Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 01 Jan 2011 (Saturday) 06:54
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

5D Classic & Windows 7 question

 
skrezyna
Member
skrezyna's Avatar
247 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Daegu, South Korea
Feb 25, 2011 14:47 |  #46

OK, getting confused with numerous people talking about 5DI. What do I need to do in order to shoot tethered with a 5DI (i.e. 5DC) on a Windows 7, 64 bit?

Thanks


http://www.danskrezyna​.comexternal link
5D w/BG-E4,
[35L f/1.4] [50 f/1.4] [85 f/1.8] [135L f/2] [70-200L f/2.8 IS]
580EX-I

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
WaltA
Goldmember
WaltA's Avatar
Joined Feb 2006
White Rock, BC, Canada
Feb 25, 2011 16:27 |  #47

Go to this web site
http://windows.microso​ft.com ...dows-xp-mode-in-windows-7external link

And read about installing Windows VirtualPC and XPMode. You'll need to download and install them - they are extensions to Windows 7.

Then read Brandon's instructions
===============
Basically you need to use the Virtual XP mode, then install the 5D USB WIA XP driver, then you run DPP/EOSUtility inside of the XP mode. That's if you have 32 bit WIndows 7. If you have 64, you'll either need to dual boot XP, or buy a new camera. I just dual-booted XP so I could shoot tethered with Lightroom, and it works great after installing the 20D WIA USB driver.
===============


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

LOG IN TO REPLY
skrezyna
Member
skrezyna's Avatar
247 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Daegu, South Korea
Feb 25, 2011 22:03 as a reply to WaltA's post |  #48

I shouldn't have to do all this trouble shooting to tether on a 5DI. This is ridiculous and upsetting! I have Windows Home Premium, like most people Id bet, and it doesnt look like my laptop allows HAV. Now to check my BIOS? Ludicrous. BIOS allowed me to turn on HAV. Now to spend $90 to upgrade to Windows Professional? BS.


http://www.danskrezyna​.comexternal link
5D w/BG-E4,
[35L f/1.4] [50 f/1.4] [85 f/1.8] [135L f/2] [70-200L f/2.8 IS]
580EX-I

LOG IN TO REPLY
mchova
Member
153 posts
Joined Aug 2010
San Francisco, CA
Feb 25, 2011 22:59 |  #49

skrezyna wrote in post #11915785external link
I shouldn't have to do all this trouble shooting to tether on a 5DI. This is ridiculous and upsetting! I have Windows Home Premium, like most people Id bet, and it doesnt look like my laptop allows HAV. Now to check my BIOS? Ludicrous. BIOS allowed me to turn on HAV. Now to spend $90 to upgrade to Windows Professional? BS.

I've never used Home Premium, but spending $90 on software is a lot cheaper than buying a 5D MII.


5D III | 50D | Canon 15 | 16-35 L | TS-E 17 L | 24-70 L | Canon 50 L | Canon 85 1.4 | Sigma 50-500 | 70-200 2.8 IS L | 1.4 & 2x Extender II | 430 EXII | Pixma Pro9000 II

LOG IN TO REPLY
reprazent
Goldmember
reprazent's Avatar
1,045 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Feb 25, 2011 23:27 |  #50

What's "HAV" I wonder?


gearlist | flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mchova
Member
153 posts
Joined Aug 2010
San Francisco, CA
Feb 26, 2011 00:18 |  #51

reprazent wrote in post #11916204external link
What's "HAV" I wonder?

If it’s not hardware-assisted virtualization, then I have no idea.


5D III | 50D | Canon 15 | 16-35 L | TS-E 17 L | 24-70 L | Canon 50 L | Canon 85 1.4 | Sigma 50-500 | 70-200 2.8 IS L | 1.4 & 2x Extender II | 430 EXII | Pixma Pro9000 II

LOG IN TO REPLY
skrezyna
Member
skrezyna's Avatar
247 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Daegu, South Korea
Feb 26, 2011 00:51 |  #52

Please excuse my eruption but Canon needs to get on the ball and release drivers that will work with the 5DI and Windows 7/64 bit. The trouble shooting/work-around is unacceptable.


http://www.danskrezyna​.comexternal link
5D w/BG-E4,
[35L f/1.4] [50 f/1.4] [85 f/1.8] [135L f/2] [70-200L f/2.8 IS]
580EX-I

LOG IN TO REPLY
GregSteer
Senior Member
GregSteer's Avatar
705 posts
Joined Mar 2007
Cumbria, UK
Feb 26, 2011 00:58 |  #53

mchova wrote in post #11916369external link
If it’s not hardware-assisted virtualization, then I have no idea.

For others future reference:

It is and it is not required for XP-Mode anymore, MS released an update to allow it to work on non HAV CPUs.

See: http://www.microsoft.c​om .../virtual-pc/download.aspxexternal link

Stage 4 is the update, you'll need to pick a Windows version and language before you can see it.

XP-Mode FAQ: http://www.microsoft.c​om ...rtual-pc/support/faq.aspxexternal link


"Never trust a man, who, when left alone in a room with a tea cosy, doesn't try it on" - Billy Connolly - [Gear] - [Flickr]external link - Call me Greg

LOG IN TO REPLY
themadman
Cream of the Crop
themadman's Avatar
18,871 posts
Joined Nov 2009
Northern California
Feb 26, 2011 01:04 |  #54

For a 5Dc to be recognized, you need to change the communication mode on the camera. You won't have tethered shooting or anything, but at least you can DL photos with a USB if you aren't into card readers (like me).


Will | WilliamLiuPhotography.​comexternal link | Gear List and Feedback | CPS Member | Have you Pre-Ordered Your 3Dx Yet? | HorusBennu Discussion | In honor of Uncle Steve, thanks for everything! 10-5-2011

LOG IN TO REPLY
Bang ­ Bang ­ Boy
Goldmember
Bang Bang Boy's Avatar
1,347 posts
Joined Nov 2010
South Africa
Feb 26, 2011 20:29 |  #55

Strange works just fine on my Windows 7 64 bit. I haven't tried tethered shooting but lightroom recognizes it and imports just fine.


Lots of old stuff but hey I am a student
Photojournalist in Johannesburg.

LOG IN TO REPLY
alex1962
Member
51 posts
Joined Apr 2009
Romania
Mar 04, 2011 14:25 |  #56

On Windows 7 32 bit, put your 5D on Comunication ---> Print/PTP no PC connect., and all will be OK !!! To me it worked... I don't know if worked with W7 64bit.


Canon 5D MarkII - Canon 24-105mm 1:4 L IS USM - Canon 70-200 mm 1:4 L - Speedlite 580 EX II ...
www.fotomagica.roexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
edselReed
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Apr 2012
Apr 26, 2012 10:31 |  #57

Around April of 2011 I contacted Canon Support and asked them about tethering a 5D (classic, not mark II or III) and they said the drivers to communicate between PC and Lightroom will not work beyond Vista 32 bit. He said Windows 7 is totally different, and the driver will not work.

So now that Lightroom 4 is released, LR4 will not support Windows XP. I think it supports Vista, but not sure of the details.

To shoot tethered mode into Lightroom, I had had to setup an XP computer, and Lightroom 3.6. this is the last known combination that I can setup to shoot tethered into Lightroom. I want to use LR4, but after the shoot I will convert the LR3.6 catalog to LR4 and continue to edit.

I know I might be able to load a Virtual XP in WIndows 7, but I am not sure I want to do that. Does anybody have a good experience using Virtual XP on Windows 7 64bit? I know LR4 will not run on XP even in Virtual XP, so that does not help in that respect. I guess I will keep an old PC running XP and LR3.6 for tethered shooting.

If I could load up a machine with 32 bit Vista, maybe LR4 would be the last working configuration to tether all three (5D, Vista 32 bit, and Lightroom 4) together.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Nismode
Goldmember
Nismode's Avatar
1,609 posts
Joined Apr 2010
NYC
Jul 22, 2012 23:13 |  #58

^Any updates on the above?


flickr (external link)|ModelMayhem (external link)|Instagram (external link)
6D|80D|EOS M5|Mavic Pro
EF-M 22 f/2|EF-M 15-45 IS|Rokinon 12 f/2 (EF-M)|Rokinon 50 f/1.2 (EF-M)
Σ18-35 f/1.8 Art|17-40 f/4L|50 f/1.8 STM|Σ85|100L
Godox AD-600|Godox AD-200|V860 II (x2)|TT350c
Everything's for sale for the right price ;)

LOG IN TO REPLY
PandaSPUR
Member
98 posts
Joined Mar 2012
Jul 23, 2012 05:33 |  #59

I run Virtual XP mode (NOT dual boot) on my laptop with Windows 7 Professional 64bit and LR3.
Works just fine for tethering my 5Dc


Canon 5D Classic: Sigma 50mm f/1.4, Rokinon 14mm f/2.8
Panasonic G1: Panasonic 20mm f/1.7, Panasonic 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 kit lens
Pentax K-r: Pentax DAL 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 kit lens

LOG IN TO REPLY
Nismode
Goldmember
Nismode's Avatar
1,609 posts
Joined Apr 2010
NYC
Jul 23, 2012 06:41 |  #60

So if I don't have Windows 7 Professional (I have Home Premium) I'm pretty much SOL then...


flickr (external link)|ModelMayhem (external link)|Instagram (external link)
6D|80D|EOS M5|Mavic Pro
EF-M 22 f/2|EF-M 15-45 IS|Rokinon 12 f/2 (EF-M)|Rokinon 50 f/1.2 (EF-M)
Σ18-35 f/1.8 Art|17-40 f/4L|50 f/1.8 STM|Σ85|100L
Godox AD-600|Godox AD-200|V860 II (x2)|TT350c
Everything's for sale for the right price ;)

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

13,602 views & 0 likes for this thread
5D Classic & Windows 7 question
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00166 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Hslim
794 guests, 298 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016