LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


EOS Utility won't detect 7D/5D Mark III on Windows 8

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 12 Sep 2012 (Wednesday) 07:20   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
starkyrulz
Senior Member
starkyrulz's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
560 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

strange problem - i downloaded the latest 5dmkIII SW a week or two back when I still had the T3i only - had the same problem with eos utility options from "Control Camera" tab greyed out. Yesterday after my 5dmkIII was plugged in- same problem. I tried playing around - uninstalled the device from the device options menu and after I tried connecting the 5dmkIII again - presto everything started working. Could use eos utility as it is meant to be.

See if this helps.

Post #46, Nov 20, 2012 00:49:34


| 5D Mark III | T3i | 24-70 f2.8 MK II L | 70-200 f2.8 IS mk II L | 18-200 f3.5-5.6 | Σ 30mm f1.4 | 50 f1.8 | 430exII | YongnouYN560 | YongnouRF603 | Vangaurd 263AT |

http://www.flickr.com/​photos/suprateep/external link
http://500px.com/stark​yrulzexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
rakesh
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Sep 2005
199 posts
Bangalore, India
[MORE/SHARE]

Starkyrulz

I've already tried this but Windows detected camera perfectly but still EOs Utility is not detecting. Even ImageBrowser Utility detects it as Mass Storage Device and not as a Camera.

Post #47, Nov 20, 2012 00:59:02


Gears:
My WildLife Gallery :
http://www.justwildlif​e.comexternal link
My Kids Project Galleries : http://www.facebook.co​m ...otography/158511907​574485external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
l7s4
Senior Member
Joined Jun 2008
185 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Gents...Ever try the Dependency Walker? The developers where I worked used this program for debug. http://www.dependencyw​alker.com/external link

Available in 32 and 64 bit versions.

Good luck, Paul

Post #48, Nov 20, 2012 01:50:22




LOG IN TO REPLY
richard.kot
Hatchling
Joined Nov 2012
1 post
[MORE/SHARE]

I was having the same issue with EOS Utility not seeing my D60.

In Device Manager, do you see any other devices other than your camera under "Portable Devices"? Under mine, I have listed 4 removable media drives "SD, CF, etc.) that corresponded to my All-in-one Internal USB2.0 connector Card Reader. Each slot is shown as a drive letter. I disabled all four drives by right clicking each one and choosing "Disable" Once that was complete I plugged the camera back in and started the Eos Utility. Camera was now fully recognized. I can still use the media slots even with each drive being disabled.

Good Luck

Rich

Post #49, Nov 22, 2012 12:25:43 as a reply to l7s4's post 2 days earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
chris61
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2011
186 posts
Wigan (uk)
[MORE/SHARE]

I have the same problem with windows 8 64 bit, have installed up to date drivers but its not working but have no problem with the 32 bit on the laptop so i am thinking new drivers will be coming. i can get my photo of with Elements 9 as this works for me.

my camera is the 40D

Post #50, Nov 22, 2012 12:51:03 as a reply to richard.kot's post 25 minutes earlier.


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/88087917@N05/external link
16-35 f2.8 Mkii 24-105 f4is 1.4X extender mkii Sigma 150-500 apo HSM speed light 550ex canon 5d mkiii :cool:

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
cr1cr1
Hatchling
Joined Oct 2010
1 post
[MORE/SHARE]

This actually worked as I had several devices there, one of them being the storage from an USB soundcard.

Thanks, I was searching for several weeks for a solution, did all that reinstall, tried different versions, etc. Now it works. Even eos_movrec software works!

I have a Canon EOS 7D fmw 2.0.3

richard.kot wrote in post #15276437external link
I was having the same issue with EOS Utility not seeing my D60.

In Device Manager, do you see any other devices other than your camera under "Portable Devices"? Under mine, I have listed 4 removable media drives "SD, CF, etc.) that corresponded to my All-in-one Internal USB2.0 connector Card Reader. Each slot is shown as a drive letter. I disabled all four drives by right clicking each one and choosing "Disable" Once that was complete I plugged the camera back in and started the Eos Utility. Camera was now fully recognized. I can still use the media slots even with each drive being disabled.

Good Luck

Rich

Post #51, Nov 27, 2012 17:29:38




LOG IN TO REPLY
Ron ­ Hu
Senior Member
Ron Hu's Avatar
Joined Dec 2010
342 posts
Pacific Northwest
[MORE/SHARE]

I post solution again to the top of the thread so more people see it.

Ron Hu wrote in post #15257848external link
If this is possible, unplug any USB to SD/CF/micro-SD card readers. I had this issue with the 5d and the EOS utility.

For some reason when my multi-adapter was plugged in the USB port and I plugged the camera into another USB 3 or 2; EOS would not get notified of the 5d Mk III arrival.

I do not know how EOS is written and what API's its based on. But I do know USB stack was completely re-written in Windows 8.

R

Post #52, Dec 07, 2012 03:17:56


Canon EOS 5D Mark III,
Canon EF 24-70L MK II, Canon EF 70-200L MK II
Canon7d (For sale), Canon EF 85/1.8 USM, PW Mini TT1 & 2x Flex TT5, 580 Ex II & 430 Ex II, 2x AB800, 2x AC9, PCB BD and Softbox for AB; Sekonic 478DR

LOG IN TO REPLY
sherm55
Hatchling
Joined Oct 2013
5 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Mine worked after reading an Australian EOS help site. WIFI must be disabled when camera connected. I disabled WIFI and EOS utility works.

Post #53, Dec 05, 2013 16:15:11




LOG IN TO REPLY
mwsilver
Goldmember
Joined Oct 2011
2,550 posts
Central New Jersey
[MORE/SHARE]

sherm55 wrote in post #16504438external link
Mine worked after reading an Australian EOS help site. WIFI must be disabled when camera connected. I disabled WIFI and EOS utility works.

Welcome! The thread you responded to has been dead for a year. If you want to revisit this subject with new information its usually best to start a new thread rather than resurrect a long dead one.

Post #54, Dec 05, 2013 19:15:50


Mark
Canon 60D, T3i, T2i, Sigma18-35 f/1.8, Sigma 30mm f/1.4, Canon EFs 15-85, EFs 18-200, EF 50mm f/1.8, Tamron 18-270 PZD, B+W MRC CPL, Canon 320EX, Vanguard Alta Pro 254CT & SBH 250 head. RODE Stereo Videomic Pro, Lightroom 5, Elements 13

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
18,897 views & 0 likes for this thread
EOS Utility won't detect 7D/5D Mark III on Windows 8
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00106 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
1114 guests, 845 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is sbeecher

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.