Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 23 Oct 2012 (Tuesday) 08:31
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

5DmkIII firmware, f8 focus!!!

 
narlus
Cream of the Crop
narlus's Avatar
7,658 posts
Joined Apr 2006
North Andover, MA
Oct 23, 2012 20:10 |  #31

digital paradise wrote in post #15160718external link
OK here I'm lost and need to ask. AF red points - please explain? I can set up my view finder so that the FP lights up red but then goes black again. My 7D does the same thing. I'm not familiar or perhaps can't remember any other scenario.

in the 5D2 and previous models, in AI Servo the selected AF point would stay lit in red as it tracked the subject.

very useful for shooters like me who shoot in dark conditions where it's hard to see a black AF square.


www.tinnitus-photography.comexternal link
Facebook linkexternal link

gear list

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Tom ­ W
Canon Fanosapien
Tom W's Avatar
12,743 posts
Joined Feb 2003
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Oct 23, 2012 20:11 |  #32

f/8 AF is a great addition. Too bad it's not happening until April. I'll keep cheating with my Kenko until then.


Tom
5D III, 70D, & various lenses

LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
Cream of the Crop
digital paradise's Avatar
12,453 posts
Gallery: 9 photos
Joined Oct 2009
Oct 23, 2012 20:41 |  #33

narlus wrote in post #15161002external link
in the 5D2 and previous models, in AI Servo the selected AF point would stay lit in red as it tracked the subject.

very useful for shooters like me who shoot in dark conditions where it's hard to see a black AF square.

Oh. Thanks. I never noticed. I always looked the subject I was trying to focus on and when it looked good I knew things were OK.


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

LOG IN TO REPLY
datadump
Goldmember
datadump's Avatar
1,932 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Canada
Oct 23, 2012 20:49 |  #34

dafuq? april?????????? and its being announced NOW?


datadump

LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
Cream of the Crop
digital paradise's Avatar
12,453 posts
Gallery: 9 photos
Joined Oct 2009
Oct 23, 2012 21:07 |  #35

Crowd control.


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

LOG IN TO REPLY
umphotography
grabbing their Johnson
umphotography's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
Gig Harbor, Washington
Oct 23, 2012 21:20 as a reply to digital paradise's post |  #36

You guys get 4 months to **** about the red focus points.. Servo sucks in low light w/o red focal points... If it can be done on the 1Dx it should be able to be done on the 5D3........That is BS on canons part. As close as these 2 cameras are in performance it would really be Bunk if canon says only the 1Dx gets the red focal points. Im not about to spend 3K more for red focal points canon.


Mike
www.umphotography.comexternal link
GEAR LIST
Facebookexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
navydoc
Cream of the Crop
navydoc's Avatar
11,120 posts
Gallery: 44 photos
Joined Oct 2009
Inland Empire, So. Cal
Oct 23, 2012 23:05 as a reply to umphotography's post |  #37

Hmm, I would have thought it more likely that the red focus squares in AI servo would be implimented in a firmware update than f8 focusing on the 5D3. If they do add f8 max focus, it will be the first time a Canon dslr other than the 1D series had that feature as far as I know.


Gene - My Photo Gallery ||external link My USS Oriskany websiteexternal link || My Flickrexternal link
Take nothing but photos - leave nothing but footprints - break nothing but silence - kill nothing but time.

LOG IN TO REPLY
jhayesvw
Cream of the Crop
Joined Jan 2011
Tucson AZ
Oct 23, 2012 23:23 as a reply to navydoc's post |  #38

awesome upgrade again.

this makes the 5d3 a true option for "budget" wildlife shooters like myself.

5d3+400 5.6 + 1.4III TC would be a great setup. 560 true mm of zoom for under $1600 (lens and TC) with real AF.



My Flickr (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Gregg.Siam
Goldmember
Gregg.Siam's Avatar
2,383 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Bangkok
Oct 23, 2012 23:31 as a reply to jhayesvw's post |  #39

The red AF point has never bothered me in the slightest as I can always see the selected AF point (not to mention the red dot once it locks). In my experience, if it's so dark that I need an illuminated AF point before lock, the AF isn't going to lock anyway.


5D MKIII | 24-105mm f/4 L| 50mm f/1.8 | 600EX-RT [FONT=Tahoma][COLOR=bl​ue][FONT="]|
∞ 500pxexternal link
flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
jeffreynmandy
Senior Member
348 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Oct 24, 2012 00:26 |  #40

jhayesvw wrote in post #15161732external link
awesome upgrade again.

this makes the 5d3 a true option for "budget" wildlife shooters like myself.

5d3+400 5.6 + 1.4III TC would be a great setup. 560 true mm of zoom for under $1600 (lens and TC) with real AF.

I'm looking into a longer prime lens. Does anyone have any experience with the 300mm f4l IS with a 2x vs. a 400mm f5.6 with a 1.4x canon converter?


Ever changing.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Neilyb
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Neilyb's Avatar
Joined Sep 2005
Munich
Oct 24, 2012 03:00 |  #41

This may have more to do with stopping people jumping ship for Nikons D600 with f8 AF, thus the early announce.


http://natureimmortal.​blogspot.comexternal link

http://www.natureimmor​tal.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
11,661 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Traryd, Sweden
Oct 24, 2012 06:12 as a reply to Neilyb's post |  #42

Yes, and when Canon announced this new 61-point AF system, they said thay had taken the route of more precision instead of f/8 capability, and claimed that they were convinced that people would like better precision more than they needed f/8 AF capability.

I don't know, but I could assume they have done something like spot AF now, i.e. that they are using only part of the AF sensor strips when a lens with smaller aperture than f/5.6 is used on the camera.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
narlus
Cream of the Crop
narlus's Avatar
7,658 posts
Joined Apr 2006
North Andover, MA
Oct 24, 2012 08:03 |  #43

Gregg.Siam wrote in post #15161765external link
The red AF point has never bothered me in the slightest as I can always see the selected AF point (not to mention the red dot once it locks). In my experience, if it's so dark that I need an illuminated AF point before lock, the AF isn't going to lock anyway.

that very well could be your experience.

it's definitely not mine, nor other concert photographers I know.


www.tinnitus-photography.comexternal link
Facebook linkexternal link

gear list

LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
18,596 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Bay Area, CA
Oct 24, 2012 08:29 |  #44

Gregg.Siam wrote in post #15161765external link
The red AF point has never bothered me in the slightest as I can always see the selected AF point (not to mention the red dot once it locks). In my experience, if it's so dark that I need an illuminated AF point before lock, the AF isn't going to lock anyway.

Do you do weddings or night time sports, most probably not.;)

Most here don't need f8 AF either but really nice for some of us who do.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
ejenner
Goldmember
ejenner's Avatar
Joined Nov 2011
Denver, CO
Oct 24, 2012 15:00 |  #45

narlus wrote in post #15161002external link
in the 5D2 and previous models, in AI Servo the selected AF point would stay lit in red as it tracked the subject.

very useful for shooters like me who shoot in dark conditions where it's hard to see a black AF square.

Hmm, I'm pretty sure my 5DII doesn't. It just lights up red when the shot is taken, or in non-servo, when it acquires focus.

Of is there a function I overlooked?


Edward Jenner
5DIII, 7DII, M6, GX1 II,M11-22, Sig15mm FE,16-35 F4,TS-E 17,Sig 18-250 OS Macro,M18-150,24-105,T45 1.8VC,70-200 f4 IS,70-200 2.8 vII,Sig 85 1.4,100L,135L,400DOII.
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/48305795@N03/ (external link)
https://www.facebook.c​om/edward.jenner.372/p​hotos (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

8,278 views & 0 likes for this thread
5DmkIII firmware, f8 focus!!!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00224 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.07s
Latest registered member is mijo
804 guests, 386 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017