Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment People
Thread started 20 Jan 2016 (Wednesday) 15:40
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Studio Test Model Shoot

 
saea501
... spilled over a little on the panties
saea501's Avatar
Joined Jan 2010
Florida
Jan 21, 2016 15:50 |  #16

She either needs to wear looser clothing to the shoot or disrobe and wait a while before putting on whatever you are going to shoot her in. You can see the imprint of the jeans she was wearing before she changed.


Remember what the DorMouse said.....feed your head.
Bob
https://www.flickr.com ...282@N06/with/382034​70844/ (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
DThriller
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
DThriller's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
Rhode Island
Jan 21, 2016 15:53 |  #17

saea501 wrote in post #17867360 (external link)
She either needs to wear looser clothing to the shoot or disrobe and wait a while before putting on whatever you are going to shoot her in. You can see the imprint of the jeans she was wearing before she changed.

Good call

I need a good way to communicate this without sounding weird


http://www.facebook.co​m/DPhillipsStudios (external link)
http://DPhillipsStudio​s.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
28,920 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Jan 21, 2016 16:06 |  #18

DThriller wrote in post #17867370 (external link)
Good call

I need a good way to communicate this without sounding weird

Have some idea of your models comfort level with nudity or revealing herself beforhand. Just mention, perhaps even print up a handout that says. Wear loose clothing in the hours before shooting. You can alway add clothing thats restrictive. Include such informstion in a list of more mundane suggestions (makeup, color coordination, etc) so that it dosnt stand out as potentially percy.




LOG IN TO REPLY
98kellrs
Senior Member
98kellrs's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
Perth, Australia
Post has been edited over 1 year ago by 98kellrs.
Jan 21, 2016 18:23 |  #19

Just explain the reason, any reasonable model will understand.

"In the hours leading up to the shoot, please try to refrain from wearing tight-fitting clothing that may leave imprints on the skin as these can detract from the final images produced." Or something like that, maybe include examples i.e tight bras, elastic waisted pants/shorts etc.

I usually start with some warm-up head shots anyway, gets the model comfortable and reduces any remaining imprints.


Ryan
Nikon D800
Fujifilm X-T1
RSK Photography Facebook - Automotive Photography page (external link)
Website (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
paintedlotus
Senior Member
paintedlotus's Avatar
342 posts
Joined May 2008
Seattle, WA
Jan 26, 2016 00:43 |  #20

For what it's worth, I worked in a garage studio space with very low ceilings -- about 7.5 feet -- for about a year because it was dirt cheap. I even shot an entire boy band and a fair amount of what is on my website was done there. I think part of your lighting issue with these particular photos is that it is very difficult to get a PLM or other gigantic modifier up higher just because they take up so much space. I was able to get a 4-foot deep octobox up reasonably high to shoot full length fashion editorials, and using a beauty dish made it easier too.


5D Mk IV, 6D, Gripped 5Dc, 24-70 f/2.8L ii, 135L, 17-40L, Magic Drainpipe (80-200 f/2.8L), 100mm macro, Tamron 28-75 f/2.8, slightly melted Einstein, a few Elinchrom strobes, Mola Setti (white) with grid, PCB beauty dish (old style) with grid, Elinchrom beauty dish (tiny) with grid, Photek Softlighter ii 60", Rice Bowl 90cm, Rice Bowl OMG HUGE, soft silver PLM, a few umbrellas, 4-foot Octobank, Canon 430EX II, a couple ancient speedlights, bad attitude, etc
Website (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
DThriller
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
DThriller's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
Rhode Island
Jan 26, 2016 09:02 |  #21

Thanks

We can struggle together with low ceiling issues.

I could definitely use a deferent modifier and get by. The plm wasnt the best for the ceiling type


http://www.facebook.co​m/DPhillipsStudios (external link)
http://DPhillipsStudio​s.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Vaske_Obsidian
Senior Member
597 posts
Joined Jan 2012
Jan 28, 2016 11:25 |  #22

BRAVOOOO:):):)




LOG IN TO REPLY
disneydork06
Cream of the Crop
disneydork06's Avatar
7,292 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Phoenix, Arizona
Jan 28, 2016 15:46 |  #23

Maybe if you do want to rent you can take out that ceiling tiles entirely?


Ryan
~AZ POTN Planned Activitiesexternal link
let me know how I can improve, cause we all know I need it :): Flickrexternal link
myspaceexternal link facebookexternal link The Greatest online forum known on Earthtwitterexternal link[URL="http://www.500px​.com/RDimal"]500xp follow me! in something^ you know you want to

LOG IN TO REPLY
DThriller
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
DThriller's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
Rhode Island
Jan 28, 2016 15:49 |  #24

That would be the best solution to the problem but Im sure the landlord would want me toreinstall a drop ceiling I don't know what the cost of that would be


http://www.facebook.co​m/DPhillipsStudios (external link)
http://DPhillipsStudio​s.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
riffster
Senior Member
riffster's Avatar
Joined Apr 2009
Ohio
Feb 10, 2016 09:39 |  #25

Fantastic. Really liking the first image. When I see images like this, it gives me a real hankerin for that Art 50mm. Curious about your camera settings for that first batch, they seem really heavy. Moot really since the images look so nice.


5DII | 7D | C100mkII | Tokina 16-28 2.8 I Canon 24-70L | Canon 70-200L 2.8 | Canon 85 1.8 | Sigma 30 1.4 www.riffster.com (external link) www.facebook.com/riffs​terproductions (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
DThriller
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
DThriller's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
Rhode Island
Feb 10, 2016 09:55 |  #26

Heavy? As in?


http://www.facebook.co​m/DPhillipsStudios (external link)
http://DPhillipsStudio​s.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
riffster
Senior Member
riffster's Avatar
Joined Apr 2009
Ohio
Feb 10, 2016 10:05 |  #27

DThriller wrote in post #17893007 (external link)
Heavy? As in?

Like - 1/1250 | f/1.4 | ISO 1600

Curious why the high shutter speed = high ISO?


5DII | 7D | C100mkII | Tokina 16-28 2.8 I Canon 24-70L | Canon 70-200L 2.8 | Canon 85 1.8 | Sigma 30 1.4 www.riffster.com (external link) www.facebook.com/riffs​terproductions (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
DThriller
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
DThriller's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
Rhode Island
Feb 10, 2016 10:53 |  #28

I think I started further from the window and pushed up my ISO to 1600 and then just didnt worry about it in Av. I can usually hear if my shutter is too low so thats my safty and its not like 1600 isnt clean on my 5d2. I get in the zone with posing so with natural light I use Av for the ease.


http://www.facebook.co​m/DPhillipsStudios (external link)
http://DPhillipsStudio​s.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
riffster
Senior Member
riffster's Avatar
Joined Apr 2009
Ohio
Feb 10, 2016 10:55 |  #29

DThriller wrote in post #17893092 (external link)
I think I started further from the window and pushed up my ISO to 1600 and then just didnt worry about it in Av. I can usually hear if my shutter is too low so thats my safty and its not like 1600 isnt clean on my 5d2. I get in the zone with posing so with natural light I use Av for the ease.

Gotcha. I figured it was an AV thing.


5DII | 7D | C100mkII | Tokina 16-28 2.8 I Canon 24-70L | Canon 70-200L 2.8 | Canon 85 1.8 | Sigma 30 1.4 www.riffster.com (external link) www.facebook.com/riffs​terproductions (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
DThriller
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
DThriller's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
Rhode Island
Feb 10, 2016 12:02 |  #30

Yeah if I had more brain capacity I would be able to pose and think intently of setting but I just don't.

Ps I liked your FB page nice work


http://www.facebook.co​m/DPhillipsStudios (external link)
http://DPhillipsStudio​s.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

5,602 views & 8 likes for this thread
Studio Test Model Shoot
FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment People


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.0012 for 6 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.04s
Latest registered member is Andrey79
907 guests, 450 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017