesign
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Christina.DazzleByDesign's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
1,973 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

AJSJones wrote in post #14398430external link
5 days ago :)

5 days ago :)

Better late than never :D

Maybe I did this awhile ago and thought I'd update the thread? :p:rolleyes:

Post #59, May 08, 2012 09:40:47


5D3 | 7D | 85L II | 70-300L | 24-105L | Nifty Fifty | 600EX-RT_______________
| Facebook | Websiteexternal link | Gear List |Flickrexternal link |

LOG IN TO REPLY
gvg45
Senior Member
gvg45's Avatar
Joined Dec 2007
372 posts
Los Angeles, Ca.
[MORE/SHARE]

umphotography wrote in post #14372136external link
Regarding the LCD being a liar

Use your histogram and get to know your camera.

My MKIV LCD is off by almost a full stop from what the image looks like to my eyes v/s what the histogram says. I use my LCD a lot. When i first got my MKIV, the LCD showed that the images were exposed properly. When i got home and downloaded in LR, they were off by about .78 of a stop. I had a batch of noisy low light wedding images i was not very happy about that i had to fix.

I now shoot with my histogram and i make very sure its off the left side and not past the middle for this camera when Im using the MKIV. The result is that is right when i download in in LR. If i shoot past the middle, they look a bit over exposed in LR.....so its a little touchy with the LCD. I use my histogram each time i change lighting.

My 5D2. I can use the LCD all day long and my eyes and the histogram are in Agreement. I never have to look at the histogram to be sure it right like i do with the MKIV.

Hoping the 5D3 i have on order is like the 5D2 and not like the MKIV....all cameras are a bit different. TEAMSPEED and i have had this conversation and i spoke to Canon about this....No Fix.....just the way it is.

So,,,,,,,use your histogram and don't rely on the LCD until you know what your camera is going to do.

Hey Mike,

Have you tried different profiles (Neutral, Faithful, etc.) with contrast & saturation turned down a bit? I say this because, as you probably know, the histogram you are looking at on the camera's LCD of your image is embedded with the profile/settings you select in-camera which is basically generating a processed JPG.

I've been using Faithful with contrast turned most of the way down and saturation turned down a bit. Yes, the result on the LCD screen lacks pop, which I adjust later in processing the RAW, but I found it helps getting my histogram to match much better. Oh and to stay on-topic, I found a sharpness setting of 5 to be ideal and I've programmed the SET button to magnify with an 8x default. :)

Post #60, May 08, 2012 09:43:51


~Greg

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
4,269 views & 0 likes for this thread
5D III - LCD Screen is a lier!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00166 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
1060 guests, 828 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is cryptical

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.