Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Still Life, B/W & Experimental
Thread started 25 Jul 2005 (Monday) 21:04
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

STICKY: 3D (Stereo Photography)

 
didgiwhat?
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Apr 2013
May 01, 2013 14:12 |  #1021

mike_foyle wrote in post #15808003 (external link)
I made some 3d images using only one source image. This involved separating foreground subject from background (using refine edge and content aware), shifting things around using transform tools to achieve a nice dynamic depth to the effect. I then composited them back together as two separate stereo images.

I'm quite happy with the results and it's nice to have the flexibility of not needing to rely on using 2 cameras!

NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 403 | MIME changed to 'text/plain'


NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 403 | MIME changed to 'text/plain'


NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 403 | MIME changed to 'text/plain'


Let me know what you think.

Mike

I like stereophotography and didn't know you could do this with a single image. I do know you can sometimes/often get a standard 2D video to appear 3D by viewing the videos freeview/crosseyes with one of the videos one or more frames ahead of the other. The power of the mind.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
FotOz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
FotOz's Avatar
932 posts
Joined Jul 2005
Down under.
May 02, 2013 07:41 |  #1022

Hey Mike.
Welcome aboard.
Boy - considering the fact you're working with one original - YOU'RE GOOD!


. . . Steve . . .
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/fotoshoppeexternal link
Fuji W3, Canon 400D, 450D, 550D+BGs. 2X1GB, 1x4GB and 1x16GB CF cards. 3X32GB SDHC and 4x8GB SDHC cards. 1X18-55 EFS lens. 1X28-105 and 1X75-300 USM Canon EF lenses. 1x18-200 IS Canon EFS lens. Canon Speedlite 380EX & Canon Speedlite 430EX II flashes. 1 x Rolleiflex and 1 x Rolleicord TLR cameras. i-phone5.

LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_foyle
Member
183 posts
Joined Dec 2012
Southampton, UK
May 02, 2013 19:30 |  #1023

FotOz wrote in post #15889754external link
Hey Mike.
Welcome aboard.
Boy - considering the fact you're working with one original - YOU'RE GOOD!

Thanks :) It takes a bit of creative bodgery to get it to work. I do find that it's somewhat limited in it's effect (the subject looks rather like a paper cut out)... But yes, it can be done with one image quite successfully I think.

I'll do a little tutorial to show my method next time I make one.

Mike


www.michaelfoyle.co.ukexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Longwatcher
obsolete as of this post
Longwatcher's Avatar
3,907 posts
Joined Sep 2002
Newport News, VA, USA
Jun 22, 2013 21:36 as a reply to mike_foyle's post |  #1024

So since April, i have learned the following.

1. Although the satechi remotes are looking like they are still good with blinking lights, I must change the batteries out before they stop blinking as fresh batteries make a huge difference in getting everything to sync.

2. I have been playing some more with SPM (Stereo Photo Maker) and as of right now my basic procedures are use SPM to create the 3D stereo images, then take to 3D Composer to edit them (If I had a polarized monitor instead of NVidia shutter system apparently I could see 3D in SPM as I edit) and after editing then I batch convert to jpg extension, run a Photoshop action to add a 3D logo and then batch convert them back to jps extension (if needed in stereo).

After finding I was at least 3 versions behind on SPM from some discussions on a dedicated stereography forum, I updated to latest version and discovered I could pull from different folders (with 3D Composer I have to have left and right in same folder). It is much easier to sync up the images if the cameras missed one with two folders and SPM will process everything, while 3D composer actually checks first to make sure they are actually a decent 3D set first.

However, it is much easier to actually edit the shot if you can be viewing it in 3D stereo while doing so.

I have also learned better how to get Pinnacle Studio 16 to create a 3D stereo movie. I prefer manuals to video tutorials (yes I am archaic that way) but I actually sat through two videos just so I could figure it out. I have used Stereo Movie Maker, but it has issues with certain formats, while Pinnacle will recognize the video direct from the Canon Camera without any conversion.

3. Must get vertical alignment perfect for video, unless it is only for the computer. Horizontal is not as critical. While this has been true for stills, stills can be cropped easily, video can technically be cropped, but you lose some quality with resizing back to the display format,

4. Finally really tiny shiny objects are less bad than large shiny objects.


"Save the model, Save the camera, The Photographer can be repaired"
www.longwatcher.comexternal link
1DsMkIII as primary camera with f2.8L zooms and the 85L
http://www.longwatcher​.com/photoequipment.ht​mexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
justamateur
Member
209 posts
Joined Oct 2013
Oct 09, 2013 10:47 |  #1025

My very first 3d images which I split in two. Fuji Finepix real 3D W3 camera using A3D mode (two pictures taken by left and right lenses)
Fuji MyFinePix Studio software is limited and weird, I need to find something better. Not much dimensional, imo. Need to learn how to use it.
The bottom line- it works!

http://s4.uploads.ru/L​ETKM.jpgexternal link

http://s4.uploads.ru/w​9uI6.jpgexternal link




LOG IN TO REPLY
K9WG
Junior Member
25 posts
Joined Aug 2014
Greenfield Indiana
Aug 23, 2014 13:13 as a reply to justamateur's post |  #1026

My First Try at Stereo Photography

Sitting up late one night I decided to try my hand at this.

IMAGE: http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y128/wi9ndy/TobascoStereo_zps76701177.jpg

IMAGE: http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y128/wi9ndy/K9WGStereo_zps7af9e696.jpg



LOG IN TO REPLY
samsen
Cream of the Crop
samsen's Avatar
7,468 posts
Joined Apr 2006
LA
Aug 23, 2014 21:07 |  #1027

Both are very nice K9WG.
Good to see your contributions keeping this thread alive.
Its too much pity to see 3D interest is lost and gone with the wind in every frontier.


Weak retaliates,
Strong Forgives,
Intelligent Ignores!
Samsen
Picture editing OK

LOG IN TO REPLY
FotOz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
FotOz's Avatar
932 posts
Joined Jul 2005
Down under.
Jan 13, 2015 06:11 |  #1028

Hey K9WG. Well done.
You know what I REALLY like about your second pair?
The red tassel in the book.
So tell me - single camera? Two shots? Hand held?
73s (or 88s) to you. Not sure which applies. :-P


. . . Steve . . .
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/fotoshoppeexternal link
Fuji W3, Canon 400D, 450D, 550D+BGs. 2X1GB, 1x4GB and 1x16GB CF cards. 3X32GB SDHC and 4x8GB SDHC cards. 1X18-55 EFS lens. 1X28-105 and 1X75-300 USM Canon EF lenses. 1x18-200 IS Canon EFS lens. Canon Speedlite 380EX & Canon Speedlite 430EX II flashes. 1 x Rolleiflex and 1 x Rolleicord TLR cameras. i-phone5.

LOG IN TO REPLY
CT ­ GUY
Member
CT GUY's Avatar
54 posts
Joined Feb 2015
Mar 02, 2015 07:57 |  #1029

I like to do it quite often but prefer the opposite where you relax your eyes instead of the cross eyed method. I used to have a 3d camera but now I just take one shot looking through the viewfinder with one eye then switching the camera to the other eye and lining up the same subject. I can make the shots bigger than this and I like using a "viewer" I ordered online that helps you to see the 3d image with less eye strain.

IMAGE: http://www.ephotobay.com/image/3drooster.jpg
[IMAGE'S LINK: http://www.ephotobay.c​om/share/3drooster.htm​l] (external link)



LOG IN TO REPLY
Deadline
Senior Member
Deadline's Avatar
Joined May 2015
May 29, 2015 16:07 |  #1030

actual 3d.... this post is probably gonna get deleted... lol
this was done in maya in 2008.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

http://www.sergeygrey.​com/ (external link) - About me and ALL of my work from photography to 3D Gaphics and 3D printing that I do for a living as well as side projects such as Meetup Photography groups and Car Rigging.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Benitoite
Goldmember
Benitoite's Avatar
Joined Jan 2015
Morgan Hill, CA
Dec 26, 2015 17:19 |  #1031

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.
HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



LOG IN TO REPLY
Benitoite
Goldmember
Benitoite's Avatar
Joined Jan 2015
Morgan Hill, CA
Dec 26, 2015 17:23 as a reply to Deadline's post |  #1032

Here's some 3D 3D...

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



LOG IN TO REPLY
Benitoite
Goldmember
Benitoite's Avatar
Joined Jan 2015
Morgan Hill, CA
Dec 30, 2015 04:47 |  #1033

Lego 3Dography.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



LOG IN TO REPLY
Longwatcher
obsolete as of this post
Longwatcher's Avatar
3,907 posts
Joined Sep 2002
Newport News, VA, USA
Dec 23, 2016 09:05 |  #1034

Just a quick update post to show I am still around and occasionally still playing with 3D stereo.

I gave up on the Satechi remotes, one of them died and of course it was the expensive part of the mess.

So I went and bought two cheap wired remotes and did a cut and splice job. Within the range of the wire it works great (I knew it would, just was loath previously to cutting wires). Will have to repeat if I ever upgrade cameras to one that uses different remotes.

I have basically incorporated my LED lights into my strobe lighting when I do stills at this point and have found it works well with the 2D stills, but If I don't catch the strobe with the 3D rig, I still get a decent picture. I have the 3D rig set for a little too much if the strobe goes off, but not quite enough if they don't, but close enough in both cases to fix in post processing.

Still shooting with a pair of T3i's cause they work and can't afford to upgrade.

Still shooting mostly things that can't go onto this sub-forum. Mostly product shots for a company.

Maybe at some point I will break down and take pictures of my girlfriend's doll dress collection, those would be okay and she would probably like that. Tricky because I really will need to shoot farther away than I would like just to keep the 3D depth correct enough because camera rig has the cameras a good distance for human models, to0 far apart for 1/4 scale ball jointed dolls.

Anyway that is my update for now.


"Save the model, Save the camera, The Photographer can be repaired"
www.longwatcher.comexternal link
1DsMkIII as primary camera with f2.8L zooms and the 85L
http://www.longwatcher​.com/photoequipment.ht​mexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Longwatcher
obsolete as of this post
Longwatcher's Avatar
3,907 posts
Joined Sep 2002
Newport News, VA, USA
Nov 27, 2017 23:57 |  #1035

So it has been almost a year, Nothing new learned about 3D stereo photography, but I learned a lot about 3D stereo computers and monitors, like they are getting much harder to find, everyone is into VR for gaming and videos, but 360 degree cameras needed for VR are a wee bit extremely pricey right now. So I am sticking to 3D stereo photography.

However in spring of last year I had a computer crash and once fixed, the computer still remained somewhat unstable, so time to replace it.

The short part of this story is you can indeed do Stereo using Nvidia 3D vision on a Nvidia Quadro graphics card with only Display Port type Display Ports (and no that is not a typo), I am still trying to find out if I can do it with DP to DP connectors on both ends, but I can do it with a DP to active DVI-D adapter.

The long version;
So there I was needing a new computer system capable of doing 3D stereo image processing, viewing, and editing, so deciding that I don't need to haul around a large workstation-class laptop anymore as I am not traveling very often, and finding that I would have trouble finding a laptop with 3D capability anyway, I decided a regular workstation would be acceptable.

After doing some initial research it came down to two company's computers Dell or Lenovo. I don't trust Lenovo because the US military doesn't trust Lenovo with good reason, they have been found to have hardwired backdoors built in (don't know if they still have them, I don't care, that is a non-starter for me).

So that left Dell, Dell had some 3D stereo capable computers, so I called up Dell and tried to get one. The customer service agent was basically clueless and the supervisor I was passed to not much better when it came to 3D stereo capability. Anyway it was recommended a Dell precision tower with a Nvidia Quadro graphics card, which they sell to a lot of people doing 3D CAD drawings - not exactly the same, but power-wise should work.
And then I knew I needed a 3D monitor and Dell had two, one obsolete being withdrawn from production that was even more over priced than option two which was a brand new Alienware monitor that was supposed to be able to do 3D stereo. So I went great and after some discussions that they did not have the IR remote I would need (not being a built in capability like on a laptop), but I could get one from Nvidia and I would need a DP2 to DVI-D adapter, at the time I was like okay if I need it, I need it.

And then the troubles began...

Turns out, can't get the IR remote direct from Nvidia, have to get it from someone else. BH did not have it in stock at the time, so I went to Amazon, who had it, actually they didn't a 3rd party vendor had it, so I ordered it and it was suppose dot get to me in a week (when I ordered it), about 5 days later I get a notice that it will ship in a couple of weeks (It was currently Late May), then a few days before it was suppose dot ship I get another notice that it was delayed, but will ship in Mid August, well I had already ordered it, so I figured if I had to wait it must be hard to get as a lot of 3D stereo equipment is these days. Then in August, I get another delay in shipment notice to September (late September) at which point I check BH, who has it is stock now, so I cancel Amazon and buy it form BH. It shows up within 3 days.

Hook it up, load the software and check it out (not in that order), turns out it is indicating the computer is good, but the monitor isn't. At which point I find out Dell/Alienware have two different versions of the monitor and they sent me the wrong version for doing 3D viewing using the Nvidia system. Unfortunately too late to return Dell monitor, although I did contact them and got a response and we will see what we can do, no further response after that.

After doing extensive research that, in honesty, I should have done before I even went to Dell; I discover that first there are about 8 versions of the Quadro graphics card and I may have the wrong one, then further research that says it can be made to work anyway, but I have to actually have a 3D capable monitor. Adding misery Nvidia has not updated their compatibility list in like 2 to 3 years. So none of the monitors or computer systems listed are available anymore new. So I do some more research and find a combination that will work with the graphics card I already have. I call up BH as they have one that is way lower cost than the Dell solution I found (which is buying the correct more expensive monitor they should have sold me int he first place).

I ask many questions, but the most important one was can I return it if it doesn't actually work with my 3D system (the answer was yes). I had to ask because although the monitor said it was 3D compatible and used glasses, it did not say what kind of glasses. Nice part was BH has given me until 1 Jan to return the monitor, i am good with that.

So I get the monitor, hook it up, test out the stereo and failure, except the IR remote is saying it is a good monitor this time, just can't get it to actually do 3D stereo mode correctly.

More research, turns out the adapter Dell said I needed was not an active DVI-D adapter, so since BH didn't even list an active one, off to NewEgg this time, one week later I get in the adapter.
Hook it all up and Tah! Dah! stereo as it is supposed to be.
And then I go to check out my favorite 3D stereo software and I can't find the activation code to activate it on the new machine, so my favorite 3D editing software is currently not working, but at least I can create 3D images again and view them to make sure they have processed into good 3D sets. What I can not do is crop them while viewing in stereo right now, but progress has been made and at least I confirmed stereo does work with the Nvidia Quadro graphics card and the ACER GN276HL bid 27" monitor. And on top of it the Acer monitor actually looks better than the Alienware monitor

Now truly interesting tidbit is the Dell monitor started reacting almost like it could do 3D as well. More research and I find out that the cable set Dell sent me was not the best, I suspect that if I had received a DP to DP cable, instead of a DP to HDMI cable, it would have worked. As for the adapter Dell sent, pretty much useless waste of extra money spend, would have been potentially useful if they had sold/sent me the correct monitor. I will never know though. In the meantime I tried to find a DP to DP cable locally and no joy, I will have to order one online just to find out if my suspicions are correct.

But at least I have 3D stereo capability again on my photography computer.

And as a final rant, What moron named a display port cable connector "display port", I am good with VGA, SVGA, HDMI, S-video, DVI, DVI-D and USB, but not Display Port for the Display port? It is like having a 'Monitor' brand monitor or a "Car" brand car. or a "Photo" brand camera name.

thanks, story and rant over for now. I will try to remember to update when/if I get the DP to DP cable and try it out. I will be really upset at Dell if that was all I needed all along.


"Save the model, Save the camera, The Photographer can be repaired"
www.longwatcher.comexternal link
1DsMkIII as primary camera with f2.8L zooms and the 85L
http://www.longwatcher​.com/photoequipment.ht​mexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

312,830 views & 1 like for this thread
3D (Stereo Photography)
FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Still Life, B/W & Experimental


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00264 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.11s
Latest registered member is Manish kashyap
917 guests, 452 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017