Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Kids & Family Talk
Thread started 14 Jul 2012 (Saturday) 11:32
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

lighting problem maybe

 
feral1
Senior Member
283 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Adelaide, Australia
Jul 14, 2012 11:32 |  #1

Hi all, I am new to people photography, well portraits really. I have bought a set of flash heads with soft boxes, I have had a few goes with it set in the family room etc. I am having one smallish problem.
I am noticing on some of the shots there is a dark area at the bottom of the frame or along the right hand side of a shot in vertical ??.
Just wondering of anyone else has had this problem and what may have caused it ???.

I have placed an image in so you can see what I mean, image is straight out of camera, just re-sized.

Thanks

Peter

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
elysium
"full of stupid banter"
elysium's Avatar
11,619 posts
Joined Jul 2007
Harrow/London/UK/GB/That Part Of The World/Next To France
Jul 14, 2012 12:15 |  #2

Check your shutter speeds. Shutter speed could be too fast.

Does it happen when you use your camera elsewhere without any lighting kit?


Everyday, a programmer finds a way of creating an idiotproof program. Everyday, the universe spits out another idiot.....So far, the universe if winning

LOG IN TO REPLY
feral1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
283 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Adelaide, Australia
Jul 14, 2012 19:40 |  #3

elysium wrote in post #14715804external link
Check your shutter speeds. Shutter speed could be too fast.

Does it happen when you use your camera elsewhere without any lighting kit?

Thanks for the reply, I was wondering on that aspect. I was at 1/125 I will try it at the 1/200th to see if it is any better.

This is the only time it shows up, not with normal flash or normal light.

Thanks

Peter




LOG IN TO REPLY
D ­ Thompson
Goldmember
D Thompson's Avatar
3,804 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Georgetown, Ky
Jul 14, 2012 21:28 |  #4

EXIF on your posted shot shows shutter speed of 1/250 which is flash sync speed for the 60D. It depends on how you're triggering the lights as there will be a slight delay. Back your shutter speed down to 1/200 ~ 1/125 and the problem should go away.


Dennis
Canon 5D 20D l Georgetown KY Photographerexternal link
I have not yet begun to procrastinate!
We'll be friends until we are old and senile. Then, we'll be new friends every day thereafter.

LOG IN TO REPLY
feral1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
283 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Adelaide, Australia
Jul 14, 2012 22:52 |  #5

D Thompson wrote in post #14717466external link
EXIF on your posted shot shows shutter speed of 1/250 which is flash sync speed for the 60D. It depends on how you're triggering the lights as there will be a slight delay. Back your shutter speed down to 1/200 ~ 1/125 and the problem should go away.

Thank you for the reply, I am going to look at the SS this afternoon when friends come around for a chat and hopefully a few shots. Dont know why I said I was on 1/125 when it was 1/250th, DOH. I have been using the setup at 1/250th, but have done a few shots at 1/200th, I am wondering if the remote flash unit is only a 1/200th or lower set off.

Peter




LOG IN TO REPLY
D ­ Thompson
Goldmember
D Thompson's Avatar
3,804 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Georgetown, Ky
Jul 15, 2012 09:35 |  #6

What are using to trigger them?


Dennis
Canon 5D 20D l Georgetown KY Photographerexternal link
I have not yet begun to procrastinate!
We'll be friends until we are old and senile. Then, we'll be new friends every day thereafter.

LOG IN TO REPLY
feral1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
283 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Adelaide, Australia
Jul 16, 2012 09:25 |  #7

D Thompson wrote in post #14719010external link
What are using to trigger them?

I bought a kit studio set up, I can not find a name for the triggers.
I think I may have found out some of the problem, I am not certain for sure as yet.
When the unit re-charges, I think some times it does not fully charge, I have a few good shots then a few like above image. Sunday arvo I did a few tests, with a friend and found that a few were duller than others, using the same settings and distance.

So may have to look at a light meter to test properly.

Thanks all.

Peter




LOG IN TO REPLY
D ­ Thompson
Goldmember
D Thompson's Avatar
3,804 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Georgetown, Ky
Jul 16, 2012 13:13 |  #8

What was your shutter speed on the good shots versus the bad shots? If it's just a darker bar at the bottom like your posted shot, then in all likelihood it is due to too fast of a shutter speed. If the whole image looks dull/underexposed then it is more than likely the unit wasn't recharged. Take a look, it should show estimated recycle time somewhere and there should be a ready light on the strobe as well.


Dennis
Canon 5D 20D l Georgetown KY Photographerexternal link
I have not yet begun to procrastinate!
We'll be friends until we are old and senile. Then, we'll be new friends every day thereafter.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Ephur
Senior Member
Joined Sep 2010
San Antonio, TX
Jul 16, 2012 16:27 |  #9

I think the syncing speed is really the issue with the strobes. Not being fully charged before firing again would caused dimmer light across the entire exposure, but not the dark banding at the bottom. 1/250 is probably higher than the wireless trigger can support, I've got some inexpensive strobes and use Yongnuo 603 triggers. I def run into the same problem when shooting at or near the max shutter sync speed.


Canon EOS 5D Mark III, EOS 7D Mark II | Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM, EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM, EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM, EF 85mm f/1.8 USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM | Tamron SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD | Canon Speedlite 580EX II | Yongnuo YN-560-II

LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
28,854 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Jul 16, 2012 16:31 |  #10

feral1 wrote in post #14717726external link
Thank you for the reply, I am going to look at the SS this afternoon when friends come around for a chat and hopefully a few shots. Dont know why I said I was on 1/125 when it was 1/250th, DOH. I have been using the setup at 1/250th, but have done a few shots at 1/200th, I am wondering if the remote flash unit is only a 1/200th or lower set off.

Peter

Some triggers arent capable of syncing at the camera's full speed. Others tend not to keep up when the batteries are low. By any chance are you using batteries that shipped with the triggers? Often those are demo batteries and tend to be a problem. As for sync speeds, indoors with flash as your primary light source you wont seen any difference in the image between 1/250 and 1/160 so feel free to slow it down a bit.




LOG IN TO REPLY
feral1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
283 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Adelaide, Australia
Jul 17, 2012 09:07 |  #11

D Thompson wrote in post #14724492external link
What was your shutter speed on the good shots versus the bad shots? If it's just a darker bar at the bottom like your posted shot, then in all likelihood it is due to too fast of a shutter speed. If the whole image looks dull/underexposed then it is more than likely the unit wasn't recharged. Take a look, it should show estimated recycle time somewhere and there should be a ready light on the strobe as well.

Thanks for your reply, My shutter speeds were the same, I waited for the re-charge buzzer before taking another shot, I am waiting for the time to test a few more things, plus going to get a new battery for the camera unit. I have tried a few different things, but the last couple of days cant seem to get some one to sit in front of the camera.

Peter

Ephur wrote in post #14725542external link
I think the syncing speed is really the issue with the strobes. Not being fully charged before firing again would caused dimmer light across the entire exposure, but not the dark banding at the bottom. 1/250 is probably higher than the wireless trigger can support, I've got some inexpensive strobes and use Yongnuo 603 triggers. I def run into the same problem when shooting at or near the max shutter sync speed.

I think the sync speed is 1/200th on these strobes, I will keep the sync at that or lower to do a better test, the batteries in the reciever are new but the trigger is what it came with, so will re-new that one as well.

Thanks for your feed back.

Peter

gonzogolf wrote in post #14725563external link
Some triggers arent capable of syncing at the camera's full speed. Others tend not to keep up when the batteries are low. By any chance are you using batteries that shipped with the triggers? Often those are demo batteries and tend to be a problem. As for sync speeds, indoors with flash as your primary light source you wont seen any difference in the image between 1/250 and 1/160 so feel free to slow it down a bit.

Thanks for your feed back, I have decided to change the trigger battery asap, the receiver has new batteries, I think I am going to keep the SS at and below 1/200th to see what happens as to the dark band and brighter images.
Thanks shall keep you all informed as to how it goes.

Peter




LOG IN TO REPLY
Ephur
Senior Member
Joined Sep 2010
San Antonio, TX
Jul 17, 2012 09:16 as a reply to feral1's post |  #12

Also, not all things work as advertised. The only time I could get my 52II to sync at 1/200 was with a canon flash attached to the hot shoe, any other time best I could do was 1/160.

When I was first banging my head into this issue I did some consultation of my dear friend google, and found that many folks had (and still have) similar issues with this camera.


Canon EOS 5D Mark III, EOS 7D Mark II | Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM, EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM, EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM, EF 85mm f/1.8 USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM | Tamron SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD | Canon Speedlite 580EX II | Yongnuo YN-560-II

LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
28,854 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Jul 17, 2012 09:35 |  #13

feral1 wrote in post #14728769external link
I think the sync speed is 1/200th on these strobes, I will keep the sync at that or lower to do a better test, the batteries in the reciever are new but the trigger is what it came with, so will re-new that one as well.

Just to be clear there is no sync speed for strobes, or for triggers for that matter. The max sync speed is determined by the camera, its the shortest duration that your entire sensor is exposed at one time. Some triggers cannot keep up with your camera's max sync speed either because of the delay in processing the signal or battery issues described above.




LOG IN TO REPLY
feral1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
283 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Adelaide, Australia
Jul 18, 2012 11:19 |  #14

I am going to sort this out, I have to in the next day or so get a battery for the trigger, I shall be then going set it up and trying all the info you all have supplied, Then hopefully I shall find a work around or if most is my doing :).
I shall get to this on Sunday sometime, as on Saturday, I have an outing in the bush, after bird life with a few other people.

Thanks shall keep you informed.

Peter




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,865 views & 0 likes for this thread
lighting problem maybe
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Kids & Family Talk


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00387 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is ambrown37
752 guests, 576 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016