Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 24 Feb 2014 (Monday) 19:55
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

5DIII Zoom, in Preview mode

 
FlyFishingTN
Senior Member
297 posts
Joined Mar 2010
TN
Feb 24, 2014 19:55 |  #1

The 1D4 and 7D both used the AF point selector button and the AE lock button to zoom in and out. Is there a way to configure the 5DII to do this? I can't seem to find it if so...


_______________
WWW.FlyFishingTN.Comexternal link
My Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
vk2gwk
Cream of the Crop
vk2gwk's Avatar
Joined Jun 2009
One Mile Beach, NSW 2316, Australia
Feb 25, 2014 00:21 |  #2

In the subject line you write 5DIII but in your post you mention the 5DII - which of the two?
The 5DIII got a special zoom button (the spy glass button on the side).


My name is Henk. and I believe "It is all in the eye of the beholder....."
Image Editing is allowed. Please explain what you did!
5D MkIV 5DMkIII, 50D, 24-105/1:4L IS USM + 100-400/4-5.6L IS USM + 50mm 1.4 USM + Tamron 70-200mm F/2.8 VC + Sigma 150-600mm Sports + 580EXII + 430EX + YN568EXII, triggers, reflectors, umbrellas and some more bits and pieces...
Photos on: Flickr! (external link) and on my own web site. (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Lastblackdog
Member
Lastblackdog's Avatar
101 posts
Joined Feb 2013
Dublin, Ireland
Feb 25, 2014 02:18 |  #3

vk2gwk wrote in post #16715355external link
In the subject line you write 5DIII but in your post you mention the 5DII - which of the two?
The 5DIII got a special zoom button (the spy glass button on the side).

Henk, you forgot to mention that when you press the spy glass you then use the scroll wheel on top to zoom in and out. The spy glass just engages the function or switches it off again.


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/mrmcc1954/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
FlyFishingTN
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
297 posts
Joined Mar 2010
TN
Feb 25, 2014 06:02 |  #4

Sorry 5DIII. I know that the scroll wheel works but was wondering if anyone had figured out how to program it like the other cameras.


_______________
WWW.FlyFishingTN.Comexternal link
My Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
msowsun
Cream of the Crop
msowsun's Avatar
Joined Jul 2007
Oakville Ont. Canada
Feb 25, 2014 06:37 |  #5

The "Set" button can be programmed to initiate Zoom.


Mike Sowsun / S110 / SL1 / EF-S 24mm STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 18-135mm STM / EF-S 55-250mm STM
5D3 / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF 50mm 1.8 STM / EF 100mm 2.0 USM / EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro / EF 24-105mm IS /
EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF 1.4x II
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Phototeacher
Senior Member
259 posts
Joined May 2007
Feb 25, 2014 11:34 |  #6

I agree; coming from using the 1D series and now using a 5D-3 as a backup/remote, I find I am constantly pushing a button that does nothing! It would be great if something like this can be done as a firmware upgrade.

FlyFishingTN wrote in post #16714843external link
The 1D4 and 7D both used the AF point selector button and the AE lock button to zoom in and out. Is there a way to configure the 5DII to do this? I can't seem to find it if so...




LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
11,662 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Traryd, Sweden
Feb 25, 2014 16:55 as a reply to Phototeacher's post |  #7

The 1DX works in the same way.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
The ­ "Canon ­ 7D" ­ Kid
Member
The
111 posts
Joined Dec 2010
Feb 25, 2014 23:25 |  #8

msowsun wrote in post #16715715external link
The "Set" button can be programmed to initiate Zoom.

Thank You Soooooooooo Much! I need to put down the camera and read my manual!:lol:


Canon 5D Mark III (Gripped), Canon 7D (Gripped), 70-200mm 1:2.8 L IS II USM, 24-105 L, 28-135mm, 75-300mm, 50mm 1.8, 580 EXII, Canon ST-E3-RT, Canon 600EX-RT X's 3 And not nearly enough time/good weather to enjoy it.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

917 views & 0 likes for this thread
5DIII Zoom, in Preview mode
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00217 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is mike4111
918 guests, 484 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017