LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Back button focus on the 6D . . .

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 22 Dec 2012 (Saturday) 19:57   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
irishman
Goldmember
irishman's Avatar
Joined Jul 2007
4,098 posts
Scottsdale, AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

. . . how do you do it? Yes, I've read the manual---very confusing to an old man.

Post #1, Dec 22, 2012 19:57:31


6D, G9, Sigma 50 1.4, Sigma 15mm Fisheye, Sigma 50 2.8 macro, Nikon 14-24G 2.8, Canon 16-35 2.8 II, Canon 24-105 f/4 IS, Canon 70-200 2.8 IS, tripod, lights, other stuff.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Markd102
Senior Member
Markd102's Avatar
Joined May 2011
514 posts
S/E Victoria, Aus
[MORE/SHARE]

Just press it.
Hold it with your thumb to lock focus, then shoot.

Post #2, Dec 22, 2012 20:01:04


Canon 6D, 7D, 7D II, 1000D | Canon 70-200L IS II, 24-105L IS, 50/1.8 II | Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 | Canon Speedlite 600EX-RT, Speedlite 430 EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
mikes...
Junior Member
Joined Oct 2005
22 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Remember to remove focusing from the shutter button in the custom settings....

Post #3, Dec 22, 2012 20:14:00




LOG IN TO REPLY
leadwiper
Member
leadwiper's Avatar
Joined May 2010
77 posts
Tampa Bay Fl
[MORE/SHARE]

Try this link:

Back Button Auto Focus Explainedexternal link

Using this article, I set it to work on my new T3i, I've got to get used to it more...

Scott

Post #4, Dec 22, 2012 21:33:14 as a reply to mikes...'s post 1 hour earlier.


Canon Rebel T3i, Canon 18-55mm 3.5-5.6 IS, Canon 70-200 F4 L, Nifty Fifty

LOG IN TO REPLY
starkyrulz
Senior Member
starkyrulz's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
560 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

leadwiper wrote in post #15398289external link
Try this link:

Back Button Auto Focus Explainedexternal link

Using this article, I set it to work on my new T3i, I've got to get used to it more...

Scott

i only shoot with the BBAF - got my wife used to it as well.

Post #5, Dec 22, 2012 22:19:10


| 5D Mark III | T3i | 24-70 f2.8 MK II L | 70-200 f2.8 IS mk II L | 18-200 f3.5-5.6 | Σ 30mm f1.4 | 50 f1.8 | 430exII | YongnouYN560 | YongnouRF603 | Vangaurd 263AT |

http://www.flickr.com/​photos/suprateep/external link
http://500px.com/stark​yrulzexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
irishman
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
irishman's Avatar
Joined Jul 2007
4,098 posts
Scottsdale, AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

mikes... wrote in post #15398119external link
Remember to remove focusing from the shutter button in the custom settings....

Thanks for the replies. This ^^^ is what I can't figure out.

Post #6, Dec 22, 2012 22:39:05


6D, G9, Sigma 50 1.4, Sigma 15mm Fisheye, Sigma 50 2.8 macro, Nikon 14-24G 2.8, Canon 16-35 2.8 II, Canon 24-105 f/4 IS, Canon 70-200 2.8 IS, tripod, lights, other stuff.

LOG IN TO REPLY
RandyMN
Goldmember
Joined Aug 2005
3,130 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

irishman wrote in post #15398451external link
Thanks for the replies. This ^^^ is what I can't figure out.

There was a link here yesterday that had a YouTube video in EOS auto focusing that was put there by B&H photo.

It was a long video, but part of what it covered was the back focus button and why it was so confusing, Apparently there is a dash that separates left function to right function and you choose what you want.

Maybe someone can give a link again. I don't recall the thread it was in.

Post #7, Dec 22, 2012 22:48:10




LOG IN TO REPLY
irishman
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
irishman's Avatar
Joined Jul 2007
4,098 posts
Scottsdale, AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

I'd like to see it. They changed it from the 5D2, now it's a confusing mess under Custom Function III, #5. I want to be able to focus with the back button AF ON and only meter with the shutter button. They have made it incredibly confusing.

Post #8, Dec 22, 2012 23:15:13


6D, G9, Sigma 50 1.4, Sigma 15mm Fisheye, Sigma 50 2.8 macro, Nikon 14-24G 2.8, Canon 16-35 2.8 II, Canon 24-105 f/4 IS, Canon 70-200 2.8 IS, tripod, lights, other stuff.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Snydremark
Cream of the Crop
Joined Mar 2009
15,630 posts
Issaquah, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

irishman wrote in post #15398537external link
I'd like to see it. They changed it from the 5D2, now it's a confusing mess under Custom Function III, #5. I want to be able to focus with the back button AF ON and only meter with the shutter button. They have made it incredibly confusing.

Go in to C.Fn III - 5
Select the shutter button and set it so that the icon only shows the metering icon
Then, go select the back button and set it so the icon shows the metering icon and AF icon

Post #9, Dec 22, 2012 23:27:25


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlifeexternal link (7D MkII, 7D, 40D, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS, Canon 100mm f/2.8 Macro, Tamron 18-270 DiII PZD, 580EX II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

LOG IN TO REPLY
RandyMN
Goldmember
Joined Aug 2005
3,130 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Snydremark wrote in post #15398578external link
Go in to C.Fn III - 5
Select the shutter button and set it so that the icon only shows the metering icon
Then, go select the back button and set it so the icon shows the metering icon and AF icon

That of course is assuming he wants it set that way. It was sports photographers that originally requested this feature due to moving subjects. They preferred a locked focus opposed to one that kept changing every time the shutter button was half way pressed.

Post #10, Dec 22, 2012 23:32:25




LOG IN TO REPLY
Snydremark
Cream of the Crop
Joined Mar 2009
15,630 posts
Issaquah, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

RandyMN wrote in post #15398595external link
That of course is assuming he wants it set that way. It was sports photographers that originally requested this feature due to moving subjects. They preferred a locked focus opposed to one that kept changing every time the shutter button was half way pressed.

Based on earlier posts, that's exactly what he's trying to get. I'm not sure what you're saying here...

Post #11, Dec 22, 2012 23:38:32


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlifeexternal link (7D MkII, 7D, 40D, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS, Canon 100mm f/2.8 Macro, Tamron 18-270 DiII PZD, 580EX II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
irishman
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
irishman's Avatar
Joined Jul 2007
4,098 posts
Scottsdale, AZ
[MORE/SHARE]

Snydremark wrote in post #15398578external link
Go in to C.Fn III - 5
Select the shutter button and set it so that the icon only shows the metering icon
Then, go select the back button and set it so the icon shows the metering icon and AF icon

DING DING! We got a winner! Appreciate the help, and to all who tried. thanks!

Post #12, Dec 22, 2012 23:52:35


6D, G9, Sigma 50 1.4, Sigma 15mm Fisheye, Sigma 50 2.8 macro, Nikon 14-24G 2.8, Canon 16-35 2.8 II, Canon 24-105 f/4 IS, Canon 70-200 2.8 IS, tripod, lights, other stuff.

LOG IN TO REPLY
RandyMN
Goldmember
Joined Aug 2005
3,130 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Snydremark wrote in post #15398613external link
Based on earlier posts, that's exactly what he's trying to get. I'm not sure what you're saying here...

I have never set my camera for this, but it seems one has to make a choice to do one or the other. I prefer to focus with the shutter button, so perhaps he was just interested in how it works and not actually wanting the change to be done.

That's all I am saying.

But you made it clear so job well done.

Post #13, Dec 22, 2012 23:52:42




LOG IN TO REPLY
Snydremark
Cream of the Crop
Joined Mar 2009
15,630 posts
Issaquah, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

irishman wrote in post #15398652external link
DING DING! We got a winner! Appreciate the help, and to all who tried. thanks!

Glad that got it sorted for you :)

RandyMN wrote in post #15398653external link
I have never set my camera for this, but it seems one has to make a choice to do one or the other. I prefer to focus with the shutter button, so perhaps he was just interested in how it works and not actually wanting the change to be done.

That's all I am saying.

But you made it clear so job well done.

Ahhh, gotcha. Just wasn't following...yeah, it's definitely a conscious choice setting.

Post #14, Dec 23, 2012 00:50:25


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlifeexternal link (7D MkII, 7D, 40D, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS, Canon 100mm f/2.8 Macro, Tamron 18-270 DiII PZD, 580EX II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

LOG IN TO REPLY
phreeky
Goldmember
Joined Oct 2007
3,471 posts
Australia
[MORE/SHARE]

I've always had my cameras set up in the opposite manner - shutter button focuses as per normal except for when holding down the back button.

Post #15, Dec 23, 2012 02:14:54




LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
10,710 views & 0 likes for this thread
Back button focus on the 6D . . .
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00099 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
1032 guests, 798 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is alemac27

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.