Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 08 Aug 2012 (Wednesday) 20:09
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

please help me with my L-358

 
North ­ Dude
Senior Member
North Dude's Avatar
Joined Nov 2010
QC, Canada
Aug 08, 2012 20:09 |  #1

Hi all,

I have a sekonic L-358, and read the manual many times. Exposure compensation on the meter is set to 0, and calibration is also at 0. I'm using it in Auto-reset cordless flash mode, I'm setting iso at 200, shutter at 1/200 and adjusting my strobes to get f8.0. I'm using the meter with the lumisphere out and pointed towards the lens. After adjusting the strobes and once I get the correct value, I fire the strobes a couple of times to make sure I have a constant exposure, I get 8.0 each time. But when I shoot the image with my camera in manual mode set at iso 200, 1/200 and f8.0 I seem to get an underexposed image. Here are two tests images, the first one is at f8.0 and the second one is at f5.6, (without changing the power or position of the strobes) I created the jpg files in LR3.6, the only thing I changed is that I used the camera standard profile and enabled the lens correction. I did not touch any of the exposure parameters. When I chimp, I also notice that the histogram seem to indicate underexposure. I shot this with my 70-200, I also tried with my 18-135 and got the same results.

Am I doing something wrong here? What do I don't understand?

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

7D | 100L | Σ 70-200 2.8 OS | Σ 10-20 4-5.6 | Σ 17-50 2.8 OS | Σ 50 1.4 | Σ 1.4x | 580 EX II | other stuff

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
s2kennyc
Senior Member
s2kennyc's Avatar
799 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Sourthern CA
Aug 08, 2012 20:22 |  #2

When you say strobes...I'm assuming you mean more than 1?

If so, just for testing purposes, can you just use 1 strobe and see if you can get a correct exposure with one? Just want to eliminate some variables here.




-Ken
flickrexternal link | Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
North ­ Dude
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
North Dude's Avatar
Joined Nov 2010
QC, Canada
Aug 08, 2012 20:24 as a reply to s2kennyc's post |  #3

I'm using two strobes.


7D | 100L | Σ 70-200 2.8 OS | Σ 10-20 4-5.6 | Σ 17-50 2.8 OS | Σ 50 1.4 | Σ 1.4x | 580 EX II | other stuff

LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Bob_A's Avatar
Joined Jan 2005
Alberta, Canada
Aug 08, 2012 20:24 |  #4

Hi Ian.

Sounds to me like you're using the correct approach.

Without being there it's pretty hard to tell if the first image is under-exposed or if the second image is over-exposed :) Any chance you could repeat the shot with a grey card and white card framing the stuffed animal?

Also try what Ken suggested. Starting simple can help get to the bottom of things.


Bob
SmugMugexternal link | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

LOG IN TO REPLY
North ­ Dude
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
North Dude's Avatar
Joined Nov 2010
QC, Canada
Aug 08, 2012 20:26 |  #5

imorisse wrote in post #14833007external link
I'm using two strobes.

And my 580 for hair light. (in manual mode)

The first tests I did, I did not have the 580, but I got the same results. I did not try it with only on strobe.


7D | 100L | Σ 70-200 2.8 OS | Σ 10-20 4-5.6 | Σ 17-50 2.8 OS | Σ 50 1.4 | Σ 1.4x | 580 EX II | other stuff

LOG IN TO REPLY
North ­ Dude
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
North Dude's Avatar
Joined Nov 2010
QC, Canada
Aug 08, 2012 20:40 |  #6

Bob_A wrote in post #14833010 (external link)
Hi Ian.

Sounds to me like you're using the correct approach.

Without being there it's pretty hard to tell if the first image is under-exposed or if the second image is over-exposed :) Any chance you could repeat the shot with a grey card and white card framing the stuffed animal?

Also try what Ken suggested. Starting simple can help get to the bottom of things.

Here is a test shot with a grey card and a piece of white cardboard...

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

7D | 100L | Σ 70-200 2.8 OS | Σ 10-20 4-5.6 | Σ 17-50 2.8 OS | Σ 50 1.4 | Σ 1.4x | 580 EX II | other stuff

LOG IN TO REPLY
s2kennyc
Senior Member
s2kennyc's Avatar
799 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Sourthern CA
Aug 08, 2012 20:50 |  #7

Try it with one strobe first to make sure that your meter is functioning correctly. Post up the result so that we can see that.




-Ken
flickrexternal link | Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Bob_A's Avatar
Joined Jan 2005
Alberta, Canada
Aug 08, 2012 21:11 |  #8

imorisse wrote in post #14833075 (external link)
Here is a test shot with a grey card and a piece of white cardboard...

When I look at the image in ACR it appears to be 1/2 to 3/4 stop under-exposed. Here it is bumped up by 0.75 so that the whites just start to clip:

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

Bob
SmugMugexternal link | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Bob_A's Avatar
Joined Jan 2005
Alberta, Canada
Aug 08, 2012 21:18 |  #9

Ian, does the L-358 have an ISO 2 setting that can be used for "filter compensation"? If it does, and you have it set up that way, is it set to zero? My L-558R has that feature.


Bob
SmugMugexternal link | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

LOG IN TO REPLY
110yd
Senior Member
674 posts
Joined Jan 2005
Aug 08, 2012 22:43 |  #10

How are you triggering your strobes? If you are using a wireless trigger to fire your strobes, is there any chance that you are not firing the strobes at the right time? I recently had a situation where I set up two lights with a trigger, and used another trigger to fire the camera. Everything worked fine on day one. On day two I set the equipment up, but I managed to get the TX units swapped. The photos were under exposed, and I was stumped for a minute. Eventually I figured out that the transmitters for the triggers got swapped.....The lights were firing, but they were not synchronized with the shutter on the camera.

Hope this helps,

110yd




LOG IN TO REPLY
Ron ­ McQueen
Junior Member
27 posts
Joined Dec 2010
Fort Worth Tx
Aug 08, 2012 23:54 |  #11

You may also be doing nothing wong. Your 358 and 7d may not be with the same calabration zone. if you caint find any thing wong try seting up 1/2 to 2/3rd hotter than you want to shoot. York it from there untill you find the spot that it maches up. you can test this with a friends 358shooting side by side and see if they match.


Canon EOS 5D Mark II | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II, EF 85mm f/1.8 USM | Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di LD IF Macro, SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD, SP 150-600mm F/5-6.3 Di VC USD, SP AF 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD Aspherical [IF] Macro | Canon Speedlite 580EX II, Speedlite 430EX II | METZ mecablitz 52 AF-1 digital

LOG IN TO REPLY
North ­ Dude
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
North Dude's Avatar
Joined Nov 2010
QC, Canada
Aug 09, 2012 04:35 |  #12

Bob_A wrote in post #14833243external link
Ian, does the L-358 have an ISO 2 setting that can be used for "filter compensation"? If it does, and you have it set up that way, is it set to zero? My L-558R has that feature.

Yes there is an iso 2 setting, but the way I understand it, is when I press the iso2 button after my measurment, I shows me the equivalent fstop with that iso.


7D | 100L | Σ 70-200 2.8 OS | Σ 10-20 4-5.6 | Σ 17-50 2.8 OS | Σ 50 1.4 | Σ 1.4x | 580 EX II | other stuff

LOG IN TO REPLY
North ­ Dude
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
North Dude's Avatar
Joined Nov 2010
QC, Canada
Aug 09, 2012 04:36 |  #13

110yd wrote in post #14833756external link
How are you triggering your strobes? If you are using a wireless trigger to fire your strobes, is there any chance that you are not firing the strobes at the right time? I recently had a situation where I set up two lights with a trigger, and used another trigger to fire the camera. Everything worked fine on day one. On day two I set the equipment up, but I managed to get the TX units swapped. The photos were under exposed, and I was stumped for a minute. Eventually I figured out that the transmitters for the triggers got swapped.....The lights were firing, but they were not synchronized with the shutter on the camera.

Hope this helps,

110yd

I'm using FR603's to sync, but I aslo tried connecting a sync cable to my meter and having my other strobe on optical slave, I got the same results...


7D | 100L | Σ 70-200 2.8 OS | Σ 10-20 4-5.6 | Σ 17-50 2.8 OS | Σ 50 1.4 | Σ 1.4x | 580 EX II | other stuff

LOG IN TO REPLY
North ­ Dude
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
North Dude's Avatar
Joined Nov 2010
QC, Canada
Aug 09, 2012 04:37 |  #14

s2kennyc wrote in post #14833117external link
Try it with one strobe first to make sure that your meter is functioning correctly. Post up the result so that we can see that.

Ok, I"ll try this tonight


7D | 100L | Σ 70-200 2.8 OS | Σ 10-20 4-5.6 | Σ 17-50 2.8 OS | Σ 50 1.4 | Σ 1.4x | 580 EX II | other stuff

LOG IN TO REPLY
North ­ Dude
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
North Dude's Avatar
Joined Nov 2010
QC, Canada
Aug 09, 2012 04:38 |  #15

Ron McQueen wrote in post #14834030external link
You may also be doing nothing wong. Your 358 and 7d may not be with the same calabration zone. if you caint find any thing wong try seting up 1/2 to 2/3rd hotter than you want to shoot. York it from there untill you find the spot that it maches up. you can test this with a friends 358shooting side by side and see if they match.

This is what I think I have to do, I was just wondering if it was normal...


7D | 100L | Σ 70-200 2.8 OS | Σ 10-20 4-5.6 | Σ 17-50 2.8 OS | Σ 50 1.4 | Σ 1.4x | 580 EX II | other stuff

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,501 views & 0 likes for this thread
please help me with my L-358
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00202 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is edmcl1136
701 guests, 623 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5577, that happened on Mar 02, 2016