Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 06 Jul 2012 (Friday) 02:12
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

ST-E3-RT + 2x600ex to replace my PS Flex/mini + 2x580ex2

 
tunin
Goldmember
tunin's Avatar
1,187 posts
Joined May 2007
New York, NY - Medjugorje, BiH
Jul 06, 2012 02:12 |  #1

Hi,

I found and read a few threads on the new 600ex and the st-e3-rt but none answered a question I have...

I currently have 1x PW mini + 2x PW flex + 2x 580ex2 and a Hensel 2 strobe kit
When I use the PW+580ex2 all works well, sometimes I use the PW connected to the hensels with a mono cabel (no ttl of-course) to fire them and this works for me.

My question is, if I sold the PWs and the 580ex2s and gotten my self a st-e3-rt + 2x 600ex would I be able to connect the 600ex as the remote triggers on my Hensels? And fire them with the st-e3-rt? Basically use them as I do my PW? Or should I just ask is there a mono connector on the 600ex?

Thank you.


I am not young enough to know everything. O.W.
www.medjugorje.netexternal link
*** Amateur tools ***

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
aztecdaz
Senior Member
282 posts
Joined Jul 2009
Scotland
Jul 06, 2012 03:40 |  #2

There's no way to use the canon system to fire studio strobes or any other type of flash unit, unless you are using them as a dumb optical trigger. I replaced my pocketwizard flex/mini to the canon and have picked up a set of cheap wireless triggers for my studio strobes. Hopefully canon or someone else will release a receiver which can work off the radio signal and trigger a set of studio strobes


5DIII Gripped | 5DII+wft-e4II | Gripped 7D | 24-70L | 70-200 2.8L IS | 85LII |17-40 L | 600ex-rt x3 | st-e3-rt |Quadra A Heads | BRX500 x 4 | lots of Rotalux Goodies

LOG IN TO REPLY
julius071
Senior Member
496 posts
Joined Feb 2012
Seattle, WA
Jul 06, 2012 03:42 |  #3

If I understand correctly, you want to fire the Hensels with the 600EX? I think the answer is no. 600ex only can fire the same radio frequency as it's 600ex

tunin wrote in post #14677341external link
Hi,

I found and read a few threads on the new 600ex and the st-e3-rt but none answered a question I have...

I currently have 1x PW mini + 2x PW flex + 2x 580ex2 and a Hensel 2 strobe kit
When I use the PW+580ex2 all works well, sometimes I use the PW connected to the hensels with a mono cabel (no ttl of-course) to fire them and this works for me.

My question is, if I sold the PWs and the 580ex2s and gotten my self a st-e3-rt + 2x 600ex would I be able to connect the 600ex as the remote triggers on my Hensels? And fire them with the st-e3-rt? Basically use them as I do my PW? Or should I just ask is there a mono connector on the 600ex?

Thank you.


Capturing moments one snap at a time.

LOG IN TO REPLY
johnlo
Goldmember
johnlo's Avatar
1,113 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Atlanta, GA
Jul 06, 2012 08:24 |  #4

aztecdaz wrote in post #14677501external link
Hopefully canon or someone else will release a receiver which can work off the radio signal and trigger a set of studio strobes


i dont think canon will ever come out w/ something that will let you trigger a set of studio strobes, unless that strobes is made by Canon. If anything, Radiopopper might be one company to do this first.


johnlo photography :
website: www.john-lo.com (external link)
personal blog: http://www.jklimagery.​com (external link)
My Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
tunin
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
tunin's Avatar
1,187 posts
Joined May 2007
New York, NY - Medjugorje, BiH
Jul 06, 2012 08:47 |  #5

The thin is, thi works for me now, I mean the PW flex/mini with the 580ex and the Hensels... I was gonna upgrade to two of the 600ex-rt and the e3-rt t osimplify things but if it does not work, then I'm sticking to what I have... :)


I am not young enough to know everything. O.W.
www.medjugorje.netexternal link
*** Amateur tools ***

LOG IN TO REPLY
jrscls
Goldmember
Joined Mar 2008
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 06, 2012 12:04 |  #6

I have 2 Flex TT5 and 1 Mini TT1 along with the AC3 and AC9s for the Alien Bees. I thought about upgrading my flashes to the new 600EX units as the OP is contemplating, but my PocketWizards work great. As a bonus, they are really nice for the Alien Bees as well. My conclusion is to use what I have.


Nikon D750, 20mm f/1.8 G ED, 35mm f/1.8 G ED, 50mm f/1.8 G, 85mm f/1.8 G, 24-120mm f/4 G ED VR, Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC, Tokina 100mm f/2.8 AT-X Macro, 3 Godox/Flashpoint V860II-N Flashes and X1-N Trigger, AlienBees, Sony RX100 IV

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,182 views & 0 likes for this thread
ST-E3-RT + 2x600ex to replace my PS Flex/mini + 2x580ex2
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00129 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Enal
702 guests, 548 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016