Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 17 May 2012 (Thursday) 20:08
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

5D II Focus lock

 
Photofanatic
Hatchling
7 posts
Joined Sep 2008
May 17, 2012 20:08 |  #1

Can anyone please explain where I am going wrong with my new 5D MkII - I tried to lock the focus (half pressure on Sh rel) on a subject in the foreground but when I recompose the result shows the red focus square on the centre of the new composition - it doesn't stay where I locked it!! - I havent got it on servo or AI Servo. I am shooting in aperture priority and holding the * button for exposure lock.

Thanks -

Photofanatic




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Numenorean
Goldmember
4,973 posts
Joined Feb 2011
May 17, 2012 20:10 |  #2

Uhm...your focus points don't move. If you recomposed, the points go with you. It should still not change focus in one-shot mode from where it originally locked unless you release and then half-press again.


Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
sandpiper
Cream of the Crop
sandpiper's Avatar
7,120 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Aug 2006
Merseyside, England
May 17, 2012 20:20 as a reply to Numenorean's post |  #3

Yeah, the red square just shows which focus point you had selected, it can't move it to where you actually focused. If you use centre point and lock focus on a point at the top left of the final image, after recomposing, then when you view the image and show focus points, it will show the centre point - in the middle of the image.




LOG IN TO REPLY
noisejammer
Goldmember
noisejammer's Avatar
1,053 posts
Joined May 2010
Toronto ON
May 17, 2012 22:33 |  #4

You might have more success if you activate back button focusing. It doesn't suit all things so it may be possible to dial it in as one of the custom modes.


Several cameras and more glass than I will admit to.
Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Gregg.Siam
Goldmember
Gregg.Siam's Avatar
2,383 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Bangkok
May 17, 2012 22:39 as a reply to noisejammer's post |  #5

The red square AF points are a fixed position on the screen and never move.

When you focus and recompose, you are still on the same focal plane (distance from camera) so it should be in focus.


5D MKIII | 24-105mm f/4 L| 50mm f/1.8 | 600EX-RT [FONT=Tahoma][COLOR=bl​ue][FONT="]|
∞ 500pxexternal link
flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Photofanatic
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
7 posts
Joined Sep 2008
May 18, 2012 04:29 as a reply to sandpiper's post |  #6

Thanks everyone - it was me being dumb - I understand now!




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

808 views & 0 likes for this thread
5D II Focus lock
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00132 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is ngoodlife
1029 guests, 441 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015