Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 28 Oct 2012 (Sunday) 14:29
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

600ex-rt with 1D mkIV sync speed question

 
sempaidavid
Senior Member
sempaidavid's Avatar
890 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Fresno CA
Oct 28, 2012 14:29 |  #1

Can anyone that is using the 600ex-rt with a 1D mkIV please confirm if the 600 will sync at 1/250th without going into HSS, when using the radio wireless mode.
I seem to be getting mixed messages by reading several posts around the net. I want to move to a 600ex-rt setup, but I want to make sure that I am not giving anything up when compared to my current setup.


5D mkIII, 1D mkIV, Tokina 16-28 f/2.8, EF 24-70L, EF 70-200 f/2.8L II IS, EF 100-400L, EF 85 f/1.8, Sigma 50 f/1.4, EF 24-105
http://www.davidcostap​hotography.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
The ­ Loft ­ Studios
Goldmember
1,056 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Houston, Texas
Oct 28, 2012 19:43 |  #2

According to Canon.....
Any camera made before 2012 will be able to sync with the Canon 600EX-RT Speedlites via the new radio control method, HOWEVER, you will loose 1 Stop of shutter speed in order for it to sync properly. So, in your case, if the 1DMIV "NORMALLY" syncs at 1/250, then when using the 600EX-RT in radio mode, it will ONLY be able to sync at 1/125 (or less). But, if the 600EX-RT is set to Manual Mode or Infrared/Optical Mode, then you can use your normal sync speed of 1/250. From what I understand, it's something about how they built the radio system..... that it will only properly sync with the newer cameras built in 2012, I.E. the Canon 5DMII and Canon 1DX.


MARK

LOG IN TO REPLY
Staszek
Goldmember
Staszek's Avatar
3,594 posts
Joined Mar 2010
San Jose, CA
Oct 28, 2012 20:07 |  #3

If you want to use the radio master/slave setup, the 1D4 will sync at 1-stop less than your normal max sync speed. So you usually sync at 1/320 sec –*with radio mode, you will be at 1/160 sec.

I just tried my 680EX-RT's with my 7D and found a few things:
1. Group mode does not work,
2. A lot of functionality is lost with the Radio triggering. I wasn't even able to control groups A and B power from the slave flashes.
3. Infrared triggering works just as before.
4. I saw no exposure difference between my typical max sync speed of 1/250 sec (7D) and the recommended 1/125 sec with off-camera flash.

If you're looking to invest into the 680EX-RT system for your 1D4 for the radio system, I would probably hold off. If you see a 5D3 or 1D4 in your future, it's a great system.


*EDIT*
I spoke too soon, the 600EX-RT's will do the same Manual and E-TTL ratio control for Groups in Radio triggering mode. In Manual power settings, I was able to control Groups A, B, and C individually. In E-TTL mode, you can control Groups A:B, A:B + C. Even at my normal max sync speed of 1/250 sec, I noticed no difference in exposure.

With that said, I would definitely make the move to the 600EX-RT system on your 1D4. The off-camera power control is not as intuitive as on a 5D3 or 1Dx, but it still works well from my experience.


SOSKIphotoexternal link | Blogexternal link | Facebookexternal link| Instagramexternal link
5D3's | EF 24L II | EF 35L | EF 50L | EF 100L Macro | EF 135L | EF 70-200L II | EF 300 f/2.8 IS | 600EX-RT's | Quadras

LOG IN TO REPLY
sempaidavid
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
sempaidavid's Avatar
890 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Fresno CA
Oct 28, 2012 20:12 |  #4

I have read what Canon has written, however, I have also seen many folks report that the these limitations did not manifest for them. I would prefer to hear from someone that is currently using a 1D mkIV with this setup. I do have a 5d mkIII, but it would be nice it the flashes functioned the way that I am used too on both of my cameras. I may upgrade to a 1Dx but not sure yet. Thanks for the input so far. Hopefully someone with a 1d mkIV will have tried it and can report.


5D mkIII, 1D mkIV, Tokina 16-28 f/2.8, EF 24-70L, EF 70-200 f/2.8L II IS, EF 100-400L, EF 85 f/1.8, Sigma 50 f/1.4, EF 24-105
http://www.davidcostap​hotography.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Staszek
Goldmember
Staszek's Avatar
3,594 posts
Joined Mar 2010
San Jose, CA
Oct 28, 2012 20:32 |  #5

I spoke too soon, the 600EX-RT's will do the same Manual and E-TTL ratio control for Groups in Radio triggering mode. In Manual power settings, I was able to control Groups A, B, and C individually. In E-TTL mode, you can control Groups A:B, A:B + C. Even at my normal max sync speed of 1/250 sec, I noticed no difference in exposure.

With that said, I would definitely make the move to the 600EX-RT system on your 1D4. The off-camera power control is not as intuitive as on a 5D3 or 1Dx, but it still works well from my experience.


SOSKIphotoexternal link | Blogexternal link | Facebookexternal link| Instagramexternal link
5D3's | EF 24L II | EF 35L | EF 50L | EF 100L Macro | EF 135L | EF 70-200L II | EF 300 f/2.8 IS | 600EX-RT's | Quadras

LOG IN TO REPLY
sempaidavid
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
sempaidavid's Avatar
890 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Fresno CA
Oct 28, 2012 20:47 |  #6

Staszek wrote in post #15180263external link
I spoke too soon, the 600EX-RT's will do the same Manual and E-TTL ratio control for Groups in Radio triggering mode. In Manual power settings, I was able to control Groups A, B, and C individually. In E-TTL mode, you can control Groups A:B, A:B + C. Even at my normal max sync speed of 1/250 sec, I noticed no difference in exposure.

With that said, I would definitely make the move to the 600EX-RT system on your 1D4. The off-camera power control is not as intuitive as on a 5D3 or 1Dx, but it still works well from my experience.

Thanks for the update. When the camera was at 1/250th was the flash firing normally, or did it automatically shift in to HSS as many others have reported happening with their 5d mkIIs?


5D mkIII, 1D mkIV, Tokina 16-28 f/2.8, EF 24-70L, EF 70-200 f/2.8L II IS, EF 100-400L, EF 85 f/1.8, Sigma 50 f/1.4, EF 24-105
http://www.davidcostap​hotography.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Staszek
Goldmember
Staszek's Avatar
3,594 posts
Joined Mar 2010
San Jose, CA
Oct 28, 2012 20:55 |  #7

sempaidavid wrote in post #15180314external link
Thanks for the update. When the camera was at 1/250th was the flash firing normally, or did it automatically shift in to HSS as many others have reported happening with their 5d mkIIs?

No, it fired normally. There is a "Tv!" symbol on the flash letting you know that you're over the new max sync, but performance seemed to work fine. Maybe if you're using the flashes at a large distance there will be some performance issues. Maybe not.

Regardless, I moved to the 600EX-RT system after using Pocket Wizard Plus II's and 580EX II's for almost two years. I am so much happier with the 600EX-RT's because there are no accessories and cables to attach, the overall kit is significantly lighter, and on-camera control is amazing. Group mode with the 5D3 is also superb to use. Control with the 7D/1D4 is more clunky, but it still works.


SOSKIphotoexternal link | Blogexternal link | Facebookexternal link| Instagramexternal link
5D3's | EF 24L II | EF 35L | EF 50L | EF 100L Macro | EF 135L | EF 70-200L II | EF 300 f/2.8 IS | 600EX-RT's | Quadras

LOG IN TO REPLY
Nick5
Goldmember
Nick5's Avatar
2,903 posts
Joined Mar 2007
Philadelphia Suburbs
Oct 29, 2012 00:27 |  #8

No problems with 1/250th sync speed and High Speed Sync with my 600 EX -RT and ST- E3 combination on my 7D's.


Canon 5D Mark III (x2), BG-E11 Grips, 7D (x2) BG-E7 Grips, Canon Lenses 16-35 f/4 L IS, 17-40 f/4 L, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 24-105 f/4 L IS, 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II, 70-200 f/4 L IS, 100-400 f/4.5-5.6 L IS, TS-E 24 f/3.5 L II, 100 f/2.8 L Macro IS, 10-22 f3.5-4.5, 17-55 f/2.8 L IS, 50 f/1.4, 85 f/1.8, Canon 1.4 Extender III, 5 Canon 600 EX-RT, 2 Canon ST-E3 Transmitters, Canon Pixma PRO-10 Printer

LOG IN TO REPLY
The ­ Fox
Goldmember
The Fox's Avatar
1,709 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Jul 2007
Huntington Beach, Ca
Oct 29, 2012 01:01 |  #9

Nick5 wrote in post #15181031external link
No problems with 1/250th sync speed and High Speed Sync with my 600 EX -RT and ST- E3 combination on my 7D's.

Are you running the version 2.xx firmware? Canon added that to the list with that firmware and is the only camera besides the 1dx and 5d mk III to support full sync with the 600ex rt officially. That it also gets the geo tagging too with that and it still remains the only camera canon made compatible for older tech.


"I work from awkwardness. By that I mean I don't arrange things. If I stand in front of something, instead of arranging it, I arrange myself" -Diane Arbus
7D Gripped x2 | 50D Gripped | 17-50mm F2.8 | 35mm F1.4 | 50mm F1.4 | 85mm F1.8 | 70-200mm F4L IS |

LOG IN TO REPLY
Hot ­ Bob
Goldmember
1,021 posts
Joined Jul 2009
Sanger, Texas
Oct 29, 2012 08:28 |  #10

The Fox wrote in post #15181085external link
Are you running the version 2.xx firmware? Canon added that to the list with that firmware and is the only camera besides the 1dx and 5d mk III to support full sync with the 600ex rt officially.

Where do you get this information? I've seen nothing from Canon to indicate that this is true.

Bob


Image of the Horseexternal link

Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
Nick5
Goldmember
Nick5's Avatar
2,903 posts
Joined Mar 2007
Philadelphia Suburbs
Oct 29, 2012 09:13 |  #11

The Fox wrote in post #15181085external link
Are you running the version 2.xx firmware? Canon added that to the list with that firmware and is the only camera besides the 1dx and 5d mk III to support full sync with the 600ex rt officially. That it also gets the geo tagging too with that and it still remains the only camera canon made compatible for older tech.

High Speed Sync and maximum Sync Speed of 1/250 was working fine before and after of Firmware update 2.0


Canon 5D Mark III (x2), BG-E11 Grips, 7D (x2) BG-E7 Grips, Canon Lenses 16-35 f/4 L IS, 17-40 f/4 L, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 24-105 f/4 L IS, 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II, 70-200 f/4 L IS, 100-400 f/4.5-5.6 L IS, TS-E 24 f/3.5 L II, 100 f/2.8 L Macro IS, 10-22 f3.5-4.5, 17-55 f/2.8 L IS, 50 f/1.4, 85 f/1.8, Canon 1.4 Extender III, 5 Canon 600 EX-RT, 2 Canon ST-E3 Transmitters, Canon Pixma PRO-10 Printer

LOG IN TO REPLY
Hot ­ Bob
Goldmember
1,021 posts
Joined Jul 2009
Sanger, Texas
Oct 29, 2012 15:56 as a reply to Nick5's post |  #12

Don't have a 1D4 but I tested it on my 1D3. ST-E3 on the camera, 600EX handheld in ETTL mode. No banding and no HSS @ 1/250sec. One thing I found interesting was that I have the camera set to default to 1/300sec in Av when using flash. It will do it with the 600EX mounted but not with the ST-E3 mounted.

Bob


Image of the Horseexternal link

Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
The ­ Fox
Goldmember
The Fox's Avatar
1,709 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Jul 2007
Huntington Beach, Ca
Oct 29, 2012 23:39 |  #13

Hot Bob wrote in post #15181840external link
Where do you get this information? I've seen nothing from Canon to indicate that this is true.

Bob

Wow, got it half right. It was for the GP-E2 that they updated. My mistake.

Nick


"I work from awkwardness. By that I mean I don't arrange things. If I stand in front of something, instead of arranging it, I arrange myself" -Diane Arbus
7D Gripped x2 | 50D Gripped | 17-50mm F2.8 | 35mm F1.4 | 50mm F1.4 | 85mm F1.8 | 70-200mm F4L IS |

LOG IN TO REPLY
PeterWem
Senior Member
PeterWem's Avatar
259 posts
Joined May 2007
Skåne, Sweden
Nov 15, 2012 05:02 as a reply to The Fox's post |  #14

Anyone tried this out with an old 5D Classic?


Some pictures (external link)
_______________
IR-converterd 1000D, D30, M5, 7D, 6D, 16-35/4L IS, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 300/2,8L IS, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, Helios 58/2 - - - - RawTherapee (external link), DPP (external link), Photomatix (external link), Darktable (external link), Luminance HDR (external link), GIMP 2.9.3, Darktable (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
frugivore
Goldmember
Joined Aug 2010
Toronto, Canada
Nov 15, 2012 06:57 |  #15

PeterWem wrote in post #15247960external link
Anyone tried this out with an old 5D Classic?

I'm getting 1/200 sync with a 600 on hotshoe and one in hand.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

6,563 views & 0 likes for this thread
600ex-rt with 1D mkIV sync speed question
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00232 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is jeffsfolio
816 guests, 311 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016